[ ] FORM INS-5 MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
FIRE INVESTIGATION AND PREVENTION TAX 99

20 14 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION / RETURN *1231100
MRS Fire Tax Account Number NAIC ID Number Period Covered Due Date
January 1 - December 31, 2014 March 16, 2015
CHECK ALL THAT APPLY:

Busi N Line 1 iti
usiness Name (Line 1) Initial Return

Amended return
Business Name (Line 2)

Final return

Street Address and/or Post Office Box Enter closing date:

MM DD YYYY
Change of name/address
City State ZIP Code
1. Amount of premiums allocated to fire (See instructions)
A B © D E F
Line of Business Gross Premiums Dividends Paid Total Net Percent of Premiums Amount of Premiums
(Less Return Premiums or Credited on Taxable Allocated to Fire Allocated to Fire
and Premiums on Direct Business Premiums (column D x column E)

Policies not Taken)

18, Fire oo $ $ $ 100.00% .00
1b. Inland Marine ......... $ $ $ 21.24% .00
1c. Aircraft Physical

Damage.................. $ $ $ Actual* .00
Auto Physical
Damage:
1d. Private Passenger..$ $ $ 1.91% .00
le. Commercial............ $ $ $ 6.93% .00
Multiple Peril:
1f. Farmowner’s

Multiple Peril........... $ $ $ 47.56% .00
1g. Homeowners

Multiple Peril........... $ $ $ 39.99% .00
1h. Commercial Multiple

Peril (non-liability)...$ $ $ 44.59% .00
1i. All Other Fire

Related.................. $ $ $ 100.00% .00
2. Total amount of premiums allocated to fire (Add lines 1a through Li) ........ccccoeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeee s 2. .00
3. Tax liability (line 2 MUItiPlied DY 1.4% (0.014)) .......v.oveeveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesseeeeeeseesseseeesseeeeeeeeseeeeeeeseeeeseeeseeseeeses 3. .00
4. ESHUMALEA PAYMENTS. ...ttt ettt ettt et e et e e et e b e e st e sae e e st e s he e e st e 1as e e seeeab e e s st aab e e seeaabeeenseanbeeennenns 4. .00
5. Balance due (If line 3 is greater than line 4, line 3 MINUS lIN€ 4).........cccoiiiiiiiiiiiiee e 5, .00
6. Overpayment to be refunded (If line 4 is greater than line 3, line 4 MiNUS liN€ 3) ........coooiiiieiiiiiiieiiieis 6. .00

- * Line 1c only: Enter in column F the premiums actually received on fire risks located in Maine. Rev 07/14 -



il -

*1231101*

-
2014 FORM INS-5, Page 2

MRS Fire Tax Account Number:

AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE

This return is made in compliance with the provisions of 25 M.R.S. § 2399. The amount of all gross direct premiums or assessments for fire risks
written by this insurer on risks located in, or received from risks resident of, the State of Maine during the year ending December 31, 2014 has been
reported. Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer
has any knowledge.

Date: Signature: Telephone #:
Must be signed by the President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief Accounting Officer or Attorney-in-fact of a reciprocal insurer.
Preparer’s
Date: Signature: ID Number:

INSTRUCTIONS

Premium amounts to be reported: A premium is an amount paid
or payable for an insurance policy, including all fees (except provider
fees paid for service contracts), such as membership, policy, survey,
inspection, service and finance fees, that are assessed by and paid to
an insurance company in consideration for an insurance policy. The
instructions below provide guidance to assist in the preparation of this
return. However, accurate and full reporting of premium amounts,
including any applicable fees, is the responsibility of each taxpayer.

Note: The fire investigation and prevention tax applies in addition to
the insurance premiums tax. A fraternal benefit society, order or
lodge, as defined in 24-AM.R.S. section 4101(1) is exempt from
Maine insurance premiums taxes.

Line 1. Amount of Premiums Allocated to Fire. Calculate the total
amount of premiums allocated to fire insurance for each line of business
identified in column A.

Column B Gross Premiums. Enter the gross direct premiums
written, less return premiums and premiums on policies not taken.
Generally, gross direct premiums are reported on the Exhibit of
Premiums and Losses (Maine State Page) of the NAIC Annual
Statement, column 1 and related finance and service charges are
reported on Schedule T, column 8 (Finance and Service Charges
not Included in Premiums).

Column C Dividends Paid or Credited on Direct Business.
Enter dividends paid or credited to policyholders on direct
premiums. Amounts entered must agree with column 3 of the
Maine portion of the NAIC annual statement.

Column D Total Net Taxable Premiums. Subtract the column C
amount from the column B amount and enter the result.

Column E Percent of Premiums Allocated to Fire. The

If enclosing a check, make check payable to:

Treasurer, State of Maine
g-. and MAIL WITH RETURN TO:
] MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
. P.O. BOX 1065
AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1065

percentages listed represent the ratio of fire losses to total losses
based on historical data. An insurer may not deviate from these
percentages.

Column F Amount of Premiums Allocated to Fire. Multiply the
column D amount by the column E percentage and enter the result.

Line 2. Total Premium. Add column F amounts for each line of
business (line 1a through line 1i) and enter the sum on this line (Total
amount of premiums allocated to fire).

Line 3. Tax Liability. Every fire insurance company or association
that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is
required by statute to pay 1.4% of the net taxable premiums for fire
risks written in Maine.

Line 4. Estimated Payments. Enter the total amount of monthly
estimated payments already made in 2014.

Line 5. Balance Due. Payment is due with this return. Late
payments are subject to interest and penalties.

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required
to remit tax payments electronically. See MRS Rule 102 on the
MRS web site (select Laws & Rules) for details.

For calendar year 2015, the interest rate is 7%, compounded
monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return is the greater of $25
or 10% of the tax due. If the return is not filed within 60 days after
the receipt of a demand notice to file, the penalty is the greater

of $25 or 25% of the tax due. The penalty for failure to pay a tax
liability on time is 1%, up to a maximum of 25%, of the outstanding
liability.

Line 6. Overpayment. All overpayments will be refunded.

If not enclosing a check,
MAIL RETURN TO:

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
P.O. BOX 1064
AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064



