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Sales Tax

Legislative Changes




Updates to Registration of Sellers

* Repealed and replaced 36 M.R.S. § 1754-B to resolve a
conflict from the last legislative session (two versions of the
same section of law enacted at the same time)

* Removed the 200-transaction threshold for both remote
seller and marketplace facilitator registration requirements

- Effective January 1, 2022



Updates to Registration of Sellers

36 M.R.S. § 1754-B(1-B)

B. Every person that makes sales of tangible personal property or
taxable services in this State if the person’s gross sales from delivery of
tangible personal property or taxable services into this State in the
previous calendar year or current calendar year exceeds $100,000;

K. A marketplace facilitator if the marketplace facilitator’s gross sales of
tangible personal property or taxable services in this State in the
previous calendar year or current calendar year exceeds $100,000.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. B, §5 and affected by §7
Effective January 1, 2022



In This State

To further clarify “sales in Maine” versus “sales into Maine,”
the definition for “in the State” was clarified to refer to
sales of tangible personal property and taxable services
sourced to Maine.

36 M.R.S. § 1752(5)

5. In this State or in the State. “In this State” or “in the State” means within the
exterior limits of the State of Maine and includes all territory within these limits
owned by or ceded to the United States of America and includes sales of
tangible personal property and taxable services sourced in this State pursuant to
section 1819.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. B, §1 and affected by §7
Effective January 1, 2022



In This State

Additionally, the word “retail” was removed from the first
paragraph of the second Sourcing subsection.

All sales in Maine are sourced according to 36 M.R.S. § 1819
— (ncluding casual sales, wholesale sales, and sales by remote
sellers, marketplace facilitators, and marketplace sellers.

36 M.R.S. § 1819(2)

2. Sourcing for sales of tangible personal property and taxable services.
The retail sale of tangible personal property or a taxable service is sourced in
this State pursuant to this subsection.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. B, $§6 and affected by §7
Effective January 1, 2022



Persons Presumptively Required to Register

36 M.R.S. § 1754-B(1-A)

Created a rebuttable presumption that a seller not required to register under 36
M.R.S. § 1754-B(1-B) may be engaged in the business of selling tangible
personal property or taxable services for use in Maine and would be required to
register with MRS as a retailer

1 Jan. 2022

This section is repealed, effective January 1, 2022.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. B, $4 and affected by §7
Effective January 1, 2022
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Pickup Truck Exclusion

(3) The sale, to a person engaged in the business of renting automobiles, of
automobiles, integral parts of automobiles or accessories to automobiles, for
rental or for use in an automobile rented for a period of less than one year—For
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(3-A) The sale, to a person primarily engaged in the business of renting
automobiles, of pickup trucks or vans with a gross vehicle weight of less than
26,000 pounds, integral parts of such vehicles or accessories for such vehicles,
for rental or for use in such a vehicle rented for a period of less than one year.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. B, §§3 and 4 and affected by §7
Effective January 1, 2022
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ATV Rental Fund

Section §1820 was enacted, which would transfer 90% of the revenue
attributable to the short-term rental of all-terrain vehicles into the ATV
Recreational Management Fund (which would fund ATV trail maintenance
and related projects), beginning January 1, 2022.

Remaining 10% of revenue deposited into the Multimodal Transportation

Fund, which provides funding for public transportation (among other
things)

PL 2021, c. 446, §2
Effective October 18, 2021



Sales and Use Tax Exemptions

Legislative Changes
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New Exemption (1)

Menstrual Products

« Beginning October 1, 2021, sales of menstrual products. For
purposes of this subsection, “menstrual products” means
tampons, panty liners, menstrual cups, sanitary napkins and
other similar tangible personal property designed for
feminine hygiene in connection with the human menstrual

cycle.

PL 2021, c. 398, Pt. H, §2
Effective July 1, 2021
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New Exemption (2)

Area Agency on Aging

* Beginning January 1, 2022, sales to an area agency on aging
designated under Title 22, section 5116, subsection 1, paragraph B, or
sales to a public or nonprofit private agency that is operating under
grants authorized by Title 22, chapter 1457, that is providing social
services in order to secure and maintain maximum independence and
dignity in a home environment for older people capable of self-care
with appropriate supportive services.

