MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

CONTROLLING INTEREST TRANSFER
TAX RETURN/DECLARATION OF VALUE

This form must be used for reporting transfer of a controlling interest in an entity owning real estate in Maine.
Do not use this form for transfers of real estate by deed. FILE THIS RETURN WITH THE COUNTY REGISTRY OF DEEDS.

For registry use only

1. TRANSFEROR/SELLER

2. TRANSFEREE/BUYER

Name

Name

Address Address

City City

State ZIP State ZIP

Federal ID Number Federal ID Number

Share of Entity Transferred % | Share of Entity Transferred %
3. ENTITY

Name

Address

City State ZIP

Date of Transfer

Federal ID Number

4. REAL PROPERTY VALUES (Attach extra sheets as necessary. See instructions)

Municipality

Description

Source Value

WARNING TO BUYER
If the property is

classified as farmland,
open space, or tree

growth, a substantial
penalty could be

triggered by any change
in use of the property.

D Classified

Ll &r| L L H| &

Total

D Not classified

5. EXEMPTION Explain the basis for claiming exemption from transfer tax.

6. OATH Aware of penalties set forth in 36 M.R.S. § 4641-K, | declare that | have reviewed this return with the transferor
and the transferee and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, the information contained herein is true, correct, and
complete. Declaration of preparer is based on information provided by the transferor and the transferee and of which

preparer has any knowledge.

Name of Preparer

Phone Number

Mailing Address

Email Address

Fax Number

Rev. 12/19



MAINE CONTROLLING INTEREST TRANSFER TAX RETURN
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

This return is to be filed whenever a controlling
interest (more than 50%) of an entity with Maine real
estate is transferred. Maine imposes a tax on the
transfer of Maine real estate, through a deed, from
one person to another. The real estate transfer tax
also applies to controlling interest transfers when no
deed is involved. For the tax to apply when a
controlling interest has been transferred, the
following must apply:

A. The controlling interest must be transferred
to or from a single person or group of persons acting
in concert and, if more than one transaction is
involved, they must all have occurred within a 12-
month period;

B. The entity of which a controlling interest is
transferred must have an ownership interest in real
estate located in Maine.

The tax is equal to $2.20 for each $500 (or portion of
$500) of the market value of property. Half of the tax
is imposed on the transferor and half on the
transferee. The tax is adjusted by the percentage of
interest transferred.

For example, if Individual A sells 80% of Entity B to
Individual C and Entity B owns real estate in Maine
worth $100,000, the controlling interest transfer tax
would be $100,000 x ($2.20/$500) x 80% = $352, $176
due from Individual A and $176 due from Individual
C. A controlling interest transfer has occurred, even
if it consists of more than one transfer within a 12-
month period. For example, using the facts above, if
Individual A transfers 40% of Entity B to Individual
C in January 1, 2018 and another 40% of Entity B in
October 1, 2018, a controlling interest has been
transferred. In this example, the date of the
controlling interest transfer is October 1, when the
greater than 50% threshold has been passed.

A transfer of controlling interest is exempt from the
real estate transfer tax to the extent that the transfer
would qualify for exemption if it were accomplished
by deed. See 36 M.R.S. § 4641-C.

Due date. This return, with payment of tax, is due
within 30 days of the date of the controlling interest
transfer.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Box 1 - Transferor/Seller. Enter information for
the transferor of the controlling interest share. If
controlling interest has been transferred through
multiple transactions over 12 months, enter the share
that has been transferred with this transaction and
attach returns for all other applicable transactions.
The transferor’s federal ID number is the federal
employer identification number or other number
issued by the IRS for income tax purposes. Do not
enter a social security number. If you do not have a
federal identification number, you may enter all Os in
this field. The share of entity transferred should
equal the share of entity transferred in Box 2. If these
two numbers are different, attach an explanation.

Box 2 - Transferee/Buyer. Enter information for
the transferee of the controlling interest share. If
controlling interest has been transferred through
multiple transactions over 12 months, enter the share
that has been transferred with this transaction and
attach returns for all other applicable transactions.
The transferee’s federal ID number is that person’s
social security number, employer identification
number, or other number issued by the IRS for income
tax purposes. The share of entity transferred should
equal the share of entity transferred in Box 1. If these
two numbers are different, attach an explanation.

Box 3 - Entity. Enter information for the entity
being transferred. The entity’s federal ID number is

that entity’s social security number, employer
identification number, or other number issued by the
IRS for income tax purposes.

Box 4 - Property Value. Describe all real estate
owned by the entity in Box 3 and located in this
county. If property is located in more than one county,
file separate returns for each affected county. Enter
the municipality where the real estate is located. In
the Description column, enter the map and lot or the
physical location of the property. In the Source
column, enter the appropriate code for the source of
property value in the following column. Codes: A =
appraisal, M = municipal assessed value, P =
purchase, O = Other. If other, attach an explanation.
In the Value column, enter the full market value of
the real estate. The transfer tax is based on this
number, as adjusted by the share of entity transferred
in Boxes 1 and 2.

Box 5. If the transfer is exempt from the transfer tax,
check the box and enter an explanation. Transfers
are generally exempt only if the transfer would have
been exempt under 36 M.R.S. § 4641-C if a deed was
given.

Box 6. Enter preparer information.



