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New Rule 104 - Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns 

 
MRS is proposing to adopt new Rule 104, which mandates electronic filing of certain Maine tax 
returns if specified thresholds are exceeded.  A phase-in approach is being proposed with respect 
to certain returns filed on or after January 1, 2008.  The rule would apply to original Maine 
individual income, sales, use, service provider and income tax withholding returns prepared by 
tax return preparers, but would not include amended versions of those returns.   
 
An employee of a tax return preparer is not considered a tax return preparer by definitions of the 
proposed rule and therefore the threshold amounts apply to the tax return preparers and not the 
employee individually. 
 
The proposed threshold for individual income tax returns would be based on the number of 
returns prepared in the previous calendar year. If the number of original Maine individual 
income tax returns prepared by a preparer is more than 200 in calendar year 2007, then the 
requirement to file by electronic data submission would be 85% of returns prepared in 2008.  If 
the number of original Maine individual income tax returns prepared by a preparer is more than 
100 in calendar year 2008, then the requirement to file by electronic data submission would be 
90% of returns prepared in 2009. If the number of original Maine individual income tax returns 
prepared by a preparer is more than 50 in a calendar year after 2008, then the requirement to file 
by electronic data submission would be 95% of returns prepared in the following calendar year.      
 
For sales, use and service provider taxes, the proposed thresholds would be based on tax liability 
for the 12-month period ending the prior September 30.  If the tax liability for any one of these 
taxes exceeds $200,000 for the 12-month period ending September 30, 2007, then the electronic 
filing requirement would apply in calendar year 2008. If the tax liability for any one of these 
taxes exceeds $100,000 for the 12-month period ending September 30, 2008, then the electronic 
filing requirement would apply in calendar year 2009. If the tax liability for any one of these 
taxes exceeds $50,000 for any 12-month period ending September 30 thereafter, then the 
electronic filing requirement would apply in the following calendar year. 
 
For income tax withholding, the proposed threshold for mandatory electronic filing in calendar 
year 2008 would be 75 or more employees, or in the case of third party filers and payroll 
processors, 75 or more (client) employers.  The same threshold would similarly apply to non-
wage payers and pass-through entities.  In all cases, the threshold would be reduced to 50 for 
calendar years after 2008.   



 
For all taxes, the electronic filing requirement would cease to apply if the taxpayer or preparer 
falls below the specified thresholds in subsequent years.   
 
The rule includes provisions for the State Tax Assessor to waive the requirement to file 
electronically where this causes undue hardship.  The proposed rule may be seen on the MRS 
website at www.maine.gov/revenue (select Laws and Rules).  The Secretary of State is expected 
to formally publish the proposed rule on October 24, 2007, and the formal public comment 
period is expected to extend to November 30, 2007.  Written comments should be directed to 
Nanette Ardry, 24 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 or via e-mail to 
nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov.  
 

 
Amendments to Rule 102 - Electronic Funds Transfer 

 
MRS is proposing to adopt amendments to Rule 102, relating to requirements to remit taxes via 
Electronic Funds Transfer. Effective January 1, 2008, EFT thresholds would be based on the 
taxpayer’s combined tax liability to the state for all taxes collected by the Bureau, except 
property taxes and commercial forestry excise taxes. Also effective January 1, 2008, taxpayers 
having a total combined tax liability of $100,000 or more during lookback periods ending in 
2007 would be required to remit taxes via EFT.  Effective January 1, 2009, the EFT threshold 
would be reduced to $50,000 and, for years after 2009, the threshold would be $25,000. The 
proposed amended rule may be seen on the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue (select 
Laws and Rules). The Secretary of State is expected to formally publish the proposed rule on 
October 24, 2007, and the formal public comment period is expected to extend to November 30, 
2007.  Written comments should be directed to Nanette Ardry, 24 State House Station, Augusta, 
ME 04333 or via e-mail to nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov. 
 
 

Amendments to Rule 803 - Withholding Tax Reports and 
Payments 

 
MRS is proposing technical changes to Rule 803 to accommodate the proposed Rule 104 and proposed 
amendments to Rule 102.  The proposed rule changes may be seen on the MRS website at 
www.maine.gov/revenue (select Laws and Rules). The Secretary of State is expected to formally 
publish the proposed rule on October 24, 2007, and the formal public comment period is expected to 
extend to November 30, 2007.  Written comments should be directed Nanette Ardry, 24 State House 
Station, Augusta, ME 04333 or via e-mail to nanette.m.ardry@maine.gov. 
 

 
Business Equipment Tax Exemption Program 

  
Most business property placed in service in Maine after April 1, 2007 will qualify for a property 
tax exemption under the Business Equipment Tax Exemption (BETE) Program.  However, 
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certain retail property will not qualify for the exemption, but may instead qualify for 
reimbursement of property taxes under the Business Equipment Tax Reimbursement (BETR) 
Program.  Maine Revenue Services has developed a guidance document to clarify the retail 
property that qualifies for each program.  The document, "Guidance:  Retail Business 
Equipment," may be viewed at www.maine.gov/revenue/propertytax. 
  
Comments or suggestions should be directed to the Maine Revenue Service Property Tax 
Division at prop.tax@maine.gov. 

Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 287-2076 (207) 287-5855 
Appellate (207) 624-9854 (207) 287-3294 
Central Registration (207) 621-5129 (207) 287-3733 division.uctax@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
Economic Research (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 624-9740 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 287-8276 (207) 287-6627 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894 (207) 622-3517 
Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-7729 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 287-2013 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600

This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

STATE OF MAINE 
 
John Elias Baldacci, Governor 
 
Rebecca M. Wyke, Commissioner 
Administrative and Financial Services 
 
Jerome D. Gerard, Acting Executive 
Director, Maine Revenue Services 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 

Please contact: Public Communications (207) 626-8478 
Maine Revenue Services 
24 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine  04333-0024 
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