
Request for Exemption or Reduction in 
Withholding of Maine Income Tax on the 

Disposition of Maine Real Property
2024

Form REW-5

File Form REW-5 online at revenue.maine.gov.

Municipality/Township

a) Purchase

b) Inheritance: (	 )
Decedent’s name SSN

c) Gift or other

Closing date

Date and method of acquisition. Enter the date the applicant originally acquired the property and check the box that indicates the 
applicant’s method of acquisition. Additional documentation may be requested to verify the original acquisition. See instructions.

d) Like-kind exchange

6.	 Original purchase price/basis. See instructions..........................................................................6.	$			   .00

7.	 Applicant’s allowable closing costs from original purchase of property. See instructions...........7.	$			   .00	

8.	 Capital Improvements. See instructions.....................................................................................8.	$			   .00

9.	 Add lines 6, 7, and 8...................................................................................................................9.	$			   .00	

10a.	 Length of time during the applicant’s ownership that the property was used for rental or 
	 commercial use. If there was no rental/commercial use, continue to line 11..............................10a. 		  years	 months

10b.	 Allowed or allowable accumulated depreciation. See instructions.........................................10b.	$			   .00

Applicant’s first name (if applicable) SSN or federal EIN

	 Applicant spouse’s last name (if applicable) Spouse’s first name Spouse’s SSN

City/Town State Zip Code

Applicant’s daytime phone number	

Note:	 This form is for sales occurring in 2024; submissions filed on a prior year form may be subject to delay. This form must be	
	  submitted at least 5 business days before the closing date. If mailed, please allow an additional 2 to 3 weeks for processing.   

Continue on Form REW-5, page 2

	 Applicant’s mailing address (number and street)

	 Applicant’s last name (or name of entity)

	 Applicant’s email address

	 Buyer(s) name(s)

	 Physical address of property

4.	 Date of acquisition or date of decedent’s death. See instructions................................................4.

5. 	 Method of acquisition: 
	 (check one)

	 Name(s) of all other sellers (if applicable)
1a.

2.

3.

1.	 Applicant’s percentage of ownership. (If less than 100.00%, line 1a must be completed.)..........1. 		  .	 %

	 Check here if applicant is a corporation required to file Form 1120ME.................................................................................



Country (if not United States) Email address	 Telephone number

Representative name (and title, if applicable) Firm or company name

Representative’s mailing address (number and street) City/Town State Zip Code

2024 Form REW-5, Page 2

Applicant’s SSN or EIN

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this application and attached schedules and statements, and to the best of 
my knowledge and belief they are true, correct and complete. If you are signing on behalf of the applicant(s), you must provide a written 
power of attorney authorization with this request. To assign a designated representative, complete the Representative Information and 
Limited Power of Attorney below. You must sign the authorization  or complete Form 2848-ME (available at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-
return-forms/general-forms) before MRS can speak with your designated representative. If you are signing on behalf of your employer, 
include authorization.

Applicant’s signature Applicant’s name Date

This request for a withholding rate reduction or exemption is submitted in accordance with 36 M.R.S. §§ 5250-A(3)(B) and (4), which 
authorizes the State Tax Assessor to issue a certificate of exemption or reduction in the amount of tax to be withheld. The rate of 
withholding is 2.5% of the total consideration or, at the request of the seller, the State Tax Assessor may authorize a reduced 
amount of withholding equal to the gain multiplied by 7.15% for individuals or 8.93% for a C corporation, in calendar year 2024.

11.	 Adjusted basis. Subtract line 10b from line 9.........................................................................11.	$			   .00
	

12.	 Total sales price. See instructions............................................................................................12.	$			   .00

13. 	 Applicant’s estimated allowable current closing costs. See instructions..................................13.	$ 			   .00

14.	 Amount realized. Subtract line 13 from line 12.......................................................................14.	$ 			   .00

15.	 Estimated gain/loss subject to federal and Maine income tax. Subtract line 11 from 
	 line 14.......................................................................................................................................15.	$			   .00

16.	 How will this sale of real property be reported on the applicant’s federal income tax return? See instructions.

Limited Power of Attorney (complete only if you want someone to represent you during the real estate withholding process)

By signing below, the selling party appoints the individual named in the Representative Information section below to act as their 
representative with authority to receive confidential information and to discuss your tax records, related to this form, with MRS. I understand 
that my representative may not act on my behalf, unless I provide a Form 2848-ME, Power of Attorney. I also understand that signing this 
form does not revoke other power of attorney forms on file with MRS.

