Form 1120W-ME Maine Revenue Services
Corporate Income Tax
Estimated Tax Worksheet 2022
for Form 1120ES-ME

1. Adjusted federal taxable income (check one)
For2021: __, For 2022 (estimated): __| ..o 1.

2. a. Estimated Maine groSs tax ...........ccooiiiiiiiiiiiii s 2a.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, the Maine corporate tax rates are as follows:

If adjusted federal taxable income is:

Greater than: | But not over: The tax is:
$0 $350,000 3.5% of adjusted federal taxable income
$350,000 $1,050,000 $12,250 plus 7.93% of the excess over $350,000
$1,050,000 $3,500,000 $67,760 plus 8.33% of the excess over $1,050,000
$3,500,000 or more $271,845 plus 8.93% of the excess over $3,500,000

b. Estimated Maine corporate income tax (Line 2a multiplied by the estimated

Maine apportionMENt TACLOr) ........cooi ettt e e e e ee e e e 2b.
3. Overpayment from prior year elected for credit to estimated tax...........ccccooviiiiiiiiiiiie e, 3.
4. Balance of estimated Maine corporate income tax (line 2b minus liN€ 3).........ccccoviiiiiiiiiiiie e 4.

5. Computation and record of payments

A B Cc D E
Check or
Date Due* | Quarterly Estimate | 2021 Overpayment Balance Due Date Paid Transaction #
1. | 04/15/22 | $ $ $
2. 06/15/22 $ $ $
3. 09/15/22 $ $ $
4. 12/15/22 | $ $ $

* Calendar-year filers only. (Fiscal year corporations: use the date corresponding with the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th
months of the fiscal year.)

Note: If your estimated tax changes during the year, you may use the amended computation
worksheet below to determine the amended amounts to be submitted.

1. Amended estimated Maine corporate inCome tax..............cccvuviiiiiiiiiiiiiiece s 1.
2. Less:
a. Amount of overpayment from prior year credited to
this year’s estimated tax and applied to date............ooooiiii 2a.
b. Payments made for CUMMENT YEAI...........vviiii et e e et ae e 2b.
C. Total: Line 28 PIUS lINE 2D.....c.uiiiiieiee et 2c.
3. Unpaid balance: Line€ 1 MINUS IN@ 2C .......ooviiiiiiiiiiiei ettt a e e e e e e e e e e e s e s nenrnaenees 3.
4. Amount to be paid: Line 3 divided by number of remaining installments ............cccococeviiiiiiiiieiieee 4.

(Keep for your records)
See reverse side for instructions Revised: December 2021



Important Updates

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, the
corporate income tax law is simplified by establishing clearly
defined, objective nexus thresholds as a practical structure
for the current general "economic nexus" standard. These
so-called factor presence thresholds clarify the minimum
thresholds that, when exceeded by a corporation, subject
that corporation to the Maine corporate income tax. The
new thresholds create a safe harbor for corporations with
little activity within the State that nonetheless have nexus

under current law due to a small, but greater than de
minimis, physical presence in Maine. Under the new law,
a corporation has nexus with Maine if the corporation is
organized or commercially domiciled in Maine or if, in Maine,
any of the following thresholds are exceeded: $250,000 of
property, $250,000 in payroll, $500,000 in sales in Maine, or
25% of the corporation’s total property, payroll, or sales is in
Maine. For more information, see 36 M.R.S. §§ 5102(10),
5200-B, and 5211(14); L.D. 1216; P.L. 2021, c. 181, Pt. E.

General Instructions

1. Who must pay estimated tax:

Every corporation subject to taxation under 36 M.R.S., Part
8 (Income Taxes) must pay estimated tax. If the income
tax liability for the current tax year or for the prior tax year
reduced by any allowable credits is less than $1,000, the
requirement is waived. See 36 M.R.S. § 5228(2).

2. Amount of estimated tax to be paid:

The estimated tax must be no less than the smaller of the
following:

a. An amount equal to the preceding year’s tax liability,
if that preceding year was a taxable year of 12 months; or

b. An amount equal to 90% of the tax liability for the
current tax year.

Exception: Large corporations as defined by IRC § 6655(g)
(2)(A), are required to pay estimated taxes in accordance
with paragraph b, except as provided in 36 M.R.S. § 5228(5)
(C).

3. Due dates for estimated tax installments:

Installment payments are due on the 15th day of the 4th,
6th, 9th and 12th months following the beginning of the
corporation’s fiscal year. If the due date falls on a Saturday,

Sunday or legal holiday, substitute the next succeeding day
which is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday.

4. Amount of installments:

The amount of estimated tax due for the taxable year must
be paid in four equal installments unless:

a. The taxpayer establishes by adequate record the
actual distribution of tax liability and allowable credits during
the tax year; or

b. The taxpayer is a large corporation as defined by
IRC § 6655(g)(2)(A). Such large corporations may elect to
determine the first required installment for any taxable year
based on the preceding year’s state income tax liability, if
that preceding year was a taxable year of 12 months.

However, if the corporation so elects, the second required
installment for the taxable year must be no less than 90% of
the corporation’s income tax liability for the first half of the
current year, less the amount of the first installment for the
taxable year as determined under this provision.

5. Underpayment penalty:

A penalty equal to the interest rate on overdue taxes accrues
automatically on underpayments of the required installment
amount for the period of underpayment. The period of
underpayment is the period of time from the date the
installment is due until the underpayment is satisfied or until
the tax return to which the estimate installment applies is
due, whichever occurs earlier. Calculate the underpayment
penalty on Form 2220ME.

6. Short taxable year:

For a corporation having a tax year of less than 12 months,
the estimated tax must be paid in full by the 15th day of the
last month of the tax year. If you are filing a tax return for a
short tax year, identify your next filing period in the space
provided on the voucher.

Specific Instructions

Line 5

Column A Quarterly Estimate. Divide line 2b by 4 and enter the result in each row.

Column B 2021 Overpayment. Enter the amount from line 3 on row 1 of this column. If this amount is larger than the
amount on row 1 of column A, subtract the amount in column A from this amount. Enter the result in column B,
row 2. Repeat this procedure on each line until the amount of overpayment is used.

Column C Balance Due. Subtract column B, row 1 from column A, row 1 and enter the result here. This amount is the
balance due for the quarter. The total of all four rows in this column should equal the amount on line 4 (Balance
of estimated Maine corporate income tax).

Column D Date Paid. Enter the date the balance in column C is paid.

Column E

Check or Transaction #. Enter the check number or the bank transaction number for the quarterly payment made.



