2018 700-SOV - MAINE ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE Use only if the estate is not required to file a federal estate tax return and the estate is a nontaxable estate requesting a discharge of an estate tax lien on Maine property. Otherwise, file Form 706ME.



Estate of:									
First Name	M.I.	Last N	ame						
Social Security Number (SSN)				Date o	of Death:				
						MM	DD		YYYY
Residency Status: Resident	Nonres	ident	Sta	te of Resid	dency (abbr	eviate)			
If married/widow/widower, enter spouse's name:					And SSN:				
Personal Representative or Person in Posses	sion of D	Decedent's I	Property:						
First Name	M.I.	. Last Name							
SSN	Tele	phone Num	ber		Fa	x Number			
Street Address									
City/Town		State	ZIP Code		Email A	ddress			
Authorization is granted to the representative listed below representative before Maine Revenue Services.	v to receive	e copies of con	fidential tax inforr	mation relate	d to this state	ment under 36	6 M.R.S.	§ 191 and	to act as the estate's
Firm Name (or preparer, if self-employed)									
Contact Person: First Name	M.I.	Last Name							
Contact Person Mailing Address									
City/Town		State	ZIP Code		Teleph	none Numb	er		
Email Address					Fax N	umber			
I declare that the value of the Decedent's M	laine gros	s estate is \$5	.6 million or les	s. I unders			s estate	e includes	all property every
where held by the decedent that is included in the federal gross estate plus Maine elective property and taxable gifts made within one year of death. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this statement and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.									

Signature of Personal Representative or Personal	Date		
Signature of Preparer		Preparer's SSN or PTIN	Date
Firm Name (or preparer if self-employed)	Preparer Address		Preparer Telephone Number

ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE FOR CERTAIN NONTAXABLE ESTATES

Mail this statement, along with a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien to: MAINE REVE

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES PO BOX 1064 AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064

Maine tax law imposes an estate tax on the transfer of assets at the time of a person's death. While most estates are not taxable, Maine law places an automatic lien on the Maine property of all decedents. This statement is designed for certain nontaxable estates to request a release of the automatic lien.

You can use this statement for 2018 decedents if the value of the property in the federal gross estate plus taxable gifts made by the decedent within one year of death plus Maine elective property is \$5,600,000 or less, and if a federal estate tax return is not required. The gross estate includes all property everywhere held by the decedent. If the estate contains Maine qualified terminable interest property, Form 706ME must be filed. Attach a copy of this statement to a certificate of lien discharge to request a release of the lien on the decedent's property.* For more information, including the Maine estate tax law and the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document, see the estate tax page on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/ revenue/incomeestate/estate.

*Submit only one 700-SOV statement for the estate, even if completing and attaching multiple Certificates of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

A worksheet is included in the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document. This worksheet is designed to assist you in estimating the value of the decedent's assets. If the estimated value of the estate is close to the \$5.6 million taxable threshold, you may want to consider filing Form 706ME and/or seeking the advice of an estate tax professional. **Note:** The estate's value must include all property in the U.S., even property that is located outside Maine.

An estate may be audited either before or after a lien discharge has been issued. The personal representative and beneficiaries are jointly liable for any tax due if MRS determines that a Maine estate tax liability exists.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Residency status. Check the box that corresponds to the residency of the decedent on the date of death. This may be different than the physical location of the decedent. If the decedent was not a resident of Maine, enter the state of residence.

Marital status. If the decedent was married or a widow/widower at the time of death, enter the name and social security number of the decedent's spouse.

Personal representative or person in possession of decedent's property. Enter in this section the information for the appointed personal representative of the decedent. A personal representative may also be called an executor. If more than one personal representative has been appointed, enter the information for one representative and attach a list containing information for all other representatives. If a personal representative has not been appointed, enter the information for all other representation for one person on this statement and attach a list containing information for all other persons in possession of property of the decedent.

Authorized representative. Complete this section only if you elect to have someone represent the estate for you. Generally, this authorized representative would be a tax professional who you hire and would like to communicate with MRS on your behalf. This section is optional. If you do not wish to name an authorized representative, skip this section and complete the signature area.