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A payroll processor is an entity that performs the following services 
for one or more employers or non-wage filers: prepares and issues 
payroll checks, prepares and files state or federal income tax 
withholding reports or unemployment insurance contribution reports 
or collects, holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor or to 
Federal tax authorities income tax withholding or unemployment 
insurance contributions. 
Employers and non-wage filers may be referred to throughout 
these instructions as payers. 
By January 31st of each year, all payroll processing companies 
must obtain a license from the Maine Department of Professional 
and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection. 
For additional information and applications, contact the Bureau 
of Consumer Credit Protection at (207) 624-8527 or visit www.
credit.maine.gov (select “Who We Regulate,” then select “Payroll 
Processors”).
All payroll processors that prepare and issue payroll checks must 
provide proof of fidelity insurance equal to twice the highest gross 
weekly payroll processed by the business in the preceding year or 
$5,000,000, whichever is less. For fidelity insurance coverage, the 
processor may choose from a fidelity bond, employee dishonesty 
bond, third-party fidelity coverage or liability insurance that includes 
crime coverage. 

Use this booklet to report employee or payee income tax withholding.
Do not use this booklet to report nonresident member withholding for pass-through entities. For more information regarding withholding 
for nonresident members of pass-through entities, go to the Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) website at www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/
income-estate-tax (select Pass-through Entity Withholding (941P-ME) and Returns).
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Payroll processors who have authority to access, control, direct, 
transfer or disburse a client’s funds must also provide evidence of 
a surety bond. The bond must be in an amount equal to the greater 
of $50,000 or the total of all local, state and federal tax payments 
and unemployment contributions remitted by the payroll processor 
on behalf of employers in this state in the highest-volume three 
consecutive month period during the previous calendar year. The 
bond need not exceed $500,000. A letter of credit or participation 
in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund can be substituted 
for a surety bond. 
A payroll processor must provide certain information to each client 
at least every quarter. This information must include an accounting 
of funds received and disbursed, contact information for state and 
federal tax agencies to verify payments have been made. Note that 
bonding does not necessarily ensure that all claims will be covered 
if the payroll processor fails to comply with its responsibilities.
A payroll processor may not designate itself as the sole 
recipient of notices from state or federal authorities for 
nonpayment of taxes or unemployment contributions. A 
payroll processor shall ensure that such notices are provided 
directly to the affected employers or non-wage filers.
Failure to license or abide by all statutory requirements will subject 
a payroll processor to certain civil penalties.

Payroll Processors
DOs and DON’Ts for Clients of Payroll Processors in Maine:

Using the services of a payroll processor can be a convenient and economical way for an employer or non-wage filer to file and pay 
withholding taxes. However, employers or non-wage filers face certain risks associated with the use of a processor, including possible 
lack of compliance and the risk of loss of funds that are under the control of the processor. Ultimately, it is the employer or non-wage 
filer who bears the responsibility for meeting its payroll tax obligations. If you are an employer or non-wage filer that uses the 
services of a payroll processor, you should take the following precautions:
a	 Educate yourself to understand your filing requirements and the risks associated with using a payroll processor.
a	 Verify with the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection, (207) 624-8527 or www.credit.maine.gov, that the processor is licensed 

and has provided proof of fidelity insurance to protect payroll funds, including coverage for crimes such as fraud and theft. If 
the processor has access to your company’s tax funds, verify with the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection that the company 
has also posted a surety bond or letter of credit, or is enrolled in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund.

a	 Obtain verification from the payroll processor and its insurer that the processor’s liability insurance will remain in effect for a 
specified period of time.

a	 Read your contract with your processor carefully.
a	 Ensure that the agreement/contract and any power of attorney that your processor has with you specifically requires 

that all notices sent by the IRS and state tax agencies be sent directly to you.
a	 Never hesitate to contact tax authorities or the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection directly when you feel it necessary.
a	 Check with the appropriate tax agency periodically to ensure that returns and payments are filed in a timely manner.
a	 Insist on verification from your processor that any problem for which the employer has received a tax agency notice has been 

resolved.
a	 Never assume that returns have been filed and taxes paid solely because you have not received notice of any problems from 

the IRS or MRS.
a	 Never sign a tax return before it is completed. 
a	 Require that the processor provide copies of returns, not just summaries, at the time of filing.
a	 If you are using a payroll service, be sure you are assigned a direct contact person and telephone number.

http://www.credit.maine.gov
http://www.credit.maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax
http://www.credit.maine.gov
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Electronic Payment Required. MRS Rule 102 requires taxpayers 
with a combined annual tax liability for all taxes that is $10,000 
or more to pay electronically. Payroll processing companies must 
remit electronically for all clients, even if clients are not mandated 
to pay electronically. All semiweekly payments must be remitted 
electronically. MRS encourages voluntary participation by those not 
required to pay electronically. Taxpayers may request a waiver from 
this requirement for good cause. To obtain a waiver request form, 
see Contact Information below.