PL 2021, c. 399, §1
Effective October 18, 2021
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New Exemption (3)

Nonprofit Cemeteries

 Sales to a cemetery company that is exempt from federal
income tax under Section 501(c)(13) of the Code.

 Effective January 1, 2022.

PL 2021, c. 416, §1 and affected by §2
Effective October 18, 2021



New Exemption (4)

Certain Educational Collaboratives

« Beginning January 1, 2022, sales to an incorporated nonprofit
collaborative whose members are regional school units, as defined in
Title 20-A, section 1, subsection 24-B, and that is organized to assist
those units with professional development opportunities and services.

PL 2021, c. 417, §1
Effective October 18, 2021

16
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New Exemption (5)

Firearm Safety Devices

Beginning January 1, 2022, sales of firearm safety devices. For purposes
of this subsection, “firearm safety device” means, if specifically designed

for securing firearms:
A. A safe or lockbox; or

B. A trigger or barrel lock.

PL 2021, c. 440, §1
Effective October 18, 2021
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Diabetic Supplies

The exemption for diabetic supplies was amended to
specify the items must be used by the purchaser (n
order to claim exemption.

33. Diabetic supplies. All equipment and supplies, whether medical or

otherwise, used by the purchaser in the diagnosis or treatment of human
diabetes.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, §1
Effective October 18, 2021
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Hard of Hearing Organizations

An omnibus bill was enacted to update certain terms
throughout all Maine statutes — "handicapped persons” to
“persons with disabllities,” "hearing-impaired persons” to
“persons who are hard of hearing,” etc.

As a result, the exemption for organizations that assist persons
who are hard of hearing was amended in both the sales tax
and service provider tax laws.

PL 2021, c. 348, §856 and 57
Effective October 18, 2021



20

Hard of Hearing Organizations

Organizations providing certain services for hearing-impaired
persons who are hard of hearing. Sales to incorporated nonprofit

organizations whose primary purposes are to promote public
understanding of hearing #wpatrment |oss and to assist hearing-tmpaired
persons who are hard of hearing through the dissemination of
information about hearing impairment loss to the general public and
referral to and coordination of community resources available to hearirg-
tmpaired persons who are hard of hearing.

PL 2021, c. 348, §856 and 57
Effective October 18, 2021



Exemptions Enacted in 2020

Three exemptions enacted in 2020 were updated

to reflect their true effective date, as well as
making some grammatical and structural changes.
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Exemptions Enacted in 2020

104. Nonprofit youth camps. Sales occurring on or after June 16, 2020 to a
nonprofit youth eamps camp as defined in Title 22, section 2491, subsection 16
that are is licensed by the Department of Health and

Human Services and receive receives an exemption from property tax under
section 652, subsection 1.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, §2 and affected by $§9
Effective retroactive to June 16, 2020



Exemptions Enacted in 2020

105. Pet food assistance organization. Sales occurring on or after
June 16, 2020 to an incorporated nonprofit organization organized for
the purpose of providing food or other supplies intended for pets at

no charge to owners of those pets.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, §3 and affected by $§9
Effective retroactive to June 16, 2020

23



Exemptions Enacted in 2020

The exemption for “worldwide charitable organizations”
was repealed and replaced to clarify that the local
branches of the worldwide nonprofit charitable
organization are able to receive the exemption,

rather than the parent organization.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, $4 and affected by $§9
Effective retroactive to June 16, 2020
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Exemptions Enacted in 2020

106. Locally organized member of nonprofit worldwide charitable

organization. Sales occurring on or after June 16, 2020 to a

community-based independent incorporated nonprofit member
organization of a nonprofit worldwide charitable organization if the

primary purpose of the community-based independent incorporated
nonprofit member organization is to provide financial support using
private funding to another unaffiliated nonprofit charitable organization
at the community level.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, $4 and affected by $§9
Effective retroactive to June 16, 2020
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Pine Tree Development Zone

The Pine Tree Development Zone program
was extended an additional two years

* New businesses may apply to be a PTDZ business up through
December 31, 2023

A qualified Pine Tree Development Zone business’s tax exemptions
or refund provisions would now sunset on December 31, 2033

PL 2021, c. 398, Pt. llll, $3 and §4
Effective retroactive to July 1, 2021
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Motor Vehicle Oil Premiums

Oct. 2019

« FAME notified MRS in October 2019 that motor vehicle oil dealers were no
longer required to pay the motor vehicle oil premiums, as there were no
outstanding liabilities remaining.

