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Welcome to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
 Dealer Training 

1. Completing required paperwork to apply for title on 
       vehicles you sell to Maine residents. 

2.  Discuss and review the Bureau of Motor Vehicles  
     laws and forms. 

3.  Discuss and review the Used Vehicle Buyer’s Guide.  

4.  Discuss and review the Unsafe Motor Vehicle laws. 

5.  Answer your questions and concerns.  

This workshop will assist you with: 
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Maine State 
Certificate of Title 

MVT-1 

All 1995 and newer vehicles are subject to Maine 
Title requirements. 

As of January 1, 2010 

A vehicle 1994 and older, motorcycles/mopeds 
under 300 cc’s, special/special mobile equipment 
and trailers 3000 lbs or less (empty weight) are 
exempt from Maine Title requirements. 
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Vehicles from other Title Jurisdictions? 

New Hampshire ~ Title required for model 
year 2000 and newer. 
Rhode Island ~ Title model year 2001 and newer 

Vermont ~ 15 year Title State  

Connecticut ~ 20 year Title State 

4 



Who and What is a 
 Non-Lien Holding State? 

Several States mail Titles directly to owners, even 
though a Title may list a lien holder. 

Minnesota 

Kentucky Montana 

Maine (From 1/1/91 to 10/1/96) New York 

Maryland Oklahoma 

Michigan 

Kansas Missouri 

South Dakota 
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Moving to the State of Maine from one of those 

 Non-Lien Holding States? 
 

A Title and released Lien must be in hand, if 
applicable, to sell, trade, or register a vehicle. 

Please, remember, the Lien Holder does not hold the 
Title in these states! 

If they do not have the Title, they must obtain a 
duplicate from that State before they can sell, 
register, or apply for Title in Maine. 
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What is A Memorandum Titles? 

A Memorandum Title is a 
non-negotiable title issued 
when the owner of a vehicle 
moves to a state that issues 
Memorandum Titles and the 
out of state title is held by 
the lienholder and not 
surrendered to that state at 
time of registration.  
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Who issues Memorandum Titles? 

District of Columbia 
Kansas (Trucks and 
Commercial Vehicles Only) 
                                                   

Massachusetts 

Ohio 

Pennsylvania 

South Carolina Texas 

Connecticut 

Remember, the State of Maine will not accept Memorandum Titles as 
proof of ownership! 

West Virginia 

Missouri 
Rhode Island  (as of 11/7/03) 
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Changes to the 
Maine State 

Certificate of Title  
MVT-1 

Feb. 1, 1999  to  June 2015 

  Jan. 1, 1991  to Oct. 1, 1996 

Certificate of Lien   
MVT-17 

         Oct. 1, 1996 to Jan 31, 1999 
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Maine Certificate of Title 
 issued  

January 1991  thru  October 1996 

MVT-1 
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CERTIFICATE  of  LIEN 

 Certificate of Lien (MVT-17) were issued from 1/1/91 to 
     10/1/96.   
 
 Released with a MVT-12 
                                                                
 Must be properly signed off by the lien holder 
 
 The information on this Certificate of Lien must match the 
    Certificate of Title exactly. 
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Maine Certificate of Lien 
 required for Titles issued 

January 1991  thru  October 1996 

MVT-17 12 



Release of Lien      
MVT-12 

An MVT-12 can be used by the 
Lien Holder to show a release of 
lien when it cannot be released 
on the face of the title or in the 
case where a Certificate of Lien 
has been lost or destroyed. 

Authorized Agent information 
must be legible and position 
listed. 

2018 TOYT TACOMA 5TFSZ5AN3JX084629 

  Richard & Angela Smith                    99 Main Street 

8765432 

Augusta                                                     ME      04330 

01/07/17 09/07/17 

Klondike Bank & Trust 981 Washington Street 
James Snowman 

James Snowman Loan Officer 

09/22/17 

Presque Isle,       ME  04769 

Once the Lien (s) is released by all 
Lien Holders, the Vehicle is Free 
of Encumbrances and able to be 
transferred. 
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Maine Certificate of Title 
 issued  

October 1, 1996  thru  January 31, 1999 

MVT-1 
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Maine Certificate of Title 
 issued  

February 1, 1999  to June 2015   

MVT-1 
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MVT-1 

Maine Certificate of Title 
Issued 

June 2015 to Current Use 
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Sample Title 
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Certificate of Origin 
 MCO 

New vehicles and trailers, delivered 
in Maine by the manufacturer or  

franchise dealer, must execute and  
deliver to an agent or franchised  
dealer, a Certificate of Origin. 

A Certificate of Origin or MCO 
is the birth certificate for a new vehicle. 
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Certificate of Origin 
 MCO 
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Monroney  Label 
(Window Sticker) 
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Monroney  Label 
(Window Sticker) 

Manufacturer 
Suggested Retail Price 
(MSRP) is calculated 
by using the 

Total Vehicle 
Price 

Less The             
Destination Charge 

  EQUALS MSRP 
Total Vehicle Price  $23,145 
 
Less Destination        - $795 
  
Equals MSRP           $22,350 
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Transfer of Ownership 

  Are the keys all that’s needed?          
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Transfer of Ownership 
MVT-1 

Initiate vehicle transfers for 
vehicles 1995 and newer on the 
reverse side of the Title  (MVT-1)  

    Verify vehicle ownership! 

Purchaser(s) name and Address 
and date of the sale 

* 

Accurate current mileage 

* 

Signature of purchaser(s) 

* 

Lienholder's information 

* 

Seller(s) name, signature(s), 
address and date of the sale 

* 
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Transfer of Ownership 
MVT-16 

2018
  

 TOYT TACOMA 5TFSZ5AN3JX084629 PK 

Exceptional Auto 
45 Second Street,        Randolph, Maine 

01/07/17 

04345 

   Richard & Angela Smith 

Richard Smith 

01/07/17 
 99 Main Street,     Augusta, Maine 04330 

78 

Klondike Bank & Trust 

  
981 Washington Street,                    Presque Isle, Maine    04769 

01/07/17 

Alan Churchill Alan Churchill, Office Manager        
Exceptional Auto 

01/07/17 

To be a valid transfer, the MVT-16 must be accompanied by a Title. 