MRS accepts electronic payments by ACH credit and ACH debit 
methods. 

ACH Debit. A taxpayer may make payments using this method by 
authorizing MRS to electronically transfer tax payments from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account to the MRS deposit account. ACH debit 
payments can be made using the MTP.

ACH Credit. A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing their bank to withdraw the tax payment from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account and transfer it to the state’s account. 

Electronic Payment Options

MRS Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) 
generally requires all employers and non-wage payers 
to electronically file Maine income tax withholding 
returns and annual reconciliation of Maine income tax 

withholding. Employers/payers unable to meet the electronic filing 
requirement because of undue hardship may request a waiver from 
the State Tax Assessor. The request must be in writing and must 
include the name, address and withholding account number of the 
business, a detailed explanation of why filing electronically poses 
a significant hardship and the length of time for which you are 
requesting a waiver. Mail requests to: Maine Revenue Services, 
Withholding Unit, P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332-1060. To 
view Rule 104, go to www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/.

The Maine Tax Portal (“MTP”), available 
at www.revenue.maine.gov, replaces 
the Maine Employers Electronic Tax 
Reporting System (“MEETRS”), Maine 

Withholding I-File, and EZ-Pay as the primary electronic filing 
and payment system for Maine withholding returns and payments, 

Electronic Filing Required for All Employers/Payers
effective December 1, 2022. Use the MTP to create and manage 
your Maine withholding tax account, file tax returns (Forms 941ME 
and W-3ME) and pay Maine income tax withheld. Bulk filing is also 
available on the MTP for withholding tax for use by Payroll Service 
Providers and by other withholding tax bulk filers. Payroll Service 
Providers and other bulk filers must register for the MTP and obtain 
MTP usernames. 

Note: The current MRS withholding I-File and MEETRS bulk filing 
programs will temporarily remain available until fully phased out 
early in 2023. 

Quarterly return file specifications are available to view or download 
from the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue (select 
“Electronic Services”).

Experienced personnel can assist with registration and answer any 
questions you may have. Call (207) 626-8475, select option 4 
to speak with Taxpayer Assistance for income tax withholding. For 
more information, see www.maine.gov/revenue.

You must have previously established a relationship with a bank 
that provides this service (generally larger commercial banks) and 
you must have previously registered with the MRS Operations Unit 
as a credit method payer.

Contact Information. For more information about electronic 
payment requirements, an application, a waiver request form or 
a copy of Rule 102, visit www.maine.gov/revenue and select 
Electronic Services; send an email to efunds.transfer@maine.
gov; send a fax to (207) 287-6975; call (207) 624-9784; or write to: 
Taxpayer Registration, Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 1060, 
Augusta, ME 04332-1060.

Penalties. The penalty for insufficient funds applies to electronic 
funds transfers. The penalty is the greater of 1% of the payment 
amount or $20.

The penalty for any person required to pay by electronic funds 
transfer who fails to do so is liable for a penalty equal to the lesser 
of 5% of the tax due or $5,000.

Employee income and withholding statements must be furnished 
to payees on or before the date that the related federal statements 
must be furnished. If employment ends before December 31, you 
may furnish copies to the employee at any time after employment 
ends, but no later than January 31. If a terminated employee 
requests Form W-2 in writing, you must give the employee 

Forms W-2, 1099, and Other Informational Forms
completed copies within 30 days of the request or within 30 days 
of the final wage payment, whichever is later. A person/employer 
who furnishes a false or fraudulent statement or fails to furnish a 
statement to MRS and to payees commits a civil violation subject 
to a fine of $50 for each failure.

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/
https://revenue.maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue
http://www.maine.gov/revenue
http://www.maine.gov/revenue
mailto:efunds.transfer@maine.gov
mailto:efunds.transfer@maine.gov
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Maine businesses are required to identify, report, and remit 
unclaimed property to the Office of the State Treasurer in accordance 
with 33 M.R.S., Chapter 45. Information on how to report unclaimed 
property is available on the Maine State Treasurer’s website at 
www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov.