Jan. 2020

« Motor Vehicle Oil Premium lines were removed from the Sales Tax Return in
time for the January 2020 return.

Now

* The statute has now caught up with the October 2019 notification, and the
premiums and related reimbursement provisions have been repealed.

PL 2021,c.1,Pt. M
Effective Sept. 1, 2021
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COVID-Related

Machinery or equipment used in production. The definition of
“primarily” in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 36, section 1752, subsection
9-A, is modified by replacing “time” with “days in use” if the 2 year period
described in that definition includes any portion of the state of emergency
declared by the Governor due to the pandemic related to coronavirus
disease 2019, also known as COVID-19.

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. D, §3
Effective October 18, 2021
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COVID-Related

36 M.R.S. § 1760(45)(A-4).

If the property is brought into this State solely to conduct activities directly related to a
declared state disaster or emergency, at the request of the State, a county, city, town or
political subdivision of the State or a registered business, the property is owned by a
person not otherwise required to register as a seller under section 1754-B and the
property is present in this State only during a disaster period. As used in this
paragraph, “declared state disaster or emergency” has and “disaster period” have the

same meaning as in Tltle 10, section 9902, sabsee’aeﬂ subsections 1 and fdﬁaster

PL 2021, c. 181, Pt. D, §3
Effective October 18, 2021



Hospital Tax

Legislative Changes
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Municipally Funded Hospital

36 M.R.S. § 2891(1-A).
Municipally funded hospital. “Municipally funded hospital”

means Mayo-Regional-Hespitalin-Dover-Foxeroft-or Cary Medical

Center in Caribou.

PL 2021, c. 253, Pt. B, §5
Effective October 18, 2021
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New Fiscal Year

36 M.R.S. § 2892, last two paragraphs:

For state fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2019 but before July 1,
2021, the hospital’s taxable year is the hospital’s fiscal year that ended
during calendar year 2016.

For state fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2021, the hospital’s
taxable year is the hospital’s fiscal year that ended during calendar year

2018.

PL 2021, c. 29, Pt. M, §2
Effective June 29, 2021



Marijuana Excise Tax

Legislative Changes
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Title 28-B Changes

28-B ML.R.S. § 102, Definitions

35. Marijuana trim. “"Marijuana trim” means any part of a marijuana
plant, whether processed or unprocessed, that is not marijuana flower or a
marijuana seed except that "“marijuana trim” does not include the stalks or
roots of the marijuana plant. “Marijuana trim” does not include any part of

a hemp plant as defined in Title 7, section 2231, subsection 1-A, paragraph
D.

37. Mother plant. "Mother plant” means a mature marijuana plant that is
used solely for the taking of seedling cuttings. “Mother plant” does not
include hemp as defined in Title 7, section 2231, subsection

1-A, paragraph D.

PL 2021, c. 226, $§§1 and 2
Effective June 16, 2021



New Definitions in 36 M.R.S. § 4921

13. Wet marijuana flower. "Wet marijuana flower"” means marijuana
flower that is not dried, cured or otherwise prepared in any manner
to reduce or eliminate any water weight.

14. Wet marijuana trim. "Wet marijuana trim” means marijuana trim
that is not dried, cured or otherwise prepared in any manner to
reduce or eliminate any water weight.

PL 2021, c. 323, §§1 and 2
Effective June 22, 2021

35
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Excise Tax Changes

36 ML.R.S. § 4921(1)
1. Excise tax on marijuana flower and-mature-marijuana

plants. A cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of
$335 per pound or fraction thereof of marijuana flower er-mature

marjuana-plants-sold to other licensees in the State.