Richard Smith 
Angela Smith 01/07/17 Angela Smith 
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29-A M.R.S.A. § 851, section 4, paragraph 12 

“Used motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle 
that has been registered at least once or is not 
covered by a manufacturer's new car warranty.  

NEW vs USED 

25 



Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

How much does an Application for Title cost? 

How soon after a Dealer makes a sale or lienholder finances a vehicle should a 
Title Application be submitted to BMV? 

Dealerships and Financial Institutions must submit an application to Motor 
Vehicles within 30 days of the sale or start of approved lien. 

After 30 days, there is a $50 late fee per application and this violation is a 
misdemeanor in Title 29A, section 664 ~ a Class E offense. 

The Application fee is $33  (6-8 weeks) 

An additional $10 for an EXPEDITED (RUSH).   
 (10-12 work days from date application is received at main office)                

26 



Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

G   123456 

CTA Number 

Title Fee $33 

Rush (+ $10) 
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G   123456 

Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

Line #1 
Last Name, 
First Name, 
Middle Initial 
of owners 

Check Joint 
Ownership and 
the survivor owns 
the vehicle 
without any 
question! 

If there are 
multiple titled 
owners, but Joint 
Ownership is not 
checked, Common 
Ownership is 
established. 

Line #2 
Date of Birth 

Line #3 
Telephone Number 

Smith, Richard L 11/29/56 
02/25/64 

207-555-1234 
Smith, Angela S 
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G   123456 

Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

Line #4  Mailing 
Address, (Street 
Name & 
Number)  

Line #6  Please  
complete, so the 
Title Section has 
required 
information to 
locate owner if 
required. 

Line #7  
Complete if this 
is a leased 
vehicle. 

    99 Main Street,  Augusta, ME  04330 

Line #5  MSRP ~ 
Fill in the 
appropriate 
amount (Total 
vehicle price less 
destination charge 
equals total) if this is 
a new vehicle or 
the MRSP has 
been listed on 
prior Title.  
Otherwise check 
mark “not 
required”. 

38,915 

  Smith, Angela S 
11/29/56 Smith, Richard L 
08/25/64 

207-555-1234 

 PO Box 54 
  Augusta        ME                 04330 
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G   123456 

38,915 
 2018       TOYT       TACOMA      5TFSZ5AN3JX084629                  PK 

 01/07/17 MCO ME 

       78 

Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

Lines #8 - #17 

Vehicle 
Information: 

Lines #18 - #20  
Current Odometer  

 
DO NOT GUESS 

   be accurate! 

If it is not actual,  
state that and submit 
an MVT-32 
Odometer 
Information form 
with this application. 

Year, Make, 
Model, VIN, 
Body Type, 
Condition, 
Purchase Date, 
Previous Title 
Number, State 
of Origin 

  Smith, Angela S 
11/29/56 Smith, Richard L 
08/25/64 

207-555-1234 

    99 Main Street,  Augusta, ME  04330 

PO Box 54 
Augusta        ME                 04330 
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G   123456 

Application for Certificate of Title 
MVT-2 

Lines #21 - #26 

Lien Information 
95 Chestnut Street,  Augusta, ME  04330 

Lines #27 - #29 

Seller Information 

Remember to include 
your Dealer License 
# and check Dealer 
Type Box 

38,915 

01/07/17      MCO ME 

       78 

45 Second Street, Randolph, ME  04345 
Exceptional Auto  9002 

Alan Churchill Office Manager 01/07/17 

Line #30   
Signatures of 
Owners 

All owners listed 
in block one must 
sign. 

 

 
 

 

  Smith, Angela S 
11/29/56 Smith, Richard L 
08/25/64 

207-555-1234 

Augusta        ME                 04330 
PO Box 54 

 2018    TOYT         TACOMA    5TFSZ5AN3JX084629                PK 

 

Klondike Bank & Trust 

  

01/07/17 

981 Washington Street Presque Isle ME 04769 

  

Angela Smith Richard Smith 01/07/17 
 
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Odometer Information 
MVT-32 

MVT-32 is  
used when a  
questionable 
odometer reading 
occurs on the 
MVT-2 or when an 
odometer is  
non-functional and 
replaced.  

Richard & Angela Smith  95 Chestnut St Augusta Me 04330 

2018     TOYO                    5TFSZ5AN3JX084629                 01/01/17    

     

01/01/17                                                           Henry Davis        

            Davis Auto Repair 

 Henry Davis 

If Repaired/Replaced 
Odometer set at 

Miles driven  
while odometer  
not working  

Odometer reading 
when stopped  
working 
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Affidavit of Repossession 
Reverse of Maine Title. 
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Affidavit of Repossession 
MVT-5 

08/05/17 

01/07/17 

Klondike Bank & Trust 
   981 Washington Street, Presque Isle, ME  04769 

08/05/17 

Klondike Bank & Trust            James Snowman    Loan Officer 

Mary T. O’Donnell 

Presque Isle, Aroostook County 

James Snowman 

5th   August             17 

Notary Signature 

 

MVT-5 may be 
submitted to show 

repossession instead 
of repossession 

being executed on 
reverse of title. 

Richard & Angela Smith 
James Snowman 

2018     TOYT                   5TFSZ5AN3JX084629                                  30258456 
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Duplicate  
Certificate of Title 

MVT-8 

They will acquired a signed 
Release of Lien (MVT-12) from 
Klondike Bank & Trust that 
indicated his loan was paid in full 
on his 2018 Toyota Tacoma.     