Unclaimed Property Reporting Requirements

Maine employers are required by law to report certain information 
to the Department of Health and Human Services (“DHHS”) within 
seven days of the date an employee is newly hired, rehired or 
terminated. Employers are also required to report the hiring of 
an independent contractor when reimbursement is anticipated to 
equal or exceed $2,500. 

For more information about New Hire Reporting, visit www.maine.
gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/
report-new-hires, email maine.newhire@maine.gov or call the 
DHHS Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery at (207) 
624-4100.

Employers must report the employee’s full name, address, 
social security number, date of birth, and date of hire, rehire, or 
termination, the most recent date that services for remuneration 
were first performed, as well as the employer’s name, address, 
telephone number, Maine Department of Labor Number and federal 
Employers Identification Number (“FEIN”). If reporting the hiring of 
an independent contractor, the report must also include the date a 

New Hire Reporting Requirements

Many employers that provide wage protection for employees who 
miss work due to illness or injury often do so through a third party, 
such as an insurance company. Sick pay paid by a third party that 
is considered wages for federal purposes is treated as wages for 
Maine purposes and subject to voluntary withholding as requested 
by the employee.

A third party that withholds Maine income tax from sick pay is 
required to remit payment and file withholding returns under the 
same rules that apply to employers. 

Reporting Third-Party Sick Pay
The third party must file returns under its own EIN and include 
all Maine income tax withheld for the quarter. The return must 
include, on Schedule 2, the amount withheld from each employee/
payee, even if the Wage Statement (Form W-2) reflecting the sick 
payments will be issued by the employer and not the third party.

Employers: Do not include on Form 941ME any Maine income 
tax withheld and remitted by a third party from sick pay 
payments. 

contract is executed (or, if no contract, the date payments equal or 
exceed $2,500), the total dollar amount of the contract (if any), and 
the expiration date of the contract (if any). 

The required New Hire information may be reported in the following 
ways, but note that submission via the web portal is preferred:

•	 New Hire Portal: https://portal.maine.gov/newhire
•	 Email your report to: maine.newhire@maine.gov
•	 FAX a New Hire Report Form to (207) 287-6882 (local call). 
•	 Obtain a New Hire Report Form by downloading it from the 

website at www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-
support-services/employers/report-new-hires, email maine.
newhire@maine.gov or call (207) 624-4100.

New Hire information provided by Maine employers has resulted in 
collections of approximately $70 million annually. This has made a 
great difference in the lives of many children who otherwise might 
not have received the financial support to which they are entitled. 

The report must be filed May 1st for life insurance property and 
gift cards/certificates and November 1st for all other property, such 
as bank accounts, uncashed checks, and securities. Visit www.
maineunclaimedproperty.gov or call (207) 624-7470 for more 
information. 

Fiscal Agent Requirements
Fiscal agents planning to act for their client employers within 
the meaning of 36 M.R.S. § 5250(5) must register with MRS by 
submitting the Application for Tax Registration  available at www.
maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms. Complete Sections 1 and 2 of 
the application, check the box in Section 2, line 9 for fiscal agents 
and follow all other relevant instructions for registration.

Upon receipt of the application, MRS will contact the fiscal agent to 
request additional information and required documents to complete 
the registration process. MRS will also inform the fiscal agent of 
special tax filing and payment requirements, as well as other legal 
and administrative responsibilities of a fiscal agent designated 
under 36 M.R.S. § 5250(5).

http://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/report-new-hires
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/report-new-hires
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/report-new-hires
mailto:maine.newhire@maine.gov
https://portal.maine.gov/newhire
mailto:maine.newhire@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/report-new-hires
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/programs-services/child-support-services/employers/report-new-hires
mailto:maine.newhire@maine.gov
mailto:maine.newhire@maine.gov
http://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov
http://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
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Form 941ME is used to report or correct total income tax withheld 
for the quarter and to reconcile semiweekly withholding payments 
made during the quarter.

A return must be filed for each quarter, even if there was no income 
tax withheld for that period. 

•	 Each page submitted must include the Maine Withholding 
Account Number clearly printed at or near the top of the page.

•	 Do not write notes on the withholding listing pages.