PL 2021, c. 323, §3
Effective June 22, 2021
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Excise Tax Changes

36 M.R.S. § 4921(3-A)

3-A. Excise tax on mature marijuana plants. Beginning July 1,

2021, a cultivation facility licensee shall pay an excise tax of $35 per

mature marijuana plant sold to other licensees in the State.

PL 2021, c. 323, §4
Effective June 22, 2021
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Excise Tax Changes

36 M.R.S. § 4923-A

§4923-A. Calculation of excise tax imposed on wet marijuana

flower and wet marijuana trim.

For purposes of the excise tax imposed pursuant to section 4923 on
wet marijuana flower or wet marijuana trim, a cultivation facility licensee
shall calculate the taxable weight by reducing the total weight of the
wet marijuana flower or wet marijuana trim by 75% before applying the

excise tax.

PL 2021, c. 323, §5
Effective June 22, 2021



Exemptions and
Documentation
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Exemptions

Generally speaking, Exemptions are classified into three
groups:

« Organizational Purpose: certain organizations that are provided an
exemption, based on nonprofit or mission status

* Product: individual items that are excluded from taxability

« Use: items are excluded from taxability based on the item’s usage in a
certain activity

- Commercial activities; manufacturing; etc.



Exemptions

Maine statute DOES NOT provide a blanket sales and
use tax exemption for nonprofit organizations who
have been granted a federal tax exemption, known as
501(c) organizations.

A purchaser presenting a 501(c) determination letter
does not provide proof of exemption from sales tax.
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Examples of Exempt Organizations

* Governmental - Federal and Maine

* Schools - public and private

« Churches and houses of religious worship
* Hospitals

 Variety of healthcare, educational, religious, veteran’s, and
children’s organizations

 All found in Title 36, § 1760

* Most require incorporation and nonprofit status
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Exemption
Certificate

2 Maine Revenue Services
EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE
MNAME OF ORG Registration Number:
ADDRESS Effective Date:
Notice Number:

This certifies that the organization named above is an incorporated nonprofit organization that provides free temporary emergency
shelter or food for underprivileged individuals in the State of Maine. It is therefore entitled to purchase tangible personal property
or taxable services that will be used exclusively by the ergamzation for the purposes for which it 1s orgamzed without payment of
the Maine sales or use tax.

This Exemption Certificate is issued under the provisions of 36 MRS, £ 1751 - 2113

This certificate cannot be used for purchases when payments are made with cash, personal checks, or personal credit cards
without an accompanyving purchase order.

All purchases must be billed directly to and pad for by the orgamization, or must be accompamied by a purchase order issued by the
organization that identifies specifically the items to be purchased.

A copy of this completed and signed certificate must be provided by the orgamzation. and a copy mamtamed in the files of the
vendor in order to permit purchases exempt from tax. It is only necessary to provide one copy of this certificate to the vendor.
Subsequent purchases should be identified as exempt from tax.

The property or service purchased must be used exclusively by the organization named above for the purpeses for which it is
organized.

This certificate may not be used for activities that are mamly commercial enterpnses, including, but not imited to, purchases of items
to be resold by the organization.

This certificate must be taken in good faith from the crganization. The good faith of the vendor may be questioned if, at the time of
the sale, the vendor has knowledge of facts that give nse to a reasonable inference that:

*  The purchaser 1s not the holder of the exemption certificate,
*  The exemption certificate has been revoked or is otherwise mvahd at the time of the sale, or
*  The merchandise or service is not to be used exclusively by the exempt organization.

I HEREEY CERTIFY that the above exemption certificate is valid and that the tangible personal property or taxable services descmibed
below which I shall purchase from will be used exclusively by the organization named above
for purposes for which it 1s orgamized, consistent with the exemption provided m 36 ME.S. § 1760 or 36 MBS, § 2357.