Richard And Angela Smith 
found a car they really would 
like to buy at Exceptional Auto 
of Randolph, Maine, but Lost 
the Title. How can they close 
the deal without it?  

Prior title still shows active Lien 
on our system. 

But! 

45 Second St, Randolph ME  04345 Exceptional Auto 

Alan Churchill Office Manager Alan Churchill 12/18/13 

9002 

Smith,  Richard 
Smith, Angela 

 

08/25/64 
11/29/56 207-555-1234 

207-555-1234 
 PO Box 54     99 Main Street 

         Augusta            ME                                           04330 

  2018   TOYT     TACOMA          5TFSZ5AN3JX084629                                                   PK 

 

Richard Smith Angela Smith 01/07/17 

$33 Fee for the Duplicate 
plus $10 Fee for RUSH. 
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INFOR-ME 

  A second way to obtain BMV Information: 

❖  An Internet Service that provides 24 hour/ 7 days  a week access. 
       http://www.maine.gov/informe/ 

❖  An “annual” Subscription Fee of 
$100 and a $5.50 look-up fee per 
Title record inquiry is available. 

❖  InforME can be contacted at:      (207) 621-2600 
                                                     or      1-877-212-6500 
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INFOR-ME 
On-Line Duplicate Title 

$46.00 Fee 
 
$33.00 Title Fee 
$10.00 Rush Fee 
$3.00 Processing 
Fee 
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Request for Withdrawal 
MVT-3 

G 123896 Exceptional Auto 01/11/17 

Richard & Angela Smith 2015  FORD 1FMCU23JX08762194 

01/10/17 

Alan Churchill 

Office Manager, Exceptional Auto 
Please note:  If the vehicle has been 
registered to the applicant, the 
Application for Title (MVT-2) 
cannot be withdrawn. 

Undisclosed Information 

Richard & Angela discovered 
their recently purchased 2015 
Ford Taurus had been in an 
accident and was not disclosed at 
the time of sale. They have 
brought the vehicle back to 
Exceptional Auto for a refund. 

1. Can Exceptional Auto 
cancel this transaction?  
If so, how? 

2. Is the title fee refunded?  

d 

Richard Smith Angela Smith 

Alan Churchill 

James Snowman Loan Officer, Klondike Bank & Trust 
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Inspection of Vehicle Identification 
MVT-10 

✓Required whenever the  
Vehicle Identification 
Number of a vehicle is 
questionable or a vehicle 
coming in from another 
country. 

2013   FORD  TAURUS  SD              Maine                               G 123896 

1FMCU23JX08762194                            1FMCU23JX08762194 

 

 4    4    5    2    7  

Shawn Niely         03/15/17 Richard Smith                            03/15/17 

Shawn Niely, State Inspection Agent 
Exceptional Auto      #1687 

207-555-6528 

Richard Smith,   Owner 

Richard & Angela Smith              PO Box 54, Augusta ME  

03/15/17 45 Second Street 
Randolph ME 
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Vehicles Coming Into Maine  
from Another Country  

 

✓MVT-2 ~ Title Application in the owner(s) name. 

✓Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCRO), from Canada,  

   a Canadian registration in the selling dealer’s name. 

✓MVT-10 Vehicle Identification Statement   

✓A Bill of Sale 

✓Import Documents:   
       A.  Dept. or Transportation’s  HS-Form 7 Declaration 
 

       B.  U.S. Customs Entry Form #7501, or  CF-3299  or  CF-368 
 

       C.  Military documentation ~ DD 1252 & DD 788  or Only HS-Form 7 
 

       D.  Bond or Bond release if question #3 has been answered on                 
            Declaration 

                                      

       E.  Work order for odometer change, if one was done 
 

✓  Required Title Fee 
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Richard Smith 

28th September  17 
Kennebec Maine 

Mary T. O’Donnell 

Affidavit of Surviving Spouse 
MVT-22 

MVT-22 is used when the 
owner(s) of a vehicle has died. 

09/28/17 

08/25/64 Angela Smith 

5TFSZ5AN3JX084629    TOYT 2018      09/10/17 

Richard Smith 
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Keeping Vehicle: 
 

1. Title 
2. MVT-22 completed by surviving spouse 
3. MVT-2 in surviving spouse’s name 
4. No Fee for MVT-2 only if prior title is 

Maine 
            A $33.00 fee if spouse is adding a name 
 5. $10.00 fee for a rush process                   

Selling Vehicle-Provide New Owner with the 
following: 
 

1. Title 
2. MVT-22 completed by surviving spouse 
3. Transfer of ownership from surviving spouse 

to new owner 

Keeping Vehicle - Maine Title Lost: 
 

1. MVT-8 in prior owner’s name(s) signed by 
the surviving spouse  

2. MVT-22 completed by surviving spouse 
3. MVT-2 in surviving spouse’s name 
4. No Fee for MVT-2 and MVT-8 

A $33.00 fee for MVT-2 if spouse is 
adding a name 

 5. $10.00 fee for a rush process 
  

Selling Vehicle - Maine Title Lost: 
Surviving spouse must obtain a title in their 
name first before selling. 
 
1. See instructions in Keeping Vehicle – Maine 

Title Lost 
2. Provide new owner with the following: 
 Title in surviving spouse’s name 
 Transfer of ownership from all owners 

named on new title to new owner  

Death of an Owner  -  Surviving Spouse 
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Death of an Owner  -  Personal Representative 
 

Keeping Vehicle: 
 

1. Title 
2. Copy of personal rep’s court appointment 
3. MVT-2 in personal rep’s name(s) 
4. $33.00 fee 
5. Additional $10.00 fee if rush request 

Selling Vehicle - Provide New Owner with the 
following: 

 
1. Title 
2. Copy of personal rep’s court appointment 
3. Transfer of ownership from personal rep(s) 

to new owner 

Keeping Vehicle – Maine Title Lost: 
 

1. MVT-8 in prior owner’s names(s) signed by 
the personal rep  

2. Copy of personal rep’s court appointment 
3. MVT-2 in personal rep’s name(s) 
4. $33.00 fee for MVT-2 
5. Additional $10.00 fee if rush request 

Selling Vehicle – Maine Title Lost: 
      Personal Rep must obtain a title in their name 

first before selling. 
 

