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A payroll processor is an entity that performs the following services 
for one or more employers or non-wage fi lers: prepares and issues 
payroll checks, prepares and fi les state or federal income tax 
withholding reports or unemployment insurance contribution reports 
or collects, holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor or to 
Federal tax authorities income tax withholding or unemployment 
insurance contributions. 
Employers and non-wage fi lers may be referred to throughout 
these instructions as payers. 
By January 31st of each year, all payroll processing companies 
must obtain a license from the Maine Department of Professional 
and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection. 
For additional information and applications, contact the Bureau 
of Consumer Credit Protection at (207) 624-8527 or visit www.
credit.maine.gov (select “Who We Regulate”, then select Payroll 
Processors, then select “Licensing Information”).
All payroll processors must provide proof of fi delity insurance equal 
to twice the highest gross weekly payroll processed by the business 
in the preceding year or $5,000,000, whichever is less. For fi delity 
insurance coverage, the processor may choose from a fi delity 
bond, employee dishonesty bond, third-party fi delity coverage or 
liability insurance that includes crime coverage. 

Use this booklet to report employee or payee income tax withholding.
Do not use this booklet to report nonresident member withholding for pass-through entities. For more information regarding withholding 
for nonresident members of pass-through entities, go to the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/income-estate-tax (select 
Pass-through Entity Withholding (941P-ME) and Returns).

Quarterly Return of Maine Income Tax Withholding Instructions
2021 Maine Form 941ME

Payroll processors who have authority to access, control, direct, 
transfer or disburse a client’s funds must also provide evidence of 
a surety bond in an amount equal to the total of all local, state and 
federal tax payments and unemployment contributions remitted by 
the payroll processor on behalf of employers in this state in the three 
consecutive month period of highest volume during the previous 
calendar year or $50,000, whichever is greater. The bond need not 
exceed $500,000. A letter of credit or participation in the state’s Payroll 
Processor Recovery Fund can be substituted for a surety bond. A 
payroll processor must provide certain information to each client at 
least every quarter. Such information includes an accounting of funds 
received and disbursed, contact information for state and federal 
tax agencies to verify payments have been made, and notice that 
bonding does not necessarily ensure that all claims will be covered if 
the payroll processor fails to comply with its responsibilities.
A payroll processor may not designate itself as the sole 
recipient of notices from state or federal authorities for 
nonpayment of taxes or unemployment contributions. A 
payroll processor shall ensure that such notices are provided 
directly to the aff ected employers or non-wage fi lers.
Failure to license or abide by all statutory requirements will subject 
a payroll processor to certain civil penalties.

Payroll Processors
DOs and DON’Ts for Clients of Payroll Processors in Maine:

Using the services of a payroll processor can be a convenient and economical way for an employer or non-wage fi ler to fi le and pay 
withholding taxes. However, employers or non-wage fi lers face certain risks associated with the use of a processor, including possible 
lack of compliance and the risk of loss of funds that are under the control of the processor. Ultimately, it is the employer or non-wage 
fi ler who bears the responsibility for meeting its payroll tax obligations. If you are an employer or non-wage fi ler that uses the 
services of a payroll processor, you should take the following precautions:
 Educate yourself to understand your fi ling requirements and the risks associated with using a payroll processor.
 Verify with the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection, (207) 624-8527 or www.credit.maine.gov, that the processor is licensed 

and has provided proof of fi delity insurance to protect payroll funds, including coverage for crimes such as fraud and theft. If 
the processor has access to your company’s tax funds, verify with the state that the company has also posted a surety bond or 
letter of credit, or is enrolled in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund.

 Obtain verifi cation from the payroll processor and its insurer that the processor’s liability insurance will remain in eff ect for a 
specifi ed period of time.

