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MRS Mission Statement
MRS’ mission is to fairly and efficiently administer the State’s tax laws with integrity and professionalism. 

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements
Electronic Filing. MRS Rule 104.05 generally requires that Form 941P-ME be filed electronically. See page 3 for more information 
about filing the return.

Electronic Payments Required. Taxpayers with a combined annual tax liability for all Maine taxes that is $10,000 or more for the 
prior calendar year must remit all Maine tax payments electronically and must continue to remit taxes electronically in future years. 
Waivers from this requirement may be requested for good cause. See MRS Rule 102 at www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules 
and page 4 for details.

For questions on filing income tax withholding returns for pass-through entities electronically, call (207) 624-9670, select option 2 
or e-mail partner-scorp.tax@maine.gov.

Use this booklet to report nonresident member withholding for pass-through entities. For more information regarding withholding for 
nonresident members of pass-through entities, go to the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax.

Stay current with the latest tax news and information. 
Subscribe to the online Maine Tax Alert Newsletter. 

It’s free! Sign up at: 
www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/maine-tax-alerts

Due March 15, 2023
Form 941P-ME

Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”)
Maine Income Tax Withholding

for Pass-through Entities
2022

Use the Maine Tax Portal 
to File and Pay Electronically

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/rules
mailto:partner-scorp.tax@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/maine-tax-alerts
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The bond need not exceed $500,000. A letter of credit or participation 
in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund can be substituted 
for a surety bond.

A payroll processor must provide certain information to each client 
at least every quarter. This information must include an accounting 
of funds received and disbursed, contact information for state and 
federal tax agencies to verify payments have been made. Note that 
bonding does not necessarily ensure that all claims will be covered if 
the payroll processor fails to comply with its responsibilities.

A payroll processor may not designate itself as the sole recipient 
of notices from state or federal authorities for nonpayment of 
taxes or unemployment contributions. A payroll processor shall 
ensure that such notices are provided directly to the affected 
employers or non-wage filers.

Failure to register or abide by all statutory requirements will subject 
a payroll processor to certain civil penalties. Further information 
and applications may be obtained from the Bureau of Consumer 
Credit Protection. Call (207) 624-8527 or visit  the website at www.
credit.maine.gov (select  “Who We Regulate,” then select “Payroll 
Processors”).

A payroll processor is an entity that performs the following services 
for one or more employers or non-wage filers: prepares and issues 
payroll checks; prepares and files state income tax withholding 
reports or unemployment insurance contribution reports; or collects, 
holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor income tax withholding 
or unemployment insurance contributions. By January 31st of each 
year, all payroll processing companies must obtain a license from 
the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection (www.credit.maine.gov).

All payroll processors that prepare and issue payroll checks must 
provide proof of liability insurance equal to twice the highest 
weekly payroll processed by the business in the preceding year or 
$5,000,000, whichever is less. For liability insurance coverage, the 
processor may choose from a fidelity bond, employee dishonesty 
bond, third-party fidelity coverage or liability insurance that includes 
crime coverage.

Payroll processors who have authority to access, control, direct, 
transfer, or disburse a client’s funds must also provide evidence of 
a surety bond. The bond must be in an amount equal to the greater 
of $50,000 or the total of all local, state and federal tax payments 
and unemployment contributions remitted by the payroll processor 
on behalf of employers in this state in the highest-volume three 
consecutive month period during the previous calendar year.

Payroll Processors 
DOs and DON’Ts for Clients of Payroll Processors in Maine:

Using the services of a payroll processor can be a convenient and economical way for an employer or non-wage filer to file and 
pay withholding taxes. However, employers or non-wage filers face certain risks associated with the use of a processor, including 
possible lack of compliance and the risk of loss of funds that are under the control of the processor. Ultimately, it is the employer or 
non-wage filer who bears the responsibility for meeting its payroll tax obligations. If you are an employer or non-wage filer that 
uses the services of a payroll processor, you should take the following precautions:
a	 Educate yourself to understand your filing requirements and the risks associated with using a payroll processor.
a	 Verify with the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection, (207) 624-8527 or www.credit.maine.gov, that the processor is licensed 

and has provided proof of liability insurance to protect client funds, including coverage for crimes such as fraud and theft. If the 
processor has access to your company’s funds, verify with the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection that the company has 
also posted a surety bond or letter of credit, or is enrolled in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund.