Returns must be completed and filed with MRS each quarter 
according to the following schedule: 

Quarter	 Period Covered	 Due Date

Quarter 1 ...........  01-01-23 to 03-31-23 ..........  05-01-23
Quarter 2 ...........  04-01-23 to 06-30-23 ..........  07-31-23
Quarter 3 ...........  07-01-23 to 09-30-23 ..........  10-31-23
Quarter 4 ...........  10-01-23 to 12-31-23 ..........  01-31-24

Except for payments required to be made on a semiweekly 
basis, withheld amounts must be remitted quarterly by the 
return due date.

Payers that reported Maine income tax withholding of $18,000 or 
more for the 12 months ending June 30, 2022 are required to make 
payments of income tax withholding on a semiweekly schedule. 
These payments are required to be paid electronically per MRS 
Rule 102.

If the requirement to pay income tax withholding on a semiweekly 
basis has been met, Schedule 1 must be completed. See 
instructions for Schedule 1 below.

If it is necessary to correct a withholding amount reported or 
made for a particular payee in a previous quarter in the current 
year, submit an amended Form 941ME for that period, check 
box B and provide an explanation of the change on line 4. 
Refunds may not be claimed on an amended return filed for 
any period in a prior year if the overpayment includes amounts 
actually withheld from payees. 

General Instructions
See instructions for line 4. Copies of original or corrected 
annual statements (e.g. Forms W-2, W-2C, 1099) that reflect 
the corrected amount of withholding for employees or payees 
listed on Schedule 2 must also be attached.

If an amended return is filed after filing the annual Form 
W-3ME, an amended Form W-3ME must also be filed.

Do not correct over-withheld Maine income tax from an employee 
or payee if the end of the year has passed. Instead, the employee/
payee should claim the withholding when filing their personal 
income tax return and receive the over-withheld portion directly 
from MRS in the form of an income tax refund.

When a business terminates, the requirement to withhold 
permanently ceases, or if there has been a change in the business 
name, address or telephone number, please report changes on 
Form 941BN-ME  or manage your account online at www.revenue.
maine.gov. Do not make changes on Form 941ME. 

When using a paid preparer or payroll processor, enter their FEIN 
and Maine payroll processor license number in the designated 
fields.

If the current FEIN changes, call the Central Registration Unit at 
(207) 624-9784.

Interest and Penalties. 

Beginning January 1, 2023, the interest rate is  7%  per annum, 
compounded monthly. 

The penalty for failure to pay the withholding tax on time is 1% per 
month up to a maximum of 25%. 

The penalty for failure to file the return on time is 10% of the tax 
liability or $25, whichever is greater. If the return is filed more than 
60 days after the taxpayer receives a formal demand that the return 
be filed, the penalty is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

https://revenue.maine.gov
https://revenue.maine.gov


Day Wages Paid	 Remittance Due
Wednesday,
Thursday, or Friday........................On or before the
	 following Wednesday
Saturday, Sunday,
Monday, Tuesday...........................On or before
	 the following Friday

Semiweekly Schedule

Complete Schedule 1 if the requirement to pay income tax 
withholding on a semiweekly basis has been met (see page 4). 
Complete one line of the schedule for each semiweekly payment 
remitted during the quarter.

Enter the return due date, quarter number, quarterly period covered 
beginning and ending dates, withholding account number, entity 
name, and address in the spaces provided.

Box A. Check this box only if the entity is a non-wage withholder 
and has received written permission to exclude Schedule 2. 
Checking this box requires the entity to file Forms 1099 directly with 
MRS for all payees in accordance with the MRS 1099/W-2G File 
Upload Specifications. This box must be checked every quarter 
for which the permission is effective.

Box B. Check this box if the return being filed is an amended return.

Box C. Check this box if this is the entity’s last return and you want 
MRS to close your Maine income tax withholding account. 

Line 1. Enter the total amount of Maine income tax withheld. This 
amount should agree with the total amounts entered on Schedule 
2, line 6 (all pages). For amended returns only: Enter the total 
amount from Schedule 2, line 7 (all pages).

Line 2a. Enter the total amount of semiweekly payments for the 
quarter, plus any payments remitted with the original return, or 
payments for this period made after the original return was filed.

Form 941ME - Specific Instructions

Schedule 1 - Reconciliation of Semiweekly Payments of Income Tax Withholding

Line 2b. If filing an amended return, enter the overpayment 
(refund) on the original return or the adjusted refund amount. Note: 
Refunds may not be claimed on an amended return filed for 
any period in a prior year if the overpayment includes amounts 
actually withheld from payees. 

Lines 3a and 3b. If line 1 equals line 2c, leave lines 3a and 3b 
blank.