1. See instructions in Keeping Vehicle – 
Maine Title Lost 

2. Provide new owner with the following: 
 Title in personal rep’s name(s) 
 Transfer of ownership from all owners 

named on new title to new owner 
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Death of an Owner  -  Joint Owner 
 

Keeping Vehicle: 
 

1. Title 
2. Copy of death certificate 
3. MVT-2 in joint owner’s name 
4.     No fee for MVT-2 if surviving joint owner is 

surviving spouse 
              A $33.00 fee if surviving joint owner is not       
              the surviving spouse or if another name is         
              added 
5.    Additional $10.00 fee if rush request 

Selling Vehicle - Provide New Owner with the 
following: 

 
1. Title  
2. Copy of death certificate 
3. Transfer of ownership from surviving joint 

owner to new owner 
  

Keeping Vehicle – Maine Title Lost: 
 

1. MVT-8 in prior owner’s names signed by the 
surviving joint owner  

2. Copy of death certificate 
3. MVT-2 in surviving joint owner’s name 
4. No fee for MVT-2 and MVT-8 if surviving joint 

owner is the surviving spouse 
        A $33.00 fee for MVT-2 & MVT-8 if   
        surviving joint owner is not the surviving   
        spouse or if surviving spouse is adding a   
        name 

    5.  Additional $10.00 fee for rush request 

Selling Vehicle - Maine Title Lost: 
     Surviving joint owner must obtain a title in their 

name first before selling. 
 

1. See instructions in Keeping Vehicle – Maine 
Title Lost 

2. Provide new owner with the following: 
a. Title in joint owner’s name 
b. Transfer of ownership from all owners named 

on new title to new owner 
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Heirs of the Deceased-No Personal Representative Appointed by the Court 
 

Keeping Vehicle: 
 

1. Title 
2. MVT-22 completed by all immediate heirs 

a. spouse 
b. children 
c. parent(s) 
d. sibling(s) 

3. Statement from probate court no will probated 
4. Transfer of ownership (when required) 
5. MVT-2 in heir’s name(s) 
6. $33.00 fee 
7. Additional $10.00 fee for a rush request 

Selling Vehicle-Provide New Owner with the following: 
 
1. Title 
2. MVT-22 completed by all immediate heirs 

a. spouse 
b. children 
c. parent(s) 
d. sibling(s) 

3. Statement from probate court no will probated 
4. Transfer of ownership from heir(s) to new owner 

Keeping Vehicle- Maine Title Lost: 
 

1. MVT-8 in prior owner’s name(s) signed by all 
heirs 

2. MVT-22 completed by all immediate heirs 
a. spouse 
b. children 
c. parent(s) 
d. sibling(s) 

3. Statement from probate court no will probated 
4. MVT-2 in heir’s name(s) 
5. Transfer of ownership (when required) 
6. $33.00 fee for MVT-2  
7. Additional $10.00 fee if rush request 

Selling Vehicle- Maine Title Lost: 
     Heir(s) must obtain a title in their name(s) first before 

selling. 
 

1. See instructions in Keeping Vehicle – Maine Title 
Lost 

2.  Provide new owner with the following: 
 Title in heir’s name(s) 
 Transfer of ownership from all owners 

named on new title to new owner 
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Application for Certificate of Salvage 
MVT-102 

Salvage Vehicle Dealers and Auctions 

Legislation requires Insurance Companies to obtain 
Salvage Titles for total loss vehicles prior to 
transferring them. 

The Secretary of State requires this application for a 
Salvage Title for any total loss, even if the owner 
retains the salvage. 

Remember:  The insurance company must act on the 
application within 30 days of its receipt. 

46 



Application for Certificate of Salvage 
MVT-102 

CTA S Number 

Newport Insurance Company 

207-999-1234 

A54321 
93 Pine  Street   

Portland,                   Maine                 04101 

12        FORD   TAURUS          2FMZU7EF3CFB79954 

4DR          8765432                           ME          09/10/17 

William J. Newport, President 09/10/17 

George M. MacAfee 

34 Spruce Street          Augusta, ME  04330 

N/A 

26,347 
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Certificate of Salvage Title 

 Collision Damage 
Water Damage 
 Theft 
 Fire Damage 
 Comprehensive 
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Affidavit of Rebuilt or Repaired Salvage Vehicle 
MVT-103 

• If a vehicle has been declared a total loss by an insurance company or vehicle owner, 
an MVT-103 form must be completed by the repairer to list repairs on the vehicle. 

• List the parts used to replace or repair the damaged ones as (N) new, (U) used, or (R) 
repaired. 

• Copies of the bill of sale or invoice for new parts must be sent in with the MVT-103 
form. 

• When repairing the vehicle with used parts, list the VIN number from the “parts” 
vehicle, as well as the Title State, Title Number and Date Title Surrendered. 

• If 1-4 component parts are replaced, the vehicle will be coded “Rebuilt” on the title. 

• If 5 or more component parts have been replaced, “Rebuilt Salvage” will be coded on 
the title. 