 Read your contract with your processor carefully.
 Ensure that the agreement/contract and any power of attorney that your processor has with you specifi cally requires 

that all notices sent by the IRS and state tax agencies be sent directly to you.
 Never hesitate to contact tax authorities or the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection directly when you feel it necessary.
 Check with the appropriate tax agency periodically to ensure that returns and payments are fi led in a timely manner.
 Insist on verifi cation from your processor that any problem for which the employer has received a tax agency notice has been 

resolved.
 Never assume that returns have been fi led and taxes paid solely because you have not received notice of any problems from 

the IRS or MRS.
 Never sign a tax return before it is completed. 
 Require that the processor provide copies of returns, not just summaries, at the time of fi ling.
 If you are using a nationwide payroll service, be sure you are assigned a direct contact person and telephone number.
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Electronic Payment Required. MRS Rule 102 requires 
taxpayers with an annual total combined tax liability for 

all taxes of $10,000 or more to pay electronically. Payroll processing 
companies must remit electronically for all clients, even if clients are 
not mandated to pay electronically. All semiweekly payments must 
be remitted electronically. MRS encourages voluntary participation 
by those not required to pay electronically. Taxpayers may request 
a waiver from this requirement for good cause. To obtain a waiver 
request form, see contact information in the last paragraph below.

MRS accepts electronic payments by ACH credit and ACH debit 
methods. 

ACH Debit. A taxpayer may make payments using this method by 
authorizing MRS to electronically transfer tax payments from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account to the MRS deposit account. ACH debit 
payments can be made using the Maine Withholding I-fi le, EZ Pay, 
or the Maine Teledebit system.

Maine EZ Pay. Maine Revenue Services off ers a convenient web-
based payment option called Maine EZ Pay. You can access Maine 
EZ Pay on our website at portal.maine.gov/ezpay/welcome. Almost 
any type of tax payment can be made, including withholding taxes. 
To use Maine EZ Pay, simply register online at the time you want to 
make your fi rst payment. Once registered, the system will ask you to 
select the tax type you want to pay. If you are making a pre-payment 
or semiweekly payment of only the withholding tax portion, select 
“Withholding Semiweekly Payment.” If you are paying a tax balance 
due on your quarterly return, select “941ME Quarterly Withholding 
Only Return Payment.”  If you are paying a balance due from a bill 
or notice that you received from MRS, select “Bill Payment.” 

Electronic Payment Options

MRS Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) 
generally requires all employers and non-wage payers 

to electronically fi le Maine income tax withholding returns and 
annual reconciliation of Maine income tax withholding. Employers/
payers unable to meet the electronic fi ling requirement because 
of undue hardship may request a waiver from the State Tax 
Assessor. The request must be in writing and must include the 
name, address and withholding account number of the business, a 
detailed explanation of why fi ling electronically poses a signifi cant 
hardship and the length of time for which you are requesting a 
waiver. Mail requests to: Maine Revenue Services, Withholding 
Unit, P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, ME  04332-1060. To view Rule 
104, go to www.maine.gov/revenue. Select “Laws and Rules”.

The Maine Employers Electronic Tax Reporting System 
(MEETRS) allows employers and non-wage withholders to fi le 
multiple forms with a single login, including quarterly returns 

Electronic Filing Required for All Employers/Payers
and the annual reconciliation (Form W-3ME). Employers/
payers using software capable of producing a fi le that conforms 
to the Maine Revenue Services ICESA specifi cations may 
upload that fi le to MRS via the web. Quarterly return fi le 
specifi cations are available to view or download from the 
Maine Revenue Services website at www.maine.gov/revenue  
(select “Electronic Services” and scroll to “Payroll Taxes”).

The quarterly returns, amended returns, and Form W-3ME 
may also be fi led via the MRS Internet fi ling program (Maine 
Withholding I-fi le), which does not require any special software. 

Experienced personnel can assist with registration and answer 
any questions you may have. Call (207) 626-8475, select 
option 4 to speak with Taxpayer Assistance for income tax 
Withholding. For more information, see www.maine.gov/revenue.

