
Please list your purchases here and calculate the tax due below. 
Invoice 

Date 
Seller # Cartons # Packs/carton Amount Paid 

         

         

         

         

         

 

STATE OF MAINE 
TAX DECLARATION FOR CIGARETTES 

 
 
Under Maine law, consumers are required to pay Maine taxes on cigarettes possessed in Maine.  When you buy from a retailer 
in Maine, the taxes have been paid (see the Maine tax stamps on the bottom of each pack).  When you purchase in any month 
more than two cartons of cigarettes that do not bear a Maine cigarette tax stamp, the cigarette and use taxes must be declared 
and paid on all of the cigarettes possessed.  TAX IS DUE ON ALL  CIGARETTES IMPORTED INTO THIS STATE. 

 

_____________________ _________________ _______     __________________________  ______________________ 
Last name   First Name MI  Social Security Number  Telephone Number 

 

__________________________________________   ______________________________  ________  _______________ 
Street Address     City             ST  Zip code 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

1 Cigarette Tax 
Cigarettes purchased before September 19, 2005

a Packs of 20:  Number of packs   X $1.00 =

b Packs of 25:  Number of packs   X $1.25 =
Cigarettes purchased after September 18, 2005 

c Packs of 20:  Number of packs   X $2.00 =

d Packs of 25:  Number of packs   X $2.50 =

2 Amount paid for Cigarettes 

3 Total (add lines 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d and 2) 
4 Use Tax Rate 5.5%
5 Use Tax Owed (multiply line 3 by line 4) 
6 Total Tax Owed (add lines 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d and 5)

 

Note:  Maine Revenue Services is actively enforcing reporting requirements for internet cigarette retailers.  If this declaration 
is for cigarettes purchased over the internet, be sure to complete the purchase information above.  Please mail this completed 
form along with your check or money order to: Belinda Guyon, Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9101, Augusta, ME 
04332-9101 

 
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, 
correct and complete. 

 
 

Signature:     Date  _________________________________ 
 

Make a copy for your records and enter your social security number on your check with the words “cigarette taxes”. 
If you have questions or need assistance, please call Maine Revenue Services at (207) 624-9741. 