Description of Purchases:

Authonized Signature Date
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Burden of Proof

Rule 302, “Sales to Governmental Agenciles and
Exempt Organizations”

Pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 1760-C, an exemption provided by 36 M.R.S. §
1760 to a person based upon its charitable, nonprofit, or other public
purposes applies only if the property or service purchased is intended to
be used by the person primarily in the activity identified by the
particular exemption.
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Burden of Proof

Rule 302, “Sales to Governmental Agenciles and
Exempt Organizations”

The burden of proving a sale is to an organization that is exempt
under 36 M.R.S. § 1760 is on the person making the sale.

The retailer is relieved of this burden of proof if it satisfies the
provisions of this rule.
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Exempt Sale Documentation

For sales made to the U.S. Government, State of Maine,
Maine cities and counties:

« Exemption certificates are not needed - governmental entities are not
required to obtain a tax exemption certificate

* A retailer must document all tax-free sales to governmental agencies by
listing the name of the governmental agency on the invoice or sales slip

For all other exempt entities:

* Must present an exemption certificate that has been issued by MRS to the
retailer at time of purchase

Purchases must be made and paid for by the exempt entity
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Exempt Sale Documentation

See Rule 302, “Sales to Governmental Agencies and
Exempt Organizations”

Direct billed to the agency — Exempt

Paid by cash, personal check, or personal credit card — Taxable, unless
accompanied by a purchase order issued by the exempt organization

Paid by credit/debit card of the organization — Exempt, but the retailer must
document who (the employee), when and the last 4 digits of the card

* For US Govt. Agencies, this could be a GSA SmartPay or SmartPay 2 card,
which are billed directly to the U.S. Govt.
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Exempt Items

Detailed list in the Sales Tax Business Guide and
Reference Guide

e (available on MRS website)

ltems excluded from the sales tax include:

* Grocery staples
 Residential fuel, water

* Prescription medicines and other medical items
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Exempt Sale Documentation

Most items specifically exempted from the sales tax
require no additional documentation provided to
the retailer

* Grocery staples
 Residential fuel, water (denoted as residential by delivery address)

* Prescription medicines (denoted by the prescription)
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Items Exempted by Use

Certain items are exempted from sales tax based on
* How it's being used; or

* Who is using the item

HOW:

« Commercial activities (farming; fishing; wood harvesting)
« Manufacturing

* Vehicles used in interstate commerce

WHO:

 Vehicles purchased by nonresidents and immediately removed from the state
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Exempt Sale Documentation

Sales of items that will be used in or by an exempt
activity or person require an affidavit to be presented to

the retailer at the time of purchase

ldentifies the item being purchased, the purchaser, and
the exempt use of the item
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Exempt Sale Documentation

Purchase of a motor vehicle (including AT Vs and snowmobiles),
camper trailer, aircraft, semitrailer by a nonresident

- “Affidavit of Exemption for Inmediate Removal”

Purchase of watercraft by a nonresident

 “Affidavit of Exemption for Watercraft”

Purchase of adaptive equipment installed into a motor vehicle to
make that vehicle operable or accessible by a person with a disability

« “Affidavit for Purchase of Adaptive Equipment”
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Commercial Activities

« Commercial Agricultural Production
« Commercial Aquacultural Production
« Commercial Fishing

« Commercial Wood Harvesting

* Electricity
* Fuel

* Depreciable machinery or equipment
- Used in one of the above commercial activities
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Commercial Activities

Commercial Agricultural Production
Commercial Aquacultural Production
Commercial Fishing

Commercial Wood Harvesting

Person engaged in an above commercial activity may apply to MRS for a
commercial exemption card
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Commercial Exemption Card

 Allows tax-exempt purchases on electricity, fuel, or single items of
machinery or equipment

« Upon issuance, the card is valid for a period of up to 4 years

- Commercial Agriculture, Aquaculture, and Fishing cards:
= Valid through June 30, 2022

- Commercial Wood Harvesting cards:
= Valid through June 30, 2025

« When purchasing electricity, fuel, or single item of machinery or

equipment with exemption card, affidavit must be presented as well
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Affidavit of
Exemption

For purchases of electricity, fuel
or depreciable machinery or
equipment for use in
commercial agricultural
production, commercial fishing,
commercial aquacultural
production, or commercial wood
harvesting

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
SALES/EXCISE TAX DIVISION

AFFIDAVIT OF EXEMPTION
For purchases of electricity, fuel, or depreciable machinery or equipment for use in commercial agricultural production,
commercial fishing, commercial aquacultural production, or commercial wood harvesting, pursuant to Section 2013 of the
Maine Sales and Use Tax Law.