3a: If line 2c is positive and line 1 is greater than line 2c, enter 
line 1 minus line 2c. Enclose the amount due with the return.
3b: If line 2c is greater than line 1, enter line 2c minus line 1 to 
determine the amount to be refunded.

Line 4. Check all boxes that apply. In the space provided, explain 
the adjustments being made. If more space is needed, attach an 
additional sheet. Attach documentation to support the changes in 
withholding amounts. Overpayments will not be refunded without 
sufficient explanation. 

Note: Pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 5276, if there is an overpayment 
of tax required to be deducted and withheld under § 5250, a 
refund will be made to the employer only to the extent that the 
overpayment was not deducted and withheld by the employer.

On Form 941ME, Schedule 1, enter the payroll date in the Date 
Wages or Non-wages Paid column and enter the amount of 
corresponding withholding paid to MRS for that payroll period in 
the Amount of Withholding Paid column.

Line 5. Add the subtotals for the payment amount columns and 
enter the total payment amount for this quarter. Then, enter the 
total payment amount on line 2a. The payment amount includes all 
payments made during the quarter. 
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Mission Statement
MRS’ mission is to fairly and efficiently administer the State’s tax laws with integrity and professionalism.

Maine Revenue Services Privacy Policy
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) maintains the highest standards in handling personally identifiable taxpayer information. 
Taxpayers have the right to know what information is kept on file about them, to have reasonable access to it, and to receive 
a copy of their file. Under penalty of law, employees and agents of MRS are prohibited from willfully inspecting information 
contained on any tax return for any purpose other than the conduct of official duties. In addition, MRS employees and agents 
are prohibited from disclosing tax information to anyone other than the taxpayer except in a limited number of very specific 
circumstances. No unassociated third parties may receive information pertaining to tax returns without written permission 
from the affected taxpayer except as allowed under 36 M.R.S. § 191. Communications that do not meet the definition of 
tax information are subject to the general confidentiality and public inspection provisions of Maine’s “Freedom of Access” 
laws. When confidential taxpayer information is stored by MRS, it is kept in a secure location where it is accessible only to 
authorized employees and agents of MRS. If you have any questions regarding the Privacy Policy, please contact MRS at 
(207) 626-8475.

Questions?
For questions on filing income tax withholding returns, call (207) 626-8475, select option 4 or email withholding.tax@maine.
gov. MRS telephone assistance is available Monday through Friday between 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m., excluding holidays.

See important tax law changes at www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules.

Stay current with the latest tax news and information by subscribing to the online Maine Tax Alert Newsletter. It’s free! Sign 
up at www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/maine-tax-alerts.

All filers reporting income tax withheld on Form 941ME, line 1 must 
complete Schedule 2, column A, column B, column C, and line 6. 
Use as many pages as necessary to report all employees/payees. 
Include backup withholding, pension withholding, non-wage 
payments withholding (unless Form 941ME, box A is checked), etc.

Amended returns: If this is an amended return, complete columns 
A, B, C, and D listing all employees/payees and related information. 
In column C, enter the withholding as originally reported or 
previously adjusted. Enter in column D the correct withholding 
amount for the period.  

Column A. Enter the last name, first name, and middle initial of 
each payee who received wages or non-wage payments during the 
quarter.

Column B. Enter the full 9-digit social security number of each 
payee who received wages or non-wage payments during the 
quarter. 

Column C. Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for each 
payee who received wages or non-wage payments during the 
quarter. For amended returns only: Enter the amount of income tax 
withheld as originally reported or previously adjusted. 

Schedule 2 - Income Tax Withholding Listing
Column D. For amended returns only: Enter the correct Maine 
income tax withheld for each payee. If there was no withholding for 
the quarter, enter zero ($0). 

Line 6. On each page, enter the total Maine income tax withheld for 
payees listed in column C on line 6. If no income tax was withheld, 
enter zero ($0).

Line 7. On each page, enter the total Maine income tax withheld for 
payees listed in column D on line 7. If no income tax was withheld, 
enter zero ($0).

Note: An amended return must also be filed to report corrections 
to employee or payee identification numbers. The following steps 
must be followed for each quarter being corrected:

Step 1: List the employee or payee under the incorrect ID 
number used on the original return. In column C, enter the 
original amount withheld. In column D, enter zero ($0).
Step 2: On a separate line, list the employee or payee under 
the correct ID number. Enter zero ($0) in column C and the 
correct withholding amount in column D.

mailto:withholding.tax@maine.gov
mailto:withholding.tax@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/maine-tax-alerts