a	 Obtain verification from the payroll processor and its insurer that the processor’s liability insurance will remain in effect for a 
specified period of time.

a	 Read your contract with your processor carefully.
a	 Ensure that the agreement/contract and any power of attorney that your processor has with you specifically requires 

that all notices sent by the IRS and State tax agencies be sent directly to you.
a	 Never hesitate to contact tax authorities or the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection directly when you feel it necessary.
a	 Check with the appropriate tax agency periodically to ensure that returns and payments are filed in a timely manner.
a	 Insist on verification from your processor that any problem for which the employer has received a tax agency notice has been 

resolved.
a	 Never assume that returns have been filed and taxes paid solely because you have not received notice of any problems from 

the IRS or MRS.
a	 Never sign a tax return before it is completed. 
a	 Require that the processor provide copies of returns, not just summaries, at the time of filing.
a	 If you are using a payroll service, be sure you are assigned a direct contact person and telephone number.

http://www.credit.maine.gov
http://www.credit.maine.gov
http://www.credit.maine.gov
http://www.credit.maine.gov
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Purpose of Form 941P-ME
Form 941P-ME must be filed by pass-through entities that have 
nonresident members. The return reports entity-level distributive 
income and apportionment information, pass-through entity 
withholding for nonresident members, and nonresident members 
exempt from pass-through entity withholding.

Who must file
A pass-through entity treated as a partnership or S corporation for 
federal tax purposes that transacts business in Maine or realizes 
Maine-source income and had, during the reporting period, at 
least one nonresident member (owner) must file Form 941P-ME. 
The entity is not required to file Form 941P-ME if all pass-through 
entity members were residents of Maine during the entire reporting 
period. Also, a financial institution organized as a partnership, 
LLC, or S corporation is not required to file Form 941P-ME (see 
instructions for Form 1120B-ME available at www.maine.gov/
revenue/tax-return-forms). In addition, for tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2022, a pass-through entity whose only activity in 
Maine is an out-of-state supplier of spirits sold to the Maine Bureau 
of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Options is not required to 
make payment of pass-through entity withholding or to file a pass-
through entity withholding return (see P.L. 2021, c. 756 for more 
information). A pass-through entity that is treated as a disregarded 
entity for federal tax purposes is also treated as a disregarded 
entity for Maine tax purposes.

When to file
The 2022 Form 941P-ME is due March 15, 2023. If an entity has 
an extension from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for filing its 
federal information return (Form 1065 or 1120-S), the due date for 
filing Form 941P-ME is automatically extended for an equivalent 
period of time, generally up to six months, but no longer than 
eight months. However, if the entity has any pass-through entity 
withholding due (see Form 941P-ME, line 3a), that amount must 
be paid by March 15, 2023. Use voucher Form 901ES-ME to make 
this payment.

Fiscal year pass-through entities
Entities that operate on a fiscal year basis must also file Form 
941P-ME by March 15, 2023. Complete Form 941P-ME on the 
basis of entity information for the fiscal year that ends during the 
calendar year for which the form is filed. For example, an entity with 
a fiscal year ending June 30, 2022 would complete the 2022 Form 
941P-ME by March 15, 2023 on the basis of the entity’s information 
for the fiscal year that ends June 30, 2022. See specific instructions 
below.

Interest and penalties
Beginning January 1, 2023, the interest rate is 7% per annum, 
compounded monthly. The penalty for failure to pay the withholding 
tax on time is 1% per month up to a maximum of 25%. The penalty 
for failure to file the return on time is 10% of the tax liability or $25, 
whichever is greater. If the return is filed more than 60 days after 
receipt of a formal demand that the return be filed, the penalty is the 
greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

