Use only if the estate is not required to estate requesting a discharge of an es Estate of:		of Value a return and the esta		*1311000*
First Name	M.I. Last N	lame		
Social Security Number (SSN):	_		Date of Death: MM DI	
Residency Status: Resident	Nonresident	State of Re	sidency (abbreviate)	
If married or widow(er), enter spouse's	name:		Spouse's SSN:	
Personal Representative or Person in		's Property:		
First Name	M.I. Last Name	9		
SSN	Telephone Numl	her	Fax Number	_
		Jei	r ax humber	_
Street Address				
City/Town	State	ZIP Code	Email Address	
Authorization is granted to the repre under 36 M.R.S. § 191 and to act as Firm Name (or preparer, if self-employ Contact Person: First Name	the estate's representa	tive before Maine R		n related to this statement
				_
Contact Person Mailing Address	_			_
City/Town	State	ZIP Code	Telephone Number	
Email Address			Fax Number	
I declare that the value of the Decede everywhere held by the decedent that				
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I Declaration of preparer is based on all info			f my knowledge and belief it	is true, correct and complete.
Signature of Personal Representative	or Person in Possession	_		Date signed
Signature of Preparer		Prep	parer's SSN or PTIN	Date signed
Firm Name (or preparer if self-employ	ed) Preparer Addre	SS	Prepa	rer Telephone Number

ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE FOR CERTAIN NONTAXABLE ESTATES

Maine Tax Portal. File Form 700-SOV and the Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien electronically using the Maine Tax Portal at <u>revenue.maine.gov</u>.

The Maine Tax Portal is an online application that allows Maine taxpayers to file tax returns and make payments online <u>quickly</u> and <u>easily</u>.



Maine tax law imposes an estate tax on the transfer of assets at the time of a person's death. While most estates are not taxable, Maine law places an automatic lien on the Maine property of all decedents. This statement is designed for certain nontaxable estates to request a release of the automatic lien.

You can use this statement for 2025 decedents if the value of the property in the federal gross estate plus taxable gifts made by the decedent within one year of death plus Maine elective property is \$7,000,000 or less, and if a federal estate tax return is not required. The gross estate includes all property everywhere held by the decedent. If the estate The Maine Tax Portal eliminates the need to file a paper Form 700-SOV.

If you do not have online access, you may mail this statement, along with a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien to:

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES P.O. BOX 1064 AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064

contains Maine qualified terminable interest property, Form 706ME must be filed. Attach a copy of this statement to a certificate of lien discharge to request a release of the lien on the decedent's property.* For more information on estate tax, including the Maine law and a guidance document titled Maine Estate Tax For Deaths Occurring After 2012, see the estate tax page on the MRS website at <u>maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax/estate-tax-706me</u>.

*Submit only one 700-SOV statement for the estate, even if completing and attaching multiple Certificates of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

A worksheet is included in the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document. This worksheet is designed to assist you in estimating the value of the decedent's assets. If the estimated value of the estate is close to the \$7 million taxable threshold, you may want to consider filing Form 706ME and/or seeking the advice of an estate tax professional. **Note:** The estate's value must include all property, even property that is located outside Maine.

An estate may be audited either before or after a lien discharge has been issued. The personal representative and beneficiaries are jointly liable for any tax due if MRS determines that a Maine estate tax liability exists.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Residency status. Check the box that corresponds to the residency of the decedent on the date of death. This may be different than the physical location of the decedent. If the decedent was not a resident of Maine, enter the state of residence.

Marital status. If the decedent was married or a widow/ widower at the time of death, enter the name and social security number of the decedent's spouse.

Personal representative or person in possession of decedent's property. Enter in this section the information for the appointed personal representative of the decedent. A personal representative may also be called an executor.

If more than one personal representative has been appointed, enter the information for one representative and attach a list containing information for all other representatives. If a personal representative has not been appointed, enter the information for one person on this statement and attach a list containing information for all other persons in possession of property of the decedent.

Authorized representative. Complete this section only if you elect to have someone represent the estate for you. Generally, this authorized representative would be a tax professional who you hire and would like to communicate with MRS on your behalf. This section is optional. If you do not want to name an authorized representative, skip this section and complete the signature area.