2020 700-SOV - MAINE ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE

Use this form only if the federal gross estate plus Maine elective property plus taxable gifts made within one year of death does not exceed \$5.8 million. Otherwise, file Form 706ME.



1311000

| state of: | | | | |
|---|-------------------------------------|--|--|--|
| | | | | |
| First Name | M.I. | Last Name | | |
| Social Security Number (SSN) | | | Date of Death: | |
| Costal Costally Names (Sci.) | | | MM | DD YYYY |
| Residency Status: Resident | Nonresider | nt Sta | ate of Residency (abbreviate |) |
| If married/widow/widower, enter spouse's nam | ne: | | And SSN: | |
| Personal Representative or Person in Posse | ession of Dece | edent's Property: | | |
| | | | | |
| First Name | M.I. La | st Name | | |
| | | | | |
| SSN | Telepho | ne Number | Fax Num | nber |
| | | | | |
| Street Address | | | | |
| | | | | |
| City/Town | St | ate ZIP Code | Email Address | |
| Authorized Representative: If you would like t | | | | |
| Firm Name (or preparer, if self-employed |) | | | |
| Firm Name (or preparer, it seit-employed |) | | | |
| Contact Person: First Name | M.I. La | st Name | | |
| Contact Person Mailing Address | | | | |
| | _ | | | |
| City/Town | C+ | ate ZIP Code | Tolonhono N | lumbor |
| City/Town | 36 | ate ZIF Code | Telephone N | lullibei |
| | | | | |
| Email Address | Maine muses as | tota is OF O million on la | Fax Number | |
| I declare that the value of the Decedent's where held by the decedent that is included Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have Declaration of preparer is based on all information. | ded in the federa ve examined th | al gross estate plus Main his statement and to th | ne elective property and taxable ne best of my knowledge and | e gifts made within one year of death. |
| Signature of Personal Representative or | Person in Poss | session | | Date |
| orgination of Foroblia Representative of | . 5/55////// 058 | 30001011 | | Date |
| Circumsture of Dron- | | | Dronoron's CCN DTIN | Dete |
| Signature of Preparer | | | Preparer's SSN or PTIN | l Date |
| _ | | | | |
| Firm Name (or preparer if self-employed) | Prenare | er Address | | Preparer Telephone Number |

ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE FOR CERTAIN NONTAXABLE ESTATES

Mail this statement, along with a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien to: MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

PO BOX 1064

AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064

Maine tax law imposes an estate tax on the transfer of assets at the time of a person's death. While most estates are not taxable, Maine law places an automatic lien on the Maine property of all decedents. This statement is designed for certain nontaxable estates to request a release of the automatic lien.

You can use this statement for 2020 decedents if the value of the property in the federal gross estate plus taxable gifts made by the decedent within one year of death plus Maine elective property is \$5,800,000 or less, and if a federal estate tax return is not required. The gross estate includes all property everywhere held by the decedent. If the estate contains Maine qualified terminable interest property, Form 706ME must be filed. Attach a copy of this statement to a certificate of lien discharge to request a release of the lien on the decedent's property.* For more information on estate tax, including the Maine law and a guidance document titled Maine Estate Tax For Deaths Occurring After 2012, see the estate tax page on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/estate.

*Submit only one 700-SOV statement for the estate, even if completing and attaching multiple Certificates of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

A worksheet is included in the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document. This worksheet is designed to assist you in estimating the value of the decedent's assets. If the estimated value of the estate is close to the \$5.8 million taxable threshold, you may want to consider filing Form 706ME and/or seeking the advice of an estate tax professional. **Note:** The estate's value must include all property in the U.S., even property that is located outside Maine.

An estate may be audited either before or after a lien discharge has been issued. The personal representative and beneficiaries are jointly liable for any tax due if MRS determines that a Maine estate tax liability exists.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Residency status. Check the box that corresponds to the residency of the decedent on the date of death. This may be different than the physical location of the decedent. If the decedent was not a resident of Maine, enter the state of residence.

Marital status. If the decedent was married or a widow/widower at the time of death, enter the name and social security number of the decedent's spouse.

Personal representative or person in possession of decedent's property. Enter in this section the information for the appointed personal representative of the decedent. A personal representative may also be called an executor. If more than one personal representative has been appointed, enter the information for one representative and attach a list containing information for all other representatives. If a personal representative has not been appointed, enter the information for one person on this statement and attach a list containing information for all other persons in possession of property of the decedent.

Authorized representative. Complete this section only if you elect to have someone represent the estate for you. Generally, this authorized representative would be a tax professional who you hire and would like to communicate with MRS on your behalf. This section is optional. If you do not want to name an authorized representative, skip this section and complete the signature area.