• If the vehicle has been declared totaled and no parts were replaced, but the vehicle 
was repaired, an MVT-103 must be completed by the repairer, “Repaired” will be 
coded on the title. 
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123ABC456EFG78A9 
456ABC123EFG89A9 

Affidavit of Rebuilt or Repaired Salvage Vehicle 
MVT-103 

U
U U 

R 

N    Need Bill of Sale/Invoice  Attached 

R 

N   Need Bill of Sale/Invoice  Attached 

If NEW parts 
please attach bill 
of sale/invoice for 
each new part used 

If USED parts 
please enter title 
state, title number 
and date title 
surrendered  for 
each used part 

ME         12356525         03/25/16    
ME         10549521         02/19/16    

Johnny Applebee                                                                                         FORD 
126 Macintosh Lane                                                                                    S-10 
Augusta                                                      1FUD346TUE3456435 

ME             04330                        207      555-1234                        NN29656                               

09/07/17                                           Kenneth Arrows                          
156 Repair Road Augusta ME 04330                                               (207) 555-8954 
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Part B of the MVT-103 must be completed and 
mailed along with the title from any vehicle that 
has been:  

Part B:  (Reverse of MVT-103) 

Note:  The MVT-103 must be used when surrendering titles. 

Disposition of Salvage Vehicle 
MVT-103 
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Reverse Side of 
Disposition of Salvage Vehicle 

MVT-103 

Always Repair It 
156 Repair Road Augusta Me 04330 

10549521 ME    123ABC456EFG78A9 
456ABC123EFG89A9 ME 10949521 

            Kenneth Arrows                                                                                09/07/17                       
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Certificate of Destruction 

The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles will not title a vehicle 
that has been previously titled in another state as a 
Certificate of Destruction, Non-Repairable, Parts-Only, 
Junk, Scrap or equivalent brand.  
 
The vehicle may be used as a “Parts” vehicle to repair other 
vehicles, but may not be titled in Maine. 
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• Minors (under the age of 18) applying for a Maine title, are required to have 
a parent or legal guardian sign the bottom of the title application (MVT-2). 

• A copy of the court order is required for emancipated minors. 
• Divorce Action:  The recipient of the vehicle must show the divorce decree 

with the signature of the Judge. 
• Name Change:  Changes due to marriage, divorce or personal preference 

are required to show a copy of the legal document stating such change. 
• Repossession:  Between Jan. 1, 1991 and Oct. 1, 1996 titles with liens were 

mailed to the lienholders.  A lienholder may repossess (MVT-5) when named 
as lienholder on the certificate of title. 

Special Circumstances 
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• Bankruptcy:  A Bankruptcy Court Trustee must complete the assignment 
to whom a titled vehicle is sold and include a copy of the court order 
bankruptcy indicating who has authorization to transfer the vehicle with 
the submitted title application. 

• Incapacitated Owner:  Two (2) witnessed signatures are required when 
the owner signs an X transferring title ownership of a vehicle, along with 
the title document, and copies of court appointed guardianship papers. 

• DSER ~ Department of Support Enforcement Regulations:  Delinquent child 
support.  Once a Notice of Lien is sent to the delinquent party, DSER can 
start lien proceeding after 20 days of the notice.  It may be necessary to 
call the Title section to verify this information. 

Special Circumstances 
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VIN Decoder 
10th digit determines the model year of the vehicle 
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FEE  SCHEDULE 
MVT-29 

A Dealership must possess a 
properly assigned Title before 
selling or displaying a vehicle 
for sale. 

Refer to MVT-29 for 
accurate Fee rates. 

Auctions may sell vehicles to 
a licensed Dealer without the 
title in hand; but the Dealer 
cannot sell the vehicle until 
the title has been received. 
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FORM  REQUEST  SHEET 
MVT-44 

STOCKROOM 

(207) 624-9030 
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Contacting  
Bureau of Motor Vehicles  

~ Dealer Section ~ 

QUESTIONS? 
•      CALL  US  AT: 
        (207) 624-9000    EXT.  52143 
          FAX   
        (207) 624-9126 
•       EMAIL:   
          dealerlicensing.bmv@maine.gov 
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Contacting  
Bureau of Motor Vehicles  
~ Office of Investigations ~ 

QUESTIONS? 
•      CALL  US  AT: 
        (207) 624-9000    EXT.  52144 
          FAX   
        (207) 624-9258 
•       EMAIL:   
          investigation.bmv@maine.gov 
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Contacting  
Bureau of Motor Vehicles  

~ Title Section ~ 

QUESTIONS? 
•      CALL  US  AT: 
        (207) 624-9000    EXT.  52138 
          FAX   
        (207) 624-9254 
•       EMAIL:   
           titles.bmv@maine.gov 
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The End! 

Please Remember to Call with Your Questions 
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Office of Investigations 
• Director 
• Office Specialist I 
• 12 Detectives 3 of which are 

supervisors. 
• Assigned to different geographic 

locations and have Offices located in 
8 of the 13 BMV Branches 
 

• Central Office in Augusta 

• 207-624-9000 Ext. 52144 
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Detective’s Duties 

• Enforce Motor Vehicle and Criminal 
Codes 
 

• Enforce the Used Car Information 
Act 
 

• Enforce Rules of Secretary of State 
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Some Facts about 
Investigations 

• All certified Law Enforcement 
Officers 

• Investigate and resolve about 2500+ 
cases annually 

• Average $250,000 in restitution to 
consumers 

• Investigate and prosecute felonies, 
misdemeanors and infractions 
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Primary Location  
• Application and additional fees required. 
•  Lease if area is not owned by the dealer 
•  Land Use /Zoning approval 

 
Must meet the Following requirements: 
• Business hours posted (Min 30hrs per week) 
• 5,000 sq.´  Display area 
• 400 sq.´   Repair Facility 
• 64 sq.´    Office Space 
• 12 sq.´   Sign  
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Multiple Locations 

Annex Location: 
•    Must meet the same requirements as the primary 

      place of business  

•    Application and additional fees required. 

•     Lease if area is not owned by the dealer 

•     Land Use /Zoning approval 

•    Records may be kept at the primary location. 

