August 17, 2011
Contact: Caitlin E. Chamberlain
(207) 441-0501

Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. Declares Kimberly Monaghan-Derrig (D) the Winner of House District 121 Special Election

AUGUSTA, Maine – Secretary of State Charlie Summers submitted a proclamation to Governor Paul LePage today declaring Kimberly Monaghan-Derrig (D) winner of the Special Election for Maine House of Representatives District 121 which encompasses most of Cape Elizabeth. Monaghan-Derrig received 53% of the votes cast - 1,340 votes total - while Republican candidate, Nancy Thompson, received a total of 1,164 votes.

The District 121 seat was vacated when Cynthia Dill (D) was elected to the Senate during a special election for Senate District 7 on May 10, 2011 following the resignation of Larry Bliss (D).