ACH Teledebit. Payments by Teledebit are initiated through a 
telephone call to the MRS electronic withdrawal payment system 
(855-880-8168). This telephone payment system allows taxpayers 
to arrange for debit payments with eff ective dates up to 15 days 
in the future. Note: The ACH Teledebit method requires taxpayers 
to register with the Maine Revenue Services EFT Unit prior to 
transmitting funds.

ACH Credit. A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing their bank to withdraw the tax payment from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account and transfer it to the state’s account. 
You must have previously established a relationship with a bank 
that provides this service (generally larger commercial banks) and 
you must have previously registered with the MRS EFT Unit as a 
credit method payer.

For more information about electronic payment requirements, an 
application, a waiver request form or a copy of Rule 102, visit www.
maine.gov/revenue and select Electronic Services; send an email 
to efunds.transfer@maine.gov; send a fax to (207) 287-6975; call 
(207) 624-5625; or write to: EFT Unit, Maine Revenue Services, 
PO Box 1060, Augusta, ME  04332-1060.

Penalties: 
The penalty for insuffi  cient funds applies to electronic funds 
transfers. The penalty is the greater of 1% of the payment amount 
or $20.

The penalty for any person required to pay by electronic funds 
transfer who fails to do so is liable for a penalty equal to the lesser 
of 5% of the tax due or $5,000.
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Fiscal agents planning to act for their client employers within the 
meaning of 36 M.R.S. § 5250(5) will need to register with MRS 
by submitting the Registration Application available at www.maine.
gov/revenue/tax-return-forms. Complete Sections 1 and 2 of the 
application, check the box in Section 2, line 9 for fi scal agents and 
follow all other relevant instructions for registration.

Fiscal Agent Requirements

Maine businesses are required to identify, report, and remit 
unclaimed property to the Offi  ce of the State Treasurer in accordance 
with 33 M.R.S., Chapter 41. Information on how to report unclaimed 
property is available on the Maine State Treasurer’s website at 
www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov.

Unclaimed Property Reporting Requirements

Maine employers are required by law to report certain information 
to the Department of Health and Human Services (“DHHS”) within 
seven days of the date an employee is newly hired, rehired or 
terminated. Employers are also required to report the hiring of 
an independent contractor when reimbursement is anticipated to 
equal or exceed $2,500. 

For more information about New Hire Reporting, visit www.maine.
gov/dhhs/ofi /programs-services/child-support-services/employers  
or call the DHHS Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery 
at (207) 624-4100.

Employers must report the employee’s full name, address, 
social security number, date of birth, and date of hire, rehire, or 
termination, the most recent date that services for remuneration 
were fi rst performed, as well as the employer’s name, address, 
telephone number, Maine Department of Labor Number and federal 
Employers Identifi cation Number (“FEIN”). If reporting the hiring of 
an independent contractor, the report must also include the date a 
contract is executed (or, if no contract, the date payments equal or 
exceed $2,500), the total dollar amount of the contract (if any), and 
the expiration date of the contract (if any). 

New Hire Reporting Requirements

Many employers that provide wage protection for employees who 
miss work due to illness or injury often do so through a third party, 
such as an insurance company. Sick pay paid by a third party that 
is considered wages for federal purposes is treated as wages for 
Maine purposes and subject to voluntary withholding as requested 
by the employee.

A third party that withholds Maine income tax from sick pay is 
required to remit payment and fi le withholding returns under the 
same rules that apply to employers. 

Reporting Third-Party Sick Pay

Employee income and withholding statements must be furnished to 
payees on or before the date that the related federal statements must 
be furnished. If employment ends before December 31, you may 
furnish copies to the employee at any time after employment ends, 
but no later than January 31. If a terminated employee requests 

Forms W-2, 1099, and Other Informational Forms
Form W-2 in writing, you must give the employee completed copies 
within 30 days of the request or within 30 days of the fi nal wage 
payment, whichever is later. A person/employer who furnishes a 
false or fraudulent statement or fails to furnish a statement commits 
a civil violation subject to a fi ne of $50 for each failure.

