# MAINE INITIATOR OF DEPOSIT RETURN INSTRUCTIONS FOR INITIAL RETURN ONLY

These instructions only apply to your initial return. They will not apply to subsequent returns. New instructions will be sent with your next return.

Make check or money order payable to: State Treasurer

Maine Revenue Services Sales, Fuel & Special Tax Division P.O. Box 1065 Augusta, ME 04332-1065

For assistance, call (207) 624-9609 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. or write to the address above.

#### ROUND ALL AMOUNTS TO THE NEAREST FULL DOLLAR

## Part I

- **Line 1.** Enter the total number of nonrefillable beverage containers sold in Maine during your first month of operation within the state.
- Line 2. Enter the total number of nonrefillable beverage containers redeemed in Maine during your first month of operation within the state.

## **Deposit Transaction Fund Balance Amount Calculation**

- **Line 3. Beginning Deposit Transaction Fund balance.** For this initial return, the beginning Deposit Transaction Fund balance would be entered as "zero."
- **Line 4. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned last month.** No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- Line 5. Abandoned Deposits payable to the State last month. No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- **Line 6. Reimbursed amounts due from the State last month.** No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- **Line 7. Subtotal.** From the amount on Line 3, subtract the amounts on Lines 4 and 5; then add the amount on Line 6.
- **Line 8. Refund values received this month.** Enter the total dollar amount of refund values received during the first month of operation (ex., the amount on Line 1 multiplied by \$.05)
- **Line 9. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month.** No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- **Line 10. Refund values paid this month.** Enter the total dollar amount of refund values paid during the first month of operation (ex., the amount on Line 2 multiplied by \$.05). Enter this amount as a positive number.

**Line 11. Ending Deposit Transaction Fund balance.** Add the amounts on Lines 7, 8, and 9 together, then subtract the amount on Line 10.

#### Part II

## **Abandoned Deposits**

This section is to be completed if the amount on Line 11 is a positive amount. <u>If the amount on Line 11 is negative, skip to REIMBURSEMENTS</u>.

- **Line 12. Deposit Transaction Fund ending balance.** Enter the amount from Line 11.
- Line 13. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month. Enter the amount from Line 9
- **Line 14. Refund values received in the current and two preceding months.** Enter the amount from Line 8.
- **Line 15. Abandoned Deposits due the State.** From the amount on Line 12, subtract the amounts on Line 13 and Line 14. If the result is a negative number, enter zero.

Make payment payable to the State Treasurer. Failure to file a return on or before the due date will result in interest and penalty charges. Billings will be issued shortly after the processing of your return.

#### Reimbursements

This section is only to be completed if the amount on Line 11 is a negative amount.

- **Line 16.** Enter the amount from Line 11 as a positive number. For example, a Deposit Transaction Fund ending balance of -\$1,000 should be entered as \$1,000.
- **Line 17. Deposit Transaction Fund interest earned this month.** Enter the amount from Line 9.
- **Line 18. Subtotal.** Add the amounts on Line 16 and Line 17.
- Line 19. Abandoned deposits amounts payable to the State in the preceding 24 months. No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- Line 20. Reimbursement amounts due from the State in the preceding 24 months. No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- **Line 21. Subtotal.** No entry is required on this line for the initial return.
- **Line 22. Reimbursement.** Enter the smaller of Line 18 or Line 21.

You are due a reimbursement *only* if your abandoned deposit amounts in the preceding 24 months *exceeds* the total amount of any reimbursements in the preceding 24 months *and* if your ending balance amount on Line 11 is a *negative* number. For an initial return, there will be no reimbursements. No abandoned deposit amounts or reimbursements have been paid.