Where to file
MRS Rule 104.05 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) 
generally requires that Form 941P-ME (Maine Pass-through Entity 
Withholding) be filed electronically. Maine utilizes the combined 
federal/state Modernized e-File (MeF) program to facilitate the 
Maine electronic filing requirement. However, entities (or their 
preparers) that are unable to file electronically because the 
software they use does not support the Maine MeF program for 
Form 941P-ME are granted an automatic waiver from the electronic 
filing requirement. If this is the case, a waiver request need not 
be submitted to MRS. However, all other entities that cannot file 
electronically because of undue hardship may request a waiver in 
writing from MRS. The request must include the name, address 
and ID number of the entity, and a detailed explanation of why filing 
electronically poses a significant hardship. Mail requests to: Maine 
Revenue Services, Corporate Tax Unit, P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, 
ME  04332-1060. To view Rule 104, see www.maine.gov/revenue 
(select “Laws & Rules”). 
Note: If the return is filed electronically, do NOT send a paper copy.
If filing on paper, mail the return to MRS as follows:
	 If enclosing a check	 If NOT enclosing a check
	 with the return:	 with the return:
	 Maine Revenue Services	 Maine Revenue Services
	 P. O. Box 1065	 P.O. Box 1064
	 Augusta, ME  04332-1065	 Augusta, ME  04332-1064
If enclosing a payment, make check payable to: Treasurer, State 
of Maine.

Attachments
•	 Annual Form 941P-ME must include Schedules 2P and 3P, if 

necessary. Do not attach copies of federal Form 1065 or Form 
1120-S. MRS may request additional information, however, as 
necessary.

•	 If the entity has an ownership interest in or received Maine 
source income reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule 
K-1 from another pass-through entity, attach a statement 
that includes the name and FEIN of the other pass-through 
entity(ies).

Amended returns
An amended return must be filed to correct a reporting error in the 
amount of withholding for the calendar year, such as to report and 
remit additional withholding due or to obtain a refund of excess 
income tax withheld and remitted to MRS.
Amended returns must be filed within 180 days of the final 
determination of the change, correction, or the filing of the federal 
amended return or Internal Revenue Agent report. 
Complete the amended Form 941P-ME, including Schedules 2P 
and 3P, with the corrected information. Include with the amended 
return an explanation of the adjustments made and copies of the 
original or corrected annual statements (Forms 1099ME) that 
reflect the correct amount of withholding for the members listed on 
Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P. 
For more information, see the specific instructions for the amended 
return box.

Form 941P-ME
Maine Pass-through Entity Withholding

General Information

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
http://www.maine.gov/revenue
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Who must withhold
A pass-through entity is generally required to withhold Maine 
income tax from the Maine-source distributive income of each 
nonresident member (partner, shareholder, LLC member, etc.) 
unless that member is exempt from the withholding requirement 
or the income has already been subject to Maine withholding. See 
below for more information about the exemptions. 
A pass-through entity is any entity (including an LLC) that is treated 
as a partnership or S corporation for federal income tax purposes. 
However, a pass-through entity that is a financial institution as 
defined in 36 M.R.S. § 5206-D(8) is not required to withhold from 
its members. 
Nonresident members include individual members that are not 
residents of Maine, business members, including C corporations 
and other pass-through entities, that have a commercial domicile 
outside of Maine, and members that are estates or trusts that 
are not residents of Maine pursuant to 36 M.R.S. §§ 5102(2) and 
5102(4). 
Note: The pass-through entity withholding requirement is separate 
from, and in addition to, the employee income tax withholding 
requirements.

How much must be withheld
Pass-through entities must withhold 7.15% of the estimated 
Maine-source distributive income of each nonresident member, 
except 8.93% must be withheld if the nonresident member is a C 
corporation. The Maine-source distributive income of a nonresident 
member is equal to the member’s share of the net income of the 
entity for the calendar year (or, for fiscal year filers, for the fiscal 
year ending during the calendar year) apportioned to Maine in 
accordance with 36 M.R.S., Chapter 821.
If the amount of Maine-source distributive income of a nonresident 
member is unknown, the entity must estimate.
For purposes of Maine pass-through entity withholding the net 
income of an entity for the calendar (or fiscal) year is calculated 
on an estimated basis. See the instructions for Form 941P-ME, 
Schedule 1P, line 5 for more information.
An entity that is required to withhold a total of more than $1,000 
from its members for the calendar year must, for each calendar 
quarter, make estimated payments equal to 25% of the lesser of 
the following:

(a)	 90% of the amount required to be withheld for the calendar 
year; or

(b)	 The amount required to have been withheld for the prior 
calendar year, except that this paragraph does not apply if 
the preceding year was less than 12 months, or if the pass-
through entity was not required to withhold, or if the entity 
did not file an annual return for the prior year.

The estimated payments may be made electronically (see below) 
or by check using Form 901ES-ME.  Payments are due for each 
calendar quarter on or before the following dates: April 30th, July 
31st, October 31st, and January 31st of the following year. If the 
due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date is the next 
business day. 