•    No mileage limitation from primary location 
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Multiple Locations 

Secondary Location: 
•   Space enough to display at least two (2) vehicles. 

•   Sign that meets same requirements as primary 

•   Application and additional fees required 

•   Lease if area not owned by the dealer 

•   Land Use/Zoning form 

•   No mileage restriction from primary location, but 

     must offer a warranty facility within 50 miles.               
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 Sales Promotion 

Attended Sales Promotion:  
1.  Notify BMV of the proposed dates and locations of display. 
2.  Fees:  $  50 for 7 days or less promotion. 
                $100 for an 8-60 day promotion. 
                $150 for more than 60 days, but less than 90 days promotion.  
3.  May be used in multiple locations. 
4.  Equipment and Trailer dealers are exempt from obtaining this  
     permit unless they are displaying a motor vehicle or the display  
     is more than 90 continuous days. 

Unattended Sales Promotion: 
1.   BMV must receive a written contract with the  
       name of the sponsor and dealership. 
2.    Fees: $  50 for 7 days or less promotion. 
                 $100 for an 8-60 day promotion. 
                 $150 for more than a 60 day promotion. 
3.    Equipment and Trailer dealers are exempt from obtaining this  
       permit unless they are displaying a motor vehicle or the display  
       is more than 90 continuous days. 

  

Minimum Notice Accepted ~ 48 Hours 
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Attended and Unattended Sales Promotions require: 

Minimum Notice Accepted~ 48 Hours 

• A completed MVD-379 Zoning Form 
from the town the promotion is occurring; 

                                 

 

                                            

• A signed contract agreement with property 
owner. 

 

 Sales Promotion 
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Charitable Events 
Charitable event permits will be  

EXEMPT from fees for  
Attended and Unattended Sales Promotions. 

  

Organization and/or Sponsor information   
must be provided! 

The sponsor’s name, location, and date (s)  
of the event being held. 

Minimum Notice Accepted ~ 48 Hours 

 Sales Promotion 
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Dealer License Renewals 

Mediation/Arbitration Fees: 
     Dealers must collect arbitration $1 fee for 

every motor vehicle sold to a retail customer, 
including new and used vehicles.  These fees 
must be paid for the 12 month period of the 
issued dealer’s license. 

 
     Dealers must list the fee on the sales 

agreement separately. 
 
Exceptions:   
     Mobile homes and commercial vehicles with a 

G.V.W. of 8,500 lbs. or more. 
 

Remember:  Notify the Dealer Section of any changes! 
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Keep Accurate Records 

• Make copies of ALL your paperwork. 
• Dealers must maintain a temporary plate log. 

The log must include voided plates! 
• Keep white/pink copies of the NOS (Notice 

of Sales) organized and available. 
• Dealership records must be kept for 5 years. 

Remember:  Keep a temporary plate log! 
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When not to sell vehicles 
A licensed car dealer may not be 

open for business on the 
following days: 

                  Christmas    
                      Easter 
                  Sundays 
                      Thanksgiving 

Exemption from the Blue Law:  Camping Trailers and 
new Motor Homes.  Title 17 Section 3203 & 3203A. 
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THE USED CAR INFORMATION 
ACT 

10 MRSA §1474 THRU §1477 
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What does the  
Used Car Information Act 

do? 
 
• Sets minimum warranties on used 

cars 
• Sets disclosure standards on used 

cars 
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The Used Car Information 
Act applies to: 

 
 

• USED automobiles  

• USED trucks under 10,000 lbs. 
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The Used Car Information 
Act does not apply to: 

 
• New vehicles  
• Trucks over 10,000 lbs. 
• Motorcycles 
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Who is affected by the Used 
Car Information Act? 

• All Dealers, whether licensed or 
unlicensed 

• Dealers licensed in another state, 
doing business in Maine 

• Finance Companies and banks who 
resell their own repossessed vehicles 
to the public 
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The Only Exception to the  
Used Car Information Act 

• Vehicles sold for a purpose other 
than transportation 
– A Parts Vehicle 
– A Junk Vehicle 

• Evidence outside of the contract that 
contradicts this will be admissible 
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Used Vehicle Buyer’s Guide 

• A combination of Disclosure and 
Warranty statement 

• Originally two forms, then the 
Secretary of State went to the FTC 
and combined them 

• The most important document the 
dealer has for protection 
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This form cannot 
be obtained 
through The 
Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles. 
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The Disclosure Statement 

OPTIONAL 
All VIN Digits 
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Disclosure 

 
• The dealer is required to have an 

incoming disclosure 
 * Must be signed by the seller 
 * Does not have to be on the UCBG 
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Incoming Disclosure 
Exception  

• Vehicle purchased by dealer at     
out-of-state Dealer-Only auction… 
 

• Must state the it was purchased at 
     “ OUT-OF-STATE AUCTION” 
                                     AND 

the VEHICLE HISTORY is UNKNOWN 
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What must be disclosed? 

• The prior use of the vehicle 

– Daily Rental 

– Taxi 
– Police Car 
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How was the vehicle 
acquired? 

• Dealer Auction…Out of  State 

• Dealer Auction...In State 

• Dealer Sale 

• Trade-in 

• Repossession 
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Mechanical Defects that 
must be disclosed 

• Major Mechanical defects 
– Engine 
– Transmission, etc. 
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Odometer Replaced 
• Replaced or Repaired 

– Must be set to zero 
– Or set to the actual mileage of the vehicle 

 
• If set to zero, Contact Office of Investigation:  

– Must obtain a sticker to be put on the forward 
doorpost, driver’s side 
 

• Cannot be a junkyard odometer with 
mileage on it… 
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Odometer Replaced  

• Disclose the replaced odometer on 
the UCBG as a mechanical defect 

• The title will be branded as odometer 
change if it is set to zero,  

• “NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE” 
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Disclosure of Prior Damage 

• Fire 

• Water 

• Vandalism 

• Collision 
– When the cost to repair is $3000 or 

more AT RETAIL  
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Repossessed Vehicle 

• Is exempt from disclosure unless the 

dealer should be expected to know of 

damage 
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What if the title is branded? 