Applicant’s signature Print name (and title, if applicable) Date

Applicant spouse’s signature (if applicable) Print name (and title, if applicable) Date

Representative Information



Purpose of Form: To request an exemption or reduction in 
withholding of Maine income tax on the disposition of Maine 
real property.

Who may File: A seller (individual, firm, partnership, 
association, society, club, corporation, estate, trust, business 
trust, receiver, assignee or any other group or combination 
acting as a unit) of Maine real property who, at the time of 
closing, is a nonresident of Maine.

When to File: Form REW-5 should be filed as soon as the 
seller and buyer have reached an agreement to transfer 
property. Sellers must allow MRS at least five business days 
to respond to a Form REW-5 request. The response time will 
be longer if the request is missing required information or 
supporting documentation. MRS will not issue a withholding 
certificate after the sale has closed. 

Maine Tax Portal (“MTP”): The MTP is 
an online application that allows Maine 
taxpayers to file tax returns and make 

payments online quickly, easily, and eliminates the need to 
file a paper form. 

File Form REW-5 electronically using the MTP at 
revenue.maine.gov. If unable to file online, you may send 
Form REW-5 and all supporting documents via email to 
realestate.withholding@maine.gov, fax to (207) 624-5062, 
or mail to Maine Revenue Services, Income/Estate Tax 
Division - REW, P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332-1060. 

2024 Form REW-5 General Instructions
Withholding Certificate Issued by the State Tax 
Assessor: A withholding certificate may be issued by the 
State Tax Assessor to reduce or eliminate withholding on 
transfers of Maine real property interests by nonresidents. 

The certificate may be issued if:
	 1.	No tax is due on the gain from the transfer; or,
	 2. Reduced withholding is appropriate because the 		
		  2.5% amount exceeds the seller’s maximum Maine 	
		  income tax liability on the gain realized from the		
		  sale. The maximum income tax liability is equal to 	
		  the seller’s capital gain multiplied by 7.15% (8.93% 	
		  for corporations). 
If one of the above is applicable, file Form REW-5 to apply 
for the certificate no later than five business days prior to 
closing. Do not apply if the maximum Maine income tax 
liability exceeds 2.5% of the consideration. 

Foreclosure Sale: If property is subject to foreclosure and 
the consideration received for the property does not exceed 
the debt secured by that property, no Maine income tax 
withholding is required. Foreclosure sale means a sale of real 
property incident to a foreclosure and includes a mortgagee’s 
sale of real estate owned property of which the mortgagee, 
or third-party entity, retained or took ownership as the result 
of an unsuccessful attempt to sell the property at the time 
of a previous foreclosure auction. MRS does not issue 
withholding exemption certificates for this type of foreclosure 
sale (see Rule 803 and 36 M.R.S. § 5250-A(3-A)).

2024 Form REW-5 Specific Instructions
Applicant’s name: Enter the applicant’s (seller’s) name and 
SSN or federal EIN. NOTE: If there are multiple sellers of the 
property, each applicant (seller) must complete a separate 
Form REW-5, except that married taxpayers that will file 
a joint Maine individual income tax return requesting a 
withholding exemption or reduction may complete one form, 
listing both names and SSN’s on the form. 

Mailing address: Enter the applicant’s current mailing 
address. 

E-mail address: Provide the applicant’s email address, 
or the email address of the applicant’s Power of Attorney 
(POA). If using the POA’s email, be sure to include Form 
REW-5, page 2 or a properly completed Form 2848-ME.

Lines 1a - 2. If applicant’s ownership percentage on line 
1 is less than 100%, the names of all other sellers must 
be included on line 1a. On line 2, enter the name(s) of all 
buyer(s). The seller(s) and buyer(s) are typically listed on 
the Purchase and Sale Agreement.  Attach additional pages, 
if necessary. 

Line 3. Enter the address of the property for sale, the name 
of the municipality where the property is located, and the 
expected closing date of the sale. 