I hereby certify that [ hold a valid exemption certificate, No. , 1ssued pursuant to Section
2013 of the Sales and Use Tax Law, and that | am engaged in:

() Commercial Agricultural Production { ) Commercial Aquacultural Production
() Commercial Wood Harvesting { ) Commercial Fishing

I also certify that any depreciable machinery or equipment purchased through this affidavit will be used by me directly and
primarily in my commercial activity indicated above, and 15 100% depreciable for Federal Income Tax purposes; or that the
electricity or fuel purchased will be used directly in the qualifying activities or support operations in my commercial activity
indicated above.

I further certify that I assume full liability for payment to the State of Maine of any use taxes, together with penalties and
interest that may later be determined to be due on any purchases covered by this affidavit because of a taxable use of the

property.

The itemi(s) purchased from 1s/are exempt for the reason(s) indicated below:

( )a. Depreciable machinery or equipment, including repair parts used directly and primarily in the commercial
activity indicated above;

( )b. Electricity for use in the commercial activity indicated above: Utility Account No.

( ) e. Fuel for use in the commercial activity indicated above.

Mame of Individual or Corporation Business Name (if different)

Signature Title Date
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Industrial Users

Those engaged in manufacturing may present the Industrial
Users Blanket Certificate of Exemption (Form ST-A-117) as
evidence that the item being purchased is to be used in the
production of tangible personal property for sale

* Machinery or equipment
* Ingredients or component parts
* Items consumed or destroyed in production

* Fuel or electricity used at a manufacturing facility
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Industrial
Users Blanket
Certificate of
Exemption

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
SALES/EXCISE TAX DIVISION

INDUSTRIAL USERS
BLANKET CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

For purchases of Tangible Personal Property for Use in Production
Under Sections 1760(9-D), (29), (30), (31), (32), and (74) of the Maine Sales and Use Tax Law.

I hereby certify that the Purchaser listed below holds valid Seller’s Registration Certificate No. . issued
pursuant to the Sales and Use Tax Law, 1s engaged n the production of , and that tangible
personal property to be purchased from is exempt for the reason(s) indicated below:

[ Ja.

[ Ib.

[ le.

[ 1d.

[ Je.

[If

To become an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property either in the production of tangible
personal property for later sale or lease, other than lease for use in this State, or in the production of tangible
personal property pursuant to a contract with the United States Government or any agency thereof. § 1760(74)

To be consumed or destroyed or to lose its identity directly and primarily either in the production of tangible personal
property for later sale or lease, other than lease for use in this State, or in the production of tangible personal property
pursuant to a contract with the United States Government or any agency thereof. § 1760(74)

Constitutes machinery and equipment, or repair or replacement parts, to be used by me directly and primarily in either the
production of tangible personal property for sale or lease, the production of tangible personal property pursuant to a contract
with the United States Government or any agency thereof or in the generation of radio and television broadeast signals by
broadcast stations regulated under 47 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 73. § 1760(31)

Constitutes machinery and equipment, or repair or replacement parts, to be used by me directly and exclusively in research
and development in the expernimental and laboratory sense or machinery, equipment, instruments and supplies to be used by
me directly and primarily in biotechnology applications. § 1760(32)

Is fuel or electricity for use at a manufacturing facility (95% of the sale price 1s exempt)
Meter/ Account Mumber(s) L& 1Te0(9-D)

To be used as part of or for the construction, repair or maintenance of a water or air pollution control facility, certified as
such by the Commuissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection. § 1760(29)-(30)

On behalf of the Purchaser listed below, [ further certify that the Purchaser assumes full hiability for payment to the State of Maine of
any use taxes, together with penalties and interest. that may later be determined to be due on any purchases covered by this certificate
because of a taxable use of the property.
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Industrial

Users Blanket
Certificate of

Exemption

On behalf of the Purchaser listed below, I further certify that the Purchaser assumes full liability for payment to the State of Maine of
any use taxes, together with penalties and interest, that may later be determined to be due on any purchases covered by this certificate
because of a taxable use of the property.