Form 941P-ME
Maine Pass-through Entity Withholding

General Information, continued

Electronic payments required. 
MRS Rule 102 requires taxpayers 
with a combined annual tax liability 
for all Maine taxes that is  $10,000 
or more to pay all Maine tax 

electronically. Electronic payments of Maine pass-through entity 
withholding may be remitted electronically using the Maine Tax 
Portal, or by ACH debit, or ACH credit. For more information, go to 
www.maine.gov/revenue/electronic-services.
The Maine Tax Portal is a web-based filing and payment system 
available on the Maine Revenue Services website. 
ACH debit payments may be made by including the taxpayer’s  
banking information with an electronically filed return. 
The ACH credit system, allows taxpayers to contact their bank 
and initiate a payment to MRS. ACH credit payments require pre-
registration with MRS. To obtain an ACH Credit application, a copy 
of Rule 102 - Electronic Funds Transfer, or for more information, go 
to www.maine.gov/revenue/ call (207) 624-5625 or write: EFT Unit, 
Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, ME  04332-
1060.
Any person required to pay electronically who fails to do so is 
subject to a penalty equal to the lesser of 5% of the tax due or 
$5,000. The penalty for insufficient funds also applies. 

Exemptions from withholding
Several exemptions (described below) are available to entities 
and their members that can reduce or eliminate the requirement 
to withhold. Pass-through entities with members that are pass-
through entities should see the “Tiered Entities” section below.
Automatic exemptions. Do not include on Form 941P-ME, 
Schedule 3P members who qualify for an automatic exemption. The 
following entities and members qualify for an automatic exemption 
from the pass-through entity withholding requirement:

(a)	 A nonresident member with less than $1,000 Maine-source 
member income for the current year;

(b)	 A nonresident member that is a tax-exempt entity under either 
Maine law or federal law (including IRAs, Keoghs, pension 
and profit-sharing plans, and other such organizations), 
unless the Maine-source member income of the tax-exempt 
entity is unrelated business income;

(c)	 A nonresident upper-tier pass-through entity that realizes 
income from a lower-tier entity and the lower-tier entity has 
already withheld from that income;

(d)	 A member of a publicly traded partnership that is treated as 
a partnership under Code section 7704;

(e)	 An entity that is a publicly traded partnership treated as a 
partnership under Code section 7704; and

(f)	 A member of an entity that is prohibited under federal or 
state law from making distributions to members. This 
exemption applies only for years in which distributions are 
prohibited under federal or state law. Contractual restrictions 
on distributions, such as loan covenants or organizational 
documents, do not qualify an entity for this exemption.

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/electronic-services/funds-transfer
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Compliant taxpayer exemption. A member that is generally 
subject to pass-through entity withholding may obtain an exemption 
as a compliant taxpayer. To obtain this exemption, the member 
must sign and submit to the entity a Nonresident Member Affidavit 
and Agreement to Comply with Maine Income Tax (Form 941AF-
ME) acknowledging the fact that they are subject to Maine income 
tax laws and will make estimated payments and file income tax 
returns for the tax year as required by law. The entity must keep 
all affidavits in its records, and must file Form 941P-ME for the 
relevant year and list the member on Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P. 
If a member fails to comply with Maine tax law, MRS will disqualify 
the member and notify the entity in writing of the disqualification and 
the pass-through entity will be required to withhold for that member 
in subsequent periods. If there is significant noncompliance among 
the members of an entity, all nonresident members of the entity may 
be disqualified. A nonresident member who has been previously 
disqualified by MRS is not eligible to participate in the compliant 
taxpayer exemption. 

Composite taxpayer exemption. A member may obtain an 
exemption from pass-through entity withholding by agreeing to 
participate in a composite income tax return. A composite return 
is a simplified group return filed by the entity. Only natural persons 
and certain trusts may be included in a composite return. For a 
full description of the composite return and the filing process, see 
MRS Rule 805 and Form 1040ME, Schedule 1040C-ME available 
at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms. Do not withhold from 
members who have agreed to participate in the annual composite 
filing.
The steps below must be followed in order for the nonresident 
member to qualify for the composite taxpayer exemption: 

(a)	 The entity must collect a Nonresident Member Agreement 
to Participate in a Composite Filing of Maine Income Tax 
(Form 941CF-ME) from each nonresident member electing 
to participate in the composite group filing. 