The third party must fi le returns under its own EIN and include 
all Maine income tax withheld for the quarter. The return must 
include, on Schedule 2, the amount withheld from each employee/
payee, even if the Wage Statement (Form W-2) refl ecting the sick 
payments will be issued by the employer and not the third party.
Employers: Do not include on Form 941ME any Maine income 
tax withheld and remitted by a third party from sick  pay 
payments. 

The required New Hire information may be reported in the following 
ways, but note that submission via the web portal is preferred:

New Hire Portal: https://portal.maine.gov/newhire (Internet 
Explorer is the preferred browser.)
FAX a New Hire Report Form to (207) 287-6882 (local call). 
Obtain a New Hire Report Form by downloading it from the 
website at www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi /programs-services/child-
support-services/employers/report-new-hires or calling (207) 
624-4100.

Email your report to: Maine.NewHire@maine.gov

New Hire information provided by Maine employers has resulted in 
collections of approximately $70 million annually. This has made a 
great diff erence in the lives of many children who otherwise might 
not have received the fi nancial support to which they are entitled. 

The report must be fi led May 1st for life insurance property and 
gift cards/certifi cates and November 1st for all other property, 
such as bank accounts, uncashed checks, and securities. Visit 
maineunclaimedproperty.gov or call (207) 624-7470 for more 
information.

Upon receipt of the application, MRS will contact the fi scal agent to 
request additional information and required documents to complete 
the registration process. MRS will also inform the fi scal agent of 
special tax fi ling and payment requirements, as well as other legal 
and administrative responsibilities of a fi scal agent designated 
under 36 M.R.S. § 5250(5).
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Form 941ME is used to report or correct total income tax withheld 
for the quarter and to reconcile semiweekly withholding payments 
made during the quarter.

A return must be fi led for each quarter, even if there was no income 
tax withheld for that period. 

• Each page submitted must include the Maine Withholding 
Account Number clearly printed at or near the top of the page.

• Do not write notes on the withholding listing pages.

Returns must be completed and fi led with Maine Revenue 
Services each quarter according to the following schedule: 

Quarter Period Covered Due Date

Quarter 1 ...........  01-01-21 to 03-31-21  .........  04-30-21
Quarter 2 ...........  04-01-21 to 06-30-21  .........  08-02-21
Quarter 3 ...........  07-01-21 to 09-30-21  .........  11-01-21
Quarter 4 ...........  10-01-21 to 12-31-21  .........  01-31-22

Except for payments required to be made on a semiweekly 
basis, withheld amounts must be remitted quarterly by the 
return due date.

Payers that reported Maine income tax withholding of $18,000 or 
more for the 12 months ending June 30, 2020 are required to make 
payments of income tax withholding on a semiweekly schedule. 
These payments are required to be paid electronically per Maine 
Revenue Services Rule 102.

If the requirement to pay income tax withholding on a semiweekly 
basis has been met, Schedule 1 must be completed. See 
instructions for Schedule 1 below.

If it is necessary to correct a withholding amount reported 
or made for a particular payee in a previous quarter in the 
current year, submit an amended Form 941ME for that period, 
check box B and provide an explanation of the change on line 
4. If an amended return is fi led after the end of the year that 
requests a refund, it must be certifi ed that the overpayment 
does not include amounts actually withheld from payees. 

General Instructions

See instructions for line 4. Copies of original or corrected 
annual statements (e.g. Forms W-2, W-2C, 1099) that refl ect 
the corrected amount of withholding for employees or payees 
listed on Schedule 2 must also be attached.

If an amended return is fi led after fi ling the annual Form 
W-3ME, an amended Form W-3ME must also be fi led.

Do not correct over-withheld Maine income tax from an employee 
or payee if the end of the year has passed. Instead, the employee/
payee should claim the withholding when fi ling their personal 
income tax return and receive the over-withheld portion directly 
from Maine Revenue Services in the form of an income tax refund.