• The brand must be disclosed 

– Repaired 

– Rebuilt 

– Rebuilt Salvage 

– Odometer Replaced 

 



2016 

Buying, Selling and 
Repairing 

Salvage Vehicles 
 

• The Used Car Buyers Guide must 
state “SALVAGE VEHICLE”  

 

• Failure to do so is a Class D Crime 
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The Warranty Statement 
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Safety Inspection 

• Warranty that the vehicle will meet 
inspection standards at the time of 
sale 
 

• Inspection sticker can not be more 
than 60 days old at time of sale! 
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Warranty 

• The Minimum is the Safety Inspection 

• This cannot be waived by either party 
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Warranty of Inspection 

• This is NOT a 30 Day/1000 Mile 
Warranty 
 

• It DOES mean that the vehicle 
– Legitimately passed inspection 
– Meets Inspection Standards on the date 

of sale 
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No Express Warranty 

 
• This block is checked when the only 

warranty given is the Inspection 
Warranty 
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Dealer Express Warranty 

• Full 
– This is the factory warranty 

 
• Limited 

– Labor and parts percentage must be 
entered 

– Deductible must be entered 
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Systems Covered 

• This must be specific 
– Motor 
– Transmission 
– Rear end, etc. 

 
• DO NOT USE “DRIVE TRAIN”, 

“POWER TRAIN” etc. 
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Duration 

• Duration of the warranty 

• In miles 

• In time 
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Implied Warranty 

• Applies to vehicles that are 

– less than 4 years old 
– still within the normal useful life, in 

mileage 
– “Warranty of Merchantability” 
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Implied Warranty 

• Used vehicles are the only consumer 

good sold in Maine that the seller is 

not required to sell with an implied 

warranty 
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Implied Warranty 

• Must be given if an express warranty 

is given, but it can be limited to the 

duration of the express warranty 
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Service Contract 

• If the dealer sells a Service Contract 
– check the Service Contract block 

– Check “Yes” or “Limited to the 

Duration of the Express Warranty” 
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An Important Point 

• The name and address of the prior 

owner must be given if requested 

– This does not violate any privacy laws 
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Vehicle Returned to 
Manufacturer 

• This vehicle was 
accepted into a 
Lemon Law 
Arbitration 
Program 

  AND  
• Was purchased 

back by the 
manufacturer  
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Notice of Breach of 
Warranty 

• The buyer must be 

told where to send 

notice of breach of 

warranty 
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Signature!! 

• If it isn’t  signed         

it didn’t  happen!! 
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Notice of Sale 
MVD-15 
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Notice of Sale 
MVD-15 

• Must be completed when issuing a temporary          
registration to a customer 

 
•  MVD-15 must be legible! 
 
•  The white and/or pink copy (s) must be kept for five (5)  
      years. 
 
•  The yellow copy is given to the buyer. 
 
•  Please do not cross out, white out, write over,  
     strike over, erase etc.   
      If an error occurs, please redo the form. 
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          Temporary Registration Plates 
 

Dealers must keep a written record of temporary 
plates, including all destroyed or voided plates. 

Please do not share your inventory with other 
dealers. These plates have been assigned solely to your 
dealership. 

Only the Dealer Division at BMV can authorize 
expiration extensions beyond the valid 14 days. 

Temporary Plates cost $1 each and can be obtained 
at any BMV Branch Office or the Stockroom. 

Temporary plates ordered by phone with a cc must 
be in increments of 25. 
• Please bring a copy of your Dealer License and Identification. 
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Record Keeping 

• Signed copy of incoming disclosure 

• Signed copy of Used Car Buyer’s 
Guide 
 

• Must be kept for five years 
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Can a Dealer sell an 
UNSAFE vehicle? 

YES…BUT 

• Must have an “Unsafe Motor 

Vehicle” sticker 
– This does not mean there is no 

inspection 
– The inspection was done and it failed 
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Unsafe Vehicle 

• MUST NOT be test driven 

• MUST NOT be driven from the dealership 
• MUST NOT be issued a 14 day plate 
• MUST NOT have any inspection sticker 
• MUST BE TOWED FROM THE LOT 
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CAUTION! 

• The Unsafe Vehicle Form MUST 
– be completed by a licensed inspection mechanic 
– at a licensed inspection station, and 
– be a true inspection 
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When an “unsafe Motor 
Vehicle is sold... 

• Complete the 
disclosure portion 
of the Buyer’s 
Guide 
– “Unsafe Vehicle” 

in the Mechanical 
Defects Section 
 

• No Warranties 
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The Dealer must… 

• Remove any prior inspection sticker  

AND 

• Put his own inspection sticker on 

• before displaying the vehicle for sale 
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Possible Sanctions against 
Dealers  

• Court Action 
• Civil Penalties 
• Private lawsuits 
• Unfair Trade Practice Act 

any of which can result in  
revocation of dealer license 
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Any Questions on the UCBG? 
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Use of Dealer Plates  

• Directly connected with the business 
of  
– Buying                 Selling 
– Testing                 Adjusting 
– Servicing              Demonstrating 
– Exchanging 
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Use of Dealer Plates 

   New, Used Car or Motorcycle Dealer Plate   
 

  These plates are issued to dealers to allow a 
customer to road test a vehicle. 

  A business plate may be used by the owner or a 
sales representative, general manager, sales 
manager, or service manager who are employees on 
the dealers payroll full-time, but not in the dealer’s 
immediate family or members of that person’s 
household. 
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 New, Used Car or Motorcycle Family Plate: 

  This is for the personal use of the dealer’s immediate 
family, provided the dealer is married or has children, 
(under 18), that have a valid driver’s license and reside 
full-time in the dealers residence.   