(b)	 The entity must make estimated tax payments on behalf of 
the composite filing group if the aggregate estimated Maine 
income tax liability is greater than $1,000 for the calendar 
year. For more information about estimated payments for 
composite groups, see the instructions and worksheets for 
Forms 1040ES-ME and 2210ME. 

(c)	 The entity must timely file a composite return on behalf of 
the composite filing group. Instructions for filing a composite 
return can  be found with Form 1040ME, Schedule 1040C-
ME at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms. 

(d)	 The entity must file Form 941P-ME and list the participating 
members on Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P.

If these requirements are not met, the withholding obligation is 
not waived and the entity will be liable for withholding payments 
and related interest and penalty charges.

Requested exemptions. Requested exemptions are for members 
that do not qualify for the compliant taxpayer, composite filing or 
automatic exemptions. If a pass-through entity believes, for reasons 
other than those identified above, that it should be exempt from 
the withholding requirement, or the entity would like to propose an 
alternate application of the withholding requirement, the entity may 

Form 941P-ME
Maine Pass-through Entity Withholding

General Information, continued
apply for an exemption. Requested exemptions require prior written 
authorization from MRS. To apply, submit a letter of explanation to 
Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9107, Augusta, ME 04332-9107 
as soon as possible prior to the withholding deadline. Generally, 
MRS will respond to exemption requests within 60 days. However, 
if the exemption request involves a complicated pass-through 
entity structure (i.e., tiered entities), more time may be required. If 
the request is approved, the entity must list the exempt members 
on Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P when it files Form 941P-ME for 
the relevant year. If the entity requesting an exemption does not 
receive a decision from MRS prior to the withholding deadline, the 
entity must submit the required withholding. The exemption will 
apply only to the calendar year for which it is requested.

Tiered entities
For purposes of Maine pass-through entity withholding, tiered 
entities exist when one pass-through entity is a member of another 
pass-through entity. The pass-through entity that is a member is the 
upper-tier entity, and the entity of which it is a member is the lower-
tier entity. A tiered pass-through entity arrangement may have more 
than two tiers; in such cases, a single entity can be both a lower-tier 
and an upper-tier entity. In this case, withholding is required from 
any Maine-source distributable income realized by the lower-tier 
entity that is passing through to an upper-tier entity member. This 
income is exempt from any additional withholding by upper-tier 
entity members (i.e., the entities in tiers 2, 3, 4, etc.). 
However, if an upper-tier entity realizes Maine-source income 
from a lower-tier entity that did not withhold, the upper-tier entity 
is required to withhold from the distributive share Maine-source 
income of its non-exempt members. 
If an upper-tier entity’s only Maine-source income is income 
from a lower-tier entity that has already paid Maine pass-through 
entity withholding, the upper-tier entity is not required to complete 
Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P as it has no withholding obligation. 
However, in this case, the upper-tier entity is still required to issue 
Forms 1099ME to its members to identify in Box 2 each member’s 
share of the tax withheld by the lower-tier entity, and the name and 
ID number of the lower-tier entity in Box 4.
Automatic exemptions for tiered entities. If an upper-tier entity 
has one or more members that are automatically exempt, it may 
notify the lower-tier entity in writing of the proportion of income that 
qualifies for the automatic exemption. The lower-tier entity must 
then treat only the remaining portion of the upper-tier’s share of 
income as being either subject to withholding or exempt under the 
compliant taxpayer exemption as described in the following section.
Compliant taxpayer exemption for tiered entities. A lower-tier 
entity is not required to withhold from an upper-tier pass-through 
entity member if that member provides to the lower-tier entity a 
Nonresident Member Affidavit and Agreement to Comply with 
Maine Income Tax (Form 941AF-ME). The lower-tier entity must 
list the exempt upper-tier entity on Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P. 
By filing Form 941AF-ME, the upper-tier entity member agrees 
to assume responsibility for the pass-through entity withholding 
requirement for its members with respect to the lower-tier entity 
income, including the application of any exemptions.