When a business terminates, the requirement to withhold 
permanently ceases, or if there has been a change in the business 
name, address or telephone number, please report changes on 
Form 941BN-ME. Do not make changes on Form 941ME. 

When using a paid preparer or payroll processor, enter their federal 
employer identifi cation number (“EIN”) and Maine payroll processor 
license number in the designated fi elds.

If the current Federal Employer Identifi cation Number changes, call 
the Central Registration Unit at (207) 624-9784.

Interest and Penalties. 

Beginning January 1, 2021, the interest rate is 5% per annum, 
compounded monthly. 

The penalty for failure to pay the withholding tax on time is 1% per 
month up to a maximum of 25%. 

The penalty for failure to fi le the return on time is 10% of the tax 
liability or $25, whichever is greater. If the return is fi led more than 
60 days after the taxpayer receives a formal demand that the return 
be fi led, the penalty is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.
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Day Wages Paid Remittance Due
Wednesday,
Thursday, or Friday .......................On or before the
 following Wednesday
Saturday, Sunday,
Monday, Tuesday ..........................On or before
 the following Friday

Semiweekly Schedule

Complete Schedule 1 if the requirement to pay income tax 
withholding on a semiweekly basis has been met. Complete one 
line of the schedule for each semiweekly payment remitted during 
the quarter.

Enter the quarter number, quarterly period covered beginning and 
ending dates, return due date, withholding account number, entity 
name, and address in the spaces provided.

Box A. Check this box only if the entity is a non-wage withholder 
and has received written permission to exclude Schedule 2. 
Checking this box requires the entity to fi le Forms 1099 directly 
with Maine Revenue Services for all payees in accordance with the 
Maine Revenue Services 1099/W-2G File Upload Specifi cations. 
This box must be checked every quarter for which the 
permission is eff ective.

Box B. Check this box if the return being fi led is an amended return.

Box C. Check this box if this is the entity’s last return and you want 
Maine Revenue Services (MRS) to close your Maine income tax 
withholding account. 

Line 1. Enter the total amount of Maine income tax withheld. This 
amount should agree with the total amounts entered on Schedule 2, 
line 6 (all pages). For amended returns only: Enter the total amount of 
Maine income tax withheld after corrections as follows: 

• If Schedule 2, line 6 is less than Schedule 2, line 7, add the 
diff erence between the two lines to line 1 as originally reported 
or previously adjusted. Enter the result on line 1.

• If Schedule 2, line 6 is greater than Schedule 2, line 7, subtract 
the diff erence between the two lines from line 1 as originally 
reported or previously adjusted. Enter the result on line 1.

Specifi c Instructions
Form 941ME

Schedule 1 - Reconciliation of Semiweekly Payments of Income Tax Withholding

Line 2a. Enter the total amount of semiweekly payments for the 
quarter, plus any payments remitted with the original return, or 
payments for this period made after the original return was fi led.

Line 2b. If fi ling an amended return, enter the overpayment (refund) 
on the original return or the adjusted refund amount.

Lines 3a and 3b. If line 1 equals line 2c, leave lines 3a and 3b 
blank.

3a: If line 2c is positive and line 1 is greater than line 2c, enter 
line 1 minus line 2c. Enclose the amount due with the return. 

3b: If line 2c is greater than line 1, enter line 2c minus line 1 to 
determine the amount to be refunded.

Line 4. Check all boxes that apply. In the space provided, explain 
the adjustments being made. If more space is needed, attach an 
additional sheet. Attach documentation to support the changes in 
withholding amounts. Overpayments will not be refunded without 
suffi  cient explanation. Note: Pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 5276, if 
there is an overpayment of tax required to be deducted and 
withheld under § 5250, a refund will be made to the employer 
only to the extent that the overpayment was not deducted and 
withheld by the employer.