NAME OF PURCHASER DATE

SIGNATURE TITLE

NOTICE TO RETAILERS: Retailers making exempt sales covered by this certificate must appropnately mark or stamp all invoices
to indicate they are exempt sales. For mtems a through d and f above, the words “Mame Sales Tax Exempt” will satsfy this
requirement. For item e above, the words “Fuel/electricity used at a manufacturing facility™ will satisfy this requirement.

The certificate may also be used for occasional exempt purchases rather than blanket use by filling out as far as applicable, striking
out the word “Blanket™ and histing on the reverse side the date of order and the quantity and description of the tangible personal
property ordered; or by incorporating the purchase order by reference to this certificate, as by listing date and order number.
ST-A-117

Rev. 1IV1/13
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Resale Certificate

A resale certificate allows a person to purchase goods that will
be resold without paying the sales tax to the vendor

« Tax is due once

+ Sales tax will be due from the ultimate purchaser of the item being sold

Selling retailers making a sale for resale to a retailer need not
collect the sales tax when the retailer presents their valid
resale certificate to the selling retailer at the time of purchase



Resale Certificate

The purchaser specifically states in the order that the property
being purchased is for resale

The ﬁroperty being purchased is of the kind ordinarily
urchased for resale by that purchaser (identified by the
usiness type printed on the purchaser’s resale certificate)

The selling retailer obtains, or has on file, a copy of the
purchaser’s valid resale certificate on the date of the sale

The copy of the resale certificate is signed by the purchaser or
the purchaser’s representative



~J
~
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Resale Certificate

STATE OF MAINE
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

RESALE CERTIFICATE

THIS CERTIFICATE IS VALID
AUGUST 202018 THRU DECEMBER 31 2020

Business Name and Location ifi f Business T

SALES TEST ACOOUNT WHOLESALE
51 COMMERCE DRIVE
AUGUSTA ME 04332

This is to certity that the above named business is authorized to purchase during the period indicated on

this cedificate: (1) tangible personal propeny to be resold in the form of tangible personal property, or(2) a

taxable service to be resold as the same taxable service. This certificate cannot be reassigned or

transferred and can only be used by the above business or its authorized en;rhym. This
t

certificate is void if the business has ceased operating or if the certificate has been altered.

The above named business certifies that the following is being purchased in
the ordinary course of busmness for resale as provided above.

Presented 1o Presenied by: __

(Insert name of seller on phatocopy) \oste) Authorized Signalure (purchaser)  (date)
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Resale Certificates from Out-of-State Retailers

An out-of-state retailer that is not registered with MRS would

Nnot

Cou

oe able to provide an MRS-issued Resale Certificate

d present either:

* A copy of the Uniform Sales and Use Tax Certificate, developed by the
Multistate Tax Commission*; or

A statement, on company letterhead, including the following information:

*see www.mtc.gov, select “Uniform Sales and Use Tax Exemption Certificate” under “Resources”



http://www.mtc.gov/
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Resale Certificates from Out-of-State Retailers

A. The retailer’'s name and address

B. A declaration that the tangible personal property is being purchased for
resale outside of Maine

C. Evidence that the nonresident retailer is engaged in making retail
sales of tangible personal property of the type purchased
(other state’s retailer certificate)

D. An affirmation, made under penalties of perjury, that the information
provided in the statement is true and correct as to every material matter

E. The signature of the purchaser executing the statement.

See MRS Rule 301 for more information on documenting sales for resale.



Contacting the Sales Tax Division

sales.tax@maine.gov

1| (207) 624-9693

9 AM - 12 PM M-F, state holidays excepted

www.maine.gov/revenue

Select “Sales, Use & Service Provider Tax” under “Tax Divisions”

A~ 'Ii :
T./

T (207)287-6628

~~| Maine Revenue Services
Sales, Fuel & Special Tax Division
P.O. Box 1060

Augusta, ME 04332-1060
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mailto:sales.tax@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue
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