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms


Pass-through entity information. Enter the name, address and 
federal identification number of the entity.
Check the applicable box(es) to indicate the pass-through entity 
filed federal Form 1065 or 1120-S or if the address changed. 
Amended return. If filing an amended return, check the amended 
return box and complete all lines on page 1. When amending Form 
941P-ME, Schedule 2P, or Schedule 3P, enter the amount as 
originally reported or previously adjusted if there is no correction. 
The total of withheld amounts for members listed on amended 
Schedule 2P (Schedule 2P, line 12) must agree with the amount on 
amended Form 941P-ME, line 1. 
Line A. Check the box on line A and complete Form 941P-ME, 
Schedule 3P if any members of the entity were exempt from 
withholding as compliant taxpayers or composite filers. 
Line B. Enter the total number of members who were nonresidents 
of Maine during any part of the reporting period.
Line 1. Enter the amount of withholding due during the calendar 
year from Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P, line 12. This amount  
should agree with the aggregate of amounts reported in Box 1 
of Forms 1099ME. Do not include Real Estate Withholding or 
amounts withheld by a lower-tier entity and reported to the 
pass-through entity on Form 1099ME.
Line 2. Enter the total of estimated withholding payments paid 
for calendar year 2022. Do not include Real Estate Withholding 
payments reported on Forms REW-1-1040, REW-1-1041, or REW-
1-1120 or amounts paid by a lower-tier entity. See instructions for 
tiered entities on Form 1099ME.
Line 3a. If line 1 is greater than line 2, enter the amount of Maine 
income tax withholding due with this return. Payment must be 
made electronically if the pass-through entity’s annual Maine tax 
liability for all Maine taxes is $10,000 or more. Otherwise, payment 
may be made electronically or enclosed with the return.
Line 3b. If line 2 is greater than line 1, enter the amount of Maine 
income tax withholding overpaid. A refund will be issued to the 
pass-through entity.
Tiered entity. Check the box below line 3b if the pass-through 
entity has an ownership interest in or received Maine source income 
reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K-1 from another pass-
through entity. If checked, attach a statement that includes the 
name and FEIN of the other pass-through entity(ies).

Specific Instructions
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Form 1099ME
After the calendar year end and by January 31, the pass-through 
entity must supply a copy of Form 1099ME to each nonresident 
member for whom there was pass-through entity withholding for the 
calendar year. Follow the Form 1099ME instructions to complete 
the form. Form 1099ME is available at www.maine.gov/revenue/
tax-return-forms or by calling (207) 624-7894. 

Form 941P-ME
Maine Pass-through Entity Withholding

General Information, continued 
Do NOT attach copies of Forms 1099ME to Form 941P-ME. A 
person who furnishes a false or fraudulent Form 1099ME or fails 
to furnish a Form 1099ME to a recipient of income subject to 
withholding paid to that person commits a civil violation for which a 
fine of $50 for each failure may be imposed.
The recipient of Form 1099ME must attach a copy of the form to its 
Maine income tax return in order to receive credit for the amount 
withheld for the year.

Schedule 1P – Entity Apportionment
Lines 4a – 4c. Maine Apportionment Factor. The apportionment 
factor is a fraction, the numerator of which includes the total sales 
of the pass-through entity in Maine during the tax period, and the 
denominator of which includes the total sales of the pass-through 
entity everywhere in the U.S. during the tax period. Entities operating 
on a fiscal year basis must enter apportionment data for the fiscal 
year that ended during the calendar year. For additional guidance, 
see the instructions to Form 1120ME, Schedule A (apportionment 
of tax) and MRS Rule 801.
Line 4a. Enter the Maine sales of the pass-through entity. Enter 
zero if the entity had no Maine sales. If the entity filing this return 
received Maine-source income from other pass-through entities, 
enter on line 4a the combined Maine sales of the entity filing this 
return and its share of the Maine sales of the other pass-through 
entities. 
Line 4b. Enter the total U.S. sales of the pass-through entity. Enter 
zero if the entity had no U.S. sales. If the entity filing this return 
received Maine-source income from other pass-through entities, 
enter on line 4b the combined U.S. sales of the entity filing this 
return and its share of the U.S. sales of the other pass-through 
entities. 
Line 4c. Enter the Maine apportionment factor of the pass-through 
entity. Generally, the apportionment factor is calculated by dividing 
the entity’s Maine sales by its total U.S. sales (line 4a divided by 
line 4b). 
Line 5. Entity income or loss of the pass-through entity. Enter the 
entity income or loss for the entity’s tax year. If the entity operates 
on a fiscal year basis, enter the income or loss for the fiscal year 
ending during the calendar year. Entity income or loss is calculated 
as follows:

Partnerships: Federal Form 1065, Schedule K, lines 1-11 
less federal Form 1065, Schedule K, lines 12, 13c(2) and 13d 
(excluding items of itemized deductions reportable on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A). 
S Corporations: Federal Form 1120-S, Schedule K, lines 1-10 
less federal Form 1120-S, Schedule K, lines 11, 12c(2) and 12d 
(excluding items of itemized deductions reportable on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A). 

