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Chapter 3-A:
EMERGENCY MEDICAL DISPATCH CENTER LICENSURE

§1.
A provider of emergency medical dispatch services must be licensed by the Board in accordance with 32 M.R.S.A. §85-A and these Rules.
§2.
Licensing Factors – The license issued under this chapter is for an Emergency Medical Dispatch Center.
1.
Ownership
Upon request of the Board, an applicant or licensed Emergency Medical Dispatch Center must provide the Board with the identity and legal status (e.g. municipality, corporation, limited liability company, sole proprietorship) of the person or entity that holds, or is making application for the license. Failure to provide this information will result in an application being treated as incomplete.
2.
Physical address or location
A license is issued for a specific physical address or location.
§3.
Change in Licensing Factors
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center must receive Board approval to change any of the licensing factors.
§4.
Standards

1.
An application will not be accepted as complete unless it includes all materials required to be evaluated for licensure. To obtain a new license, an EMD Center applicant must:
A.
Apply on forms available from Maine EMS; and
B.
Demonstrate to Maine EMS that:
1.
The applicant complies with the requirements of 32 M.R.S.A. §85-A, the Rules, and the Maine EMS-approved Emergency Medical Dispatch Priority Reference System;
2.
The applicant can provide the facilities, equipment, and personnel required by these Rules;
3.
The applicant has an electronic version of the Maine EMS-approved emergency medical dispatch protocol on each computer used by an emergency medical dispatcher while engaged in emergency medical dispatch or has a Maine EMS-approved printed protocol card set for each on-duty emergency medical dispatcher. The card set must be within five feet of the emergency medical dispatcher’s telecommunications console;
4.
The applicant complies with the Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement requirements as set forth in the Maine EMS approved Emergency Medical Dispatch Priority Reference System; and
5.
The applicant has designated a director of Emergency Medical Dispatch, who shall act as the point of contact for the Emergency Medical Dispatch Center.
2.
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center license is issued for a period of 24 months unless earlier suspended or revoked. A license may be issued for a shorter period of time if approved by the Board.
3.
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center must demonstrate ongoing compliance with these Rules in order to maintain its license.
§5.
Renewal

1.
An application will not be accepted as complete unless it includes all materials required to be evaluated for licensure.
2.
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center may apply for a renewal license for up to ninety (90) days after the date of expiration. The ninety-day period does not postpone the expiration date. An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center with an expired license cannot provide emergency medical dispatch services. An application submitted more than 90 days after expiration shall be considered a new application and subject to all requirements governing new applications.
3.
In order to obtain a license renewal, an Emergency Medical Dispatch Center must:
A.
Apply on forms available from Maine EMS; and
B.
Demonstrate, as may be required by Maine EMS, that it meets the licensing requirements of 32 M.R.S.A. §85-A and these Rules.
§6.
Personnel Requirements for Emergency Medical Dispatch Centers

1.
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center must use Maine EMS licensed Emergency Medical Dispatchers to receive, evaluate and process all calls for medical assistance, except that a dispatcher-in-training, under direct supervision of a Maine EMS licensed emergency medical dispatcher designated by the EMD Center director, may process calls using the emergency medical dispatch protocol after the dispatcher-in-training has attended the Maine EMS approved certification course for emergency medical dispatch. For

purposes of this paragraph, direct supervision means that the designated licensed emergency medical dispatcher is contemporaneously listening to the call for medical assistance being processed by the dispatcher-in-training and is able to assume control of the call and provide emergency medical dispatch, if the dispatcher-in-training is unable to process the call in accordance with protocol.
2.
An Emergency Medical Dispatch Center director must notify Maine EMS when Emergency Medical Dispatchers are employed or terminated from employment by the Center. Notification must be made electronically or by mail within five days of the employment or termination of employment of an Emergency Medical Dispatcher.
§7.
Response Standards For Emergency Medical Dispatch Centers

1.
Emergency Medical Dispatch Centers must provide Emergency Medical Dispatch Services twenty-four hours a day, every day, with full-time dispatch capability to ensure that all calls for medical assistance received are processed in accordance with 32 M.R.S.A. §85-A, the Maine EMS-approved Emergency Medical Dispatch Priority Reference System and these Rules.
2.
Emergency Medical Dispatch services must be implemented within the first 10 seconds of when a 9-1-1 call is received in at least ninety percent of the calls received.
§8.
Termination of Center License

1.
Any Emergency Medical Dispatch Center intending to terminate its operations must make written notification to Maine EMS and the Emergency Services Communications Bureau at least 30 days prior to the termination date. The Emergency Medical Dispatch Center shall notify the public at least 30 days prior to the service termination date by placing an advertisement in the most widely circulated newspaper(s) serving the dispatch area(s). The notice must state:
A.
The name of the Emergency Medical Dispatch Center;
B.
The date of termination;
C.
The names of the municipalities affected by the termination; and
D.
The plan in place for 9-1-1 service and Emergency Medical Dispatch coverage for municipalities affected by the termination.
§9.
Transition To Statewide Emergency Dispatch Protocol

1.
As of July 1, 2010 all licensed Emergency Medical Dispatch Centers in Maine must exclusively use Board approved statewide Emergency Medical Dispatch protocols.
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