Lines 4 - 5. Date and method of acquisition: Indicate the  
date the property was originally acquired by the applicant 
and the method by which the applicant obtained ownership 
of the property. 

Additional documentation may be requested to support the 
method of acquisition, such as: 

a) Purchase. Verification of the original sales price, 
such as a HUD-1 Settlement Statement, dually signed 
Purchase and  Sales Agreement, original Real Estate 
Transfer Tax Declaration (RETTD) or tax assessment 
from the town when purchased.  

b) Inheritance. A complete appraisal dated within six 
months of the decedent’s death or a copy of the tax 
assessment from the town.  

c) Gift or other. Documents to verify the original 
purchase price paid by the previous owner. If you cannot 
locate these documents, the town where the property is 
located may have a record of the purchase price. 

d) Like-kind exchange. A copy of the federal Form 
8824 that was filed with the Internal Revenue Service 
(“IRS”) to report the exchange.
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Line 6. If line 5, box a (Purchase) is checked, enter the total 
amount you paid for the property.

If line 5, box b (Inheritance) is checked, enter the fair market 
value of the property on the date of the decedent’s death.

If line 5, box c (Gift or other) is checked, enter the adjusted 
basis of the donor at the time of gift.

If line 5, box d (Like-kind exchange) is checked, enter the 
basis of the property that was reported on federal Form 
8824 in the year of the exchange. 

Line 7. Enter the amount of the allowable closing costs 
paid at the time the property was originally acquired by the 
applicants*. Also see line 13.

Line 8. Enter the cost of capital improvements made to 
the property. Do not include repairs made to the property. 
For example: Cleaning or fixing a furnace is not a capital 
improvement, but installing a new furnace is. 

If you constructed a building after you acquired the property, 
include the construction costs for the building. 

You may be asked to provide additional information 
supporting the amount entered on this line, such as a list 
of capital improvements and the cost of each improvement, 
and/or a copy of the construction contract, building permit 
filed with the town, or the tax assessment from the year a 
certificate of occupancy was received. 

Lines 10a - 10b. If the property was rented or used 
commercially, enter the allowed, or allowable, accumulated 
depreciation determined in accordance with the Internal 
Revenue Code.

Line 12. Enter the total gross sales price of the property. Do 
not subtract any fees. The sale price should match the sales 
price on the Purchase and Sales Agreement. 

Line 13. Enter the amount of the applicant’s allowable 
closing costs from the current sale of this property*. Also 
see line 7.  

*Certain closing costs do not qualify. If available, enclose 
a copy of the HUD-1 or Closing Statement from when you 
purchased the property. Closing costs generally include 
realtor fees, transfer taxes, and deed preparation fees.

Line 16. Indicate whether the sale will be reported as a 
gain, loss, exclusion, installment sale, like-kind exchange, 
or other on the applicant’s federal income tax return. If you 
do not know how the sale will be reported on the applicant’s 
federal income tax return, consult a tax professional or the 
IRS.

For more information about selling the property, determining 
basis, reporting the sale, capital improvements and costs, 
visit www.irs.gov. See the instructions for the following 
federal forms and publications: 

•	 Publication 523 (Selling Your Home)
•	 Publication 544 (Sales and Other Dispositions of 

Assets)
•	 Form 1040 (U.S. Individual Income Tax Return)
•	 Schedule D (Capital Gains and Losses)
•	 Form 4797 (Sales of Business Property)
•	 Form 8824 (Like-Kind Exchanges)
•	 Form 8949 (Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital 

Assets)

Limited Power of Attorney & Representative Information. 
Although not required, you may designate someone to 
represent you during the real estate withholding process. To 
do so, complete the Representative Information and Limited 
Power of Attorney sections on Form REW-5, page 2. The 
designated representative must be an individual, although 
a firm cannot be designated as your representative, an 
individual of a firm can be.

Appointing a Limited Power of Attorney designates a 
representative to receive confidential information and 
to discuss tax records related to your Form REW-5 filed 
with MRS. The designated representative may not act on 
your behalf, unless a completed Form 2848-ME (Power of 
Attorney) is provided. 

2024 Form REW-5 Specific Instructions, continued
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