Third Party Designee. Complete this section to allow MRS to call 
or accept information from another person to discuss the entity’s 
2022 Maine pass-through entity withholding return. Choose any 
5-digit number which will be used to ensure MRS employees 
speak with only the designated individual. This authorization will 
automatically end on March 15, 2024.

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms
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Schedule 2P - Pass-through Entity Withholding Listing
Do not complete Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P if the entity had no 
pass-through entity withholding for the calendar year. Complete all 
information for each Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P page submitted. 
The amount of withholding for each member should equal the 
amount of withholding appearing in box 1 of Forms 1099ME. Do 
not include lower-tier entity withholding or real estate withholding.
Column 6. Enter each member’s last name, first name and middle 
initial. If a nonresident member is other than an individual, enter the 
business or entity name.
Column 7. Enter each member’s social security number or, if 
the nonresident member is other than an individual, the federal 
employer identification number.
Column 8. Check this box if the ID number entered in Column 7 is 
an employer identification number. 
Column 9. Enter each partner’s/shareholder’s distributive share 
percentage in the pass-through entity. If the entity’s tax year is 
other than the calendar year, enter each partner’s/shareholder’s 
distributive share percentage in the entity with respect to the 
entity’s tax year that ends during the calendar year. For example, 
if the entity’s tax year ends June 30, 2022, enter each partner’s/
shareholder’s distributive share percentage with respect to the 
entity’s tax year that ends June 30, 2022. If, for example, the 
distributive share percentage for a partner/shareholder is 25%, 
enter the amount as 25.00.
Column 10. Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for each 
member during the calendar year. If a member’s withholding is 
greater than $999,999.99, enter the withholding on two or more 
lines to add up to the total withholding for the member. Do not enter 
any member for which there was no pass-through entity withholding 
during the calendar year.
Line 11. Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for members 
listed on this page. If there was no pass-through entity withholding 
for the calendar year, enter zero.
Line 12. On the last Form 941P-ME, Schedule 2P page only, enter 
the total Maine income tax withheld for all Form 941P-ME, Schedule 
2P pages. If there was no pass-through entity withholding for the 
calendar year, enter zero. The amount entered on this line should 
equal the amount entered on Form 941P-ME, line 1 and should 
also equal the total of amounts entered in Box 1 of Forms 1099ME 
issued to nonresident members for the calendar year.

Form 941P-ME
Maine Pass-through Entity Withholding

Specific Instructions, continued

Schedule 3P - List of Exempt Members
Complete Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P if the pass-through entity 
had nonresident members that qualified for any one of the following 
pass-through entity withholding exemptions for the calendar year:

(a)	 Members exempt under the Compliant Taxpayer Exemption;
(b)	 Members exempt under the Composite Taxpayer Exemption; 

or
(c)	 Members exempt under a requested exemption that has 

been approved by MRS.
Do not include in the Form 941P-ME, Schedule 3P listing any 
member that qualified for an automatic exemption described 
earlier.
Column 13. Enter each member’s last name, first name and middle 
initial. If a nonresident member is other than an individual, enter the 
business or entity name.
Column 14. Enter each member’s social security number or, if 
the nonresident member is other than an individual, the federal 
employer identification number.
Column 15. Check this box if the ID number entered in Column 14 
is an employer identification number. 
Column 16. Enter each partner’s/shareholder’s distributive share 
percentage in the pass-through entity. If the entity’s tax year is 
other than the calendar year, enter each partner’s/shareholder’s 
distributive share percentage in the entity with respect to the 
entity’s tax year that ends during the calendar year. For example, 
if the entity’s tax year ends June 30, 2022, enter each partner’s/
shareholder’s distributive share percentage with respect to the 
entity’s tax year that ends June 30, 2022. If, for example, the 
distributive share percentage for a partner/shareholder is 25%, 
enter the amount as 25.00.
Column 17. Check the box for each member participating in a 
composite return for the tax year of the entity ending during the 
calendar year.