On Form 941ME, Schedule 1, enter the payroll date in the Date 
Wages or Non-wages Paid column and enter the amount of 
corresponding withholding paid to Maine Revenue Services for that 
payroll period in the Amount of Withholding Paid column.

Line 5. Add the subtotals for the payment amount columns and 
enter the total payment amount for this quarter. Then, enter the 
total payment amount on line 2a. The payment amount includes all 
payments made during the quarter. 
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Mission Statement
The mission of Maine Revenue Services is to fairly and effi  ciently administer the tax laws of the State of Maine, while 
maintaining the highest degree of integrity and professionalism.

Maine Revenue Services Privacy Policy
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) maintains the highest standards in handling personally identifi able taxpayer information. 
Taxpayers have the right to know what information is kept on fi le about them, to have reasonable access to it, and to receive 
a copy of their fi le. Under penalty of law, employees and agents of MRS are prohibited from willfully inspecting information 
contained on any tax return for any purpose other than the conduct of offi  cial duties. In addition, MRS employees and agents 
are prohibited from disclosing tax information to anyone other than the taxpayer except in a limited number of very specifi c 
circumstances. No unassociated third parties may receive information pertaining to tax returns without written permission 
from the aff ected taxpayer except as allowed under 36 M.R.S. § 191. Communications that do not meet the defi nition of 
tax information are subject to the general confi dentiality and public inspection provisions of Maine’s “Freedom of Access” 
laws. When confi dential taxpayer  information is stored by MRS, it is kept in a secure location where it is accessible only to 
authorized employees and agents of MRS. If you have any questions regarding the Privacy Policy, please contact MRS at 
(207) 626-8475.

Questions?
For questions on fi ling income tax withholding returns, call (207) 626-8475, select option 4 or email withholding.tax@maine.
gov. Maine Revenue Services telephone assistance is available Monday through Friday between 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m., 
excluding holidays. 

See important tax law changes at www.maine.gov/revenue.

Stay current with the latest tax news and information by subscribing to the online Maine Tax Alert Newsletter. It’s free! Sign 
up at maine.gov/revenue/publications/maine-tax-alerts.

All fi lers reporting income tax withheld on Form 941ME, line 1 must 
complete Schedule 2, column A, column B, column C, and line 6. 
Use as many pages as necessary to report all employees/payees. 
Include backup withholding, pension withholding, non-wage 
payments withholding (unless Form 941ME, box A is checked), etc. 

Amended returns: If this is an amended return, complete 
columns A, B, C, and D listing only the employees/payees and 
related information for whom the withholding amount is being 
corrected. Do not list employees/payees who have no changes to 
their withholding. In column C, enter the withholding as originally 
reported or previously adjusted. Enter in column D the correct 
withholding amount for the period.

Column A. Enter the last name, fi rst name, and middle initial of each 
payee who received wages or non-wage payments during the quarter.

Column B. Enter the full 9-digit social security number of each payee 
who received wages or non-wage payments during the quarter. 

Column C. Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for each payee 
who received wages or non-wage payments during the quarter. 

Schedule 2 - Income Tax Withholding Listing

Column D. For amended returns only. Enter the corrected 
(amended) Maine income tax withheld for each payee for whom the 
withholding amount is being corrected. If there was no withholding 
for the quarter, enter zero ($0).

Line 6. On each page, enter the total Maine income tax withheld for 
payees listed in column C on line 6. If no income tax was withheld, 
enter zero ($0).

Line 7. On each page, enter the total Maine income tax withheld for 
payees listed in column D on line 7. If no income tax was withheld, 
enter zero ($0).

Note: An amended return must also be fi led to report corrections 
to employee or payee identifi cation numbers. The following steps 
must be followed for each quarter being corrected:

Step 1: List the employee or payee under the incorrect ID 
number used on the original return. In column C, enter the 
original amount withheld. In column D, enter zero ($0).

Step 2: On a separate line, list the employee or payee under 
the correct ID number. Enter zero ($0) in column C and the 
correct withholding amount in column D.




