## **FORM INS-6**

1st Payment 2022 DUE MAY 2, 2022 NONADMITTED PREMIUMS TAX (SELF-PROCURED & SURPLUS LINES)



+1732001;

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS website at <u>www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules</u> for details. Pay your tax electronically and eliminate the necessity of filing Form INS-6.

MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR

*Surplus Lines Account Name		Account Number		
Address			is filing, its EIN, followed by the numbers 01 ual, enter SSN; if entity, enter EIN.)	
		at least 35% of the total tax	ayers, the first payment of estimated tax mu liability for either the preceding calendar ye	
Contact Name		the current calendar year.		
Telephone		Estimated Payment (from worksheet, line 3 below	<i>I</i> )	.00
Company/ Employer		<b>ENCLOSE PAYMENT</b> Make check payable to: Trea	asurer, State of Maine	
*Producer name or agency reporting on behalf of producer or self- procured person's/entity name. DO NOT ENTER LICENSE NUMBER.		Mail to: Maine Revenue Serv P.O. Box 1065 Augusta, ME 04332-		
		Physical location: Maine Rever	nue Services, 51 Commerce Drive, Augusta, ME	04330

### INSTRUCTIONS

### YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS, UNLESS:

- 1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or
- 2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed \$1,000

**WORKSHEET:** (Note: Self-Procured filers enter 3% [.03] of net premiums [actual gross premiums currently charged less return premiums] for this period on the estimated payment line above; do not complete the worksheet below.)

Line 1:	First Payment Tax Estimate. (35% of either 2021 tax paid or 2022 tax liability)	\$	.00
Line 2:	Carryover From Prior Year. From 2021 Form INS-7, line 9a. Do not enter more than line 1	\$	.00
Line 3:	Estimated Payment. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter result here and also on estimated payment line above	\$	.00

**Interest & Penalty.** For calendar year 2022, the interest rate is 5%, compounded monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return on time is the greater of \$25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is filed more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the State Tax Assessor, in which case the failure-to-file penalty is the greater of \$25 or 25% of the tax due. The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-7, Annual Return. File Form INS-7, Nonadmitted Premiums Tax, annual reconciliation/return by March 15, 2023 to reconcile your 2022 Self-Procured and Surplus Lines tax liability and estimated payments and to pay any additional tax due to avoid interest and penalty charges.

Statutory Reference. This return is made in compliance with 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

## **FORM INS-6**

NONADMITTED PREMIUMS TAX (SELF-PROCURED & SURPLUS LINES)

MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR



\*1732001

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS website at <u>www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules</u> for details. Pay your tax electronically and eliminate the necessity of filing Form INS-6.

*Surplus Lines Account Name		Account Number		
Address			s filing, its EIN, followed by the numbers 0 <sup>-</sup> al, enter SSN; if entity, enter EIN.)	1.
			yers, the second payment of estimated tax x liability for either the preceding calendar	
Contact Name		or the current calendar year.		
Telephone		Estimated Payment (from worksheet, line 3 below)		.00
Company/ Employer		<b>ENCLOSE PAYMENT</b> Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine		
*Producer name or agency reporting on behalf of producer or self- procured person's/entity name. DO NOT ENTER LICENSE NUMBER.		Mail to: Maine Revenue Services P.O. Box 1065 Augusta, ME 04332-1065		
		Physical location: Maine Revenu	ue Services, 51 Commerce Drive, Augusta, ME	04330

INSTRUCTIONS

### YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS, UNLESS:

- 1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or
- 2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed \$1,000

**WORKSHEET:** (Note: Self-Procured filers enter 3% [.03] of net premiums [actual gross premiums currently charged less return premiums] for this period on the estimated payment line above; do not complete the worksheet below.)

Line 1:	Second Payment Tax Estimate. (35% of either 2021 tax paid or 2022 tax liability)	\$ .0	)0
Line 2:	Carryover From Prior Year. From 2021 Form INS-7, line 9a. Do not enter more than line 1	\$ 	00
Line 3:	Estimated Payment. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter result here and also on estimated payment line above	\$ .0	)0

**Interest & Penalty.** For calendar year 2022, the interest rate is 5%, compounded monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return on time is the greater of \$25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is filed more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the State Tax Assessor, in which case the failure-to-file penalty is the greater of \$25 or 25% of the tax due. The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-7, Annual Return. File Form INS-7, Nonadmitted Premiums Tax, annual reconciliation/return by March 15, 2023 to reconcile your 2022 Self-Procured and Surplus Lines tax liability and estimated payments and to pay any additional tax due to avoid interest and penalty charges.

Statutory Reference. This return is made in compliance with 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.

# 2nd Payment 2022

DUE JUNE 27, 2022

# **FORM INS-6**

3rd Payment 2022 DUE OCTOBER 31, 2022

### MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR NONADMITTED PREMIUMS TAX (SELF-PROCURED & SURPLUS LINES)



1732001

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS website at <u>www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules</u> for details. Pay your tax electronically and eliminate the necessity of filing Form INS-6.

*Surplus Lines Account Name	Account Number	
Address	(Producer SSN, or if agency is filing, its EIN, followed b Self-Procured filers: if individual, enter SSN; if entity, en	
	Except for self-procured taxpayers, the third payment be at least 15% of the total tax liability for either the pro or the current calendar year.	
Contact Name		
Telephone	Estimated Payment (from worksheet, line 3 below)	.00
Company/ Employer	<b>ENCLOSE PAYMENT</b> Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine	
*Producer name or agency reporting on behalf of producer or self- procured person's/entity name. DO NOT ENTER LICENSE NUMBEF	Mail to: Maine Revenue Services P.O. Box 1065 R. Augusta, ME 04332-1065	
	Physical location: Maine Revenue Services, 51 Commerce I	Drive, Augusta, ME 04330

## INSTRUCTIONS

### YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS, UNLESS:

- 1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or
- 2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed \$1,000

**WORKSHEET:** (Note: Self-Procured filers enter 3% [.03] of net premiums [actual gross premiums currently charged less return premiums] for this period on the estimated payment line above; do not complete the worksheet below.)

Line 1: Third Payment Tax Estimate. (15% of either 2021 tax paid or 2022 tax liability) \$	.00
Line 2: Carryover From Prior Year. From 2021 Form INS-7, line 9a. Do not enter more than line 1	.00
Line 3: Estimated Payment. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter result here and also on estimated payment line above	.00

**Interest & Penalty.** For calendar year 2022, the interest rate is 5%, compounded monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return on time is the greater of \$25 or 10% of the tax due, unless the return is filed more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the State Tax Assessor, in which case the failure-to-file penalty is the greater of \$25 or 25% of the tax due. The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-7, Annual Return. File Form INS-7, Nonadmitted Premiums Tax, annual reconciliation/return by March 15, 2023 to reconcile your 2022 Self-Procured and Surplus Lines tax liability and estimated payments and to pay any additional tax due to avoid interest and penalty charges.

Statutory Reference. This return is made in compliance with 36 M.R.S. § 2521-A.