  Must submit application identifying family members 
that will be using the family plate(s). 

  Owners/Partners must hold at least 20% ownership 
in dealership. 

  Only one (1) family plate is allowed per owner. 

  Common law marriages do not apply.  

Use of Dealer Plates 
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 New, Used Car or Motorcycle Family Plate: 

Vehicle must be in the dealer’s active inventory. 

CAN NOT be used for employment purposes i.e., mail 
carrier, Mary Kay, Real Estate Agent. 

Must have a dealer license for one (1) year to qualify. 

May not be used on a Motor Home. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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 New, Used Car Service Plate:    

 

1. These plates can not be used by a customer. 
2. Its purpose is for the servicing and/or  
      picking up parts. 
3. A vehicle to which the service plate is attached, 

must have the name of the licensed dealership 
on the vehicle’s side in letters at least 3 inches 
in height. 

4. The use of this plate can not exceed 24,000 lbs. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Equipment Dealer Plate:   

•This plate is for the purpose of 
demonstrating/delivering equipment to customers. 

•This plate can not be used on company vehicles   

•This plate can not be used on equipment that is 
being rented or leased.   

•If you are renting or leasing equipment, you must 
register these as special mobile equipment or special 
equipment. 

 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Equipment Service Plate:  

•Truck use only. 

•This plate is for the servicing of equipment and/or 
picking up parts.  This can not be used by a customer.   
•A vehicle to which the service plate is attached, must 
have the name of the licensed dealership on the 
vehicle’s side in letters at least 3 inches in height. 
•The use of this plate can exceed 24,000 lbs. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Loaner Plate:   

To be used by a customer for a period of 7 days while their vehicle is being 
repaired.   

If the repairs are going to take more than 7 days you must contact this 

office for an extension of this plate, which can not exceed 30 days. 

A loaner plate log must be maintained by the dealership listing name, 
address, make, model, VIN, plate number, the customer’s vehicle make, 
model, VIN, and the effective date of the loaner assignment. 

Please remember that the customers registration and any other credentials 
for the customers vehicle must be carried in the loaner vehicle.   

This plate can not be used by the dealer or its employees.  

A customer can not be charged a fee for the use of a vehicle with a loaner 
plate.   

If a fee is charged then you must register the vehicles as short-term rental 
vehicles. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Transporter Plate:   

This plate is for repair facilities, body shops, banks, 
credit unions or other financial institutions, motor 
vehicle auction business, public or non-profit 
organizations. 

This plate can not be used by a customer or for 
demonstration purposes.   

It is merely to get a vehicle from point A to point B.  

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Light Trailer and Heavy Trailer Plate:   

This plate allows the movement of trailers from one 
point to another, i.e. from the manufacturer, auction 
site or place of purchase to your facility.   

A trailer can not carry a load on a dealer plate.  

A trailer dealer can obtain a permit to demonstrate 
with their dealer plate up to 10,000 lbs. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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Light Wrecker and Heavy Wrecker:  
*  These plates allows a dealer to transport a vehicle belonging to     
his dealership from point A to point B that may be deemed unsafe 
or wrecked or perhaps purchased at auction.   

*  These plates can not be used for roadside assistance or for “in 
rotation” calls for police departments.   

*  A wrecker by design is equipped with a hoist apparatus or    
special equipment designed and used for towing or carrying one 
wrecked or disabled vehicle.   

*  The light wrecker plate can not exceed 26,000 lbs. 

*  The heavy wrecker plate can not exceed 80,000 lbs. 

Use of Dealer Plates 
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 Experiment Plates 
Experiment:   
Motor Vehicle Inventor must register an application with the 
Secretary of State as an Inventor. 

Submit pictures of the experimental vehicle in development. 

Submit a copy of the insurance policy. 

Once approved, up to 2 plates will be issued to the inventor for 
an annual fee of $20 for each plate issued. 

The plates may be used on multiple vehicles, similar to dealer 
plates. 

This plate is stamped EXPERIMENT and looks like a dealer 
plate. 
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Permit to Demonstrate 

 A request for a Permit to Demonstrate 
must be submitted with the complete 
VIN of the vehicle being demonstrated. 

 Given only for seven (7) days and  
 Cannot be used on leased or rented 

vehicles. 
 This permit is only valid when     a 

BMV official signs it. 
 Processing fee:  $1.00 
 Cannot be issued more than once to the 

person or business per vehicle. 

An issued permit allows the truck to show it can carry a load of goods. 
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10K Laden Permit 

Maine dealers licensed as a new car, used car,  
or equipment, and a heavy trailer dealer can 
purchase a 10K permit to operate a laden 
vehicle over 10,000 pounds. 

 The load must consist of only one (1) automobile, 
truck or truck tractor or multiple trailers or 
equipment that a dealer is licensed to sell. 

 $200 fee valid for 90 Days. 
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 Reduce or Increase Dealer Plates 

Reduction of Dealer Plates: 

A dealership must sell 12 vehicles in a 12 month period, if not, 
there will be a reduction of their dealer plates to; two (2) plates.  
The reduction includes family and service plates; for which the 
family plate would be required to be surrendered. 

 

Increase of Dealer Plates: 

Additional dealer business plates may be obtained once the 
Dealer Section at BMV verifies the total sales for a time period 
to calculate the number of business plates that a  dealership may 
have. 
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    Loss of Dealer Plates 
                  MVD-374 & MVD-375 

Please complete one of the following forms if a dealer plate 
becomes lost, mutilated, or destroyed and include $5 per plate and 
$0.50 per validation sticker. 

MVD-374 
Lost Plate 

MVD-375 
  Lost Sticker 

If lost or stolen, you must notify local law enforcement. 
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Thank you for your 
attention 

The Office of 
Investigations 
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