2	0	1	3

## MAINE ESTATE TAX RETURN FORM 706ME



FOR ESTATES OF DECEDENTS DYING DURING CALENDAR YEAR 2013

This return is due nine months after the date of death. Check here if this is an amended return Estate of: First Name M.I. Last Name Social Security Number (SSN) Date of Death (MM DD YYYY) Domicile at Date of Death: Street Address STEP City/Town State ZIP Code County Personal Representative: First Name M.I Last Name Social Security Number (SSN) Telephone Number Fax Number Mailing Address City/Town ZIP Code State Email Address (optional) Authorization is granted to the representative listed below (estate representative) to receive copies of confidential tax information under 36 M.R.S.A. § 191 and to act as the estate's representative before Maine Revenue Services. Firm Name Estate Representative : First Name M.I. Last Name 2 STEP Mailing Address City/Town State ZIP Code Telephone Number Email Address (optional) Fax Number **STEP 3** Decedent's Maine Residency Status (check one) Resident Nonresident STEP 4 - TAX COMPUTATION NOTE: The personal representative must file Form 706ME if line 11 below exceeds \$2,000,000 or if there is an amount reportable on line 9. Federal Total Gross Estate Taxable by Maine 1. Federal total gross estate (federal Form 706, Part 2, line 1) ..... 1. .00 Value of federal total gross estate taxable by Maine ...... 2. .00 2.

## 2013 Form 706ME, Page 2

Decedent SSN:

## Taxable Gifts

- 3. Reserved 4. Value of gifts included in federal Form 706, Part 2, line 4 made within one year of death .....4. .00 Value of gifts included in line 4 taxable by Maine ......5. .00 5. 6. Reserved **Marital Adjustments** .00 7. Gross value of Maine elective property ......7. .00 8. Value of property included in line 7 taxable by Maine ......8. 9. Maine qualified terminable interest property. Must not exceed .00 \$3,250,000 for 2013 decedents ......9. Maine Taxable Estate .00 11. Adjusted federal gross estate (add lines 1, 4 and 7) ...... 11. .00 12. Federal tentative taxable estate .00 13. Reserved 14. Maine taxable estate (line 4 plus line 7 minus line 9 plus line 12) ......14. .00 Maine Estate Tax .00 15. Gross tax (from Table A, page 5) .....15. 16. Percentage of property taxable by Maine (line 10 divided by line 11; round to 6 decimal points) ......16. .00 18. Reserved 19. Reserved Amount Due or Refund 20. Payments: Estimated payments, extension payments, amount paid with original return (amended returns only) ......20. .00 .00 .00



\*1310001

# **2013** Form 706ME, Page 3



Decedent SSN:

STEP 5	Filing Order 1. Form 706ME 2. Discharge of Estate Tax Lien 3. Federal Form 706 (actual or pro for 4. Schedules for federal Form 706	rma)	<ol> <li>Death Certificate</li> <li>Decedent's 2012 federa</li> <li>Other supporting docum</li> </ol>			rms and schedu	ules.	
Ма	rital Status of Decedent:	Wid	ried with surviving spo ow / Widower gle / Divorced	use	Spouse's SSN:			
	er penalties of perjury, I declare that I have best of my knowledge and belief they are							ίΟ
Sig	nature of personal representative	Э					Date	
Sig	nature of preparer other than per	rsonal	representative	Prepare	er's SSN or PTIN		Date	
Firr	n's name (or yours if self-employ	/ed)	Preparer's address				Preparer's phone numbe	er
	and MA P.C	MAIL V MAIL V INE REV D. BOX 1	eck, make check payable to: r <u>, State of Maine</u> VITH RETURN TO: /ENUE SERVICES 065 ME 04332-1065		If not enclosing MAIL RETURI MAINE REVEN P.O. BOX 106 AUGUSTA, ME	NTO: NUE SERVICES	Rev. 6/*	13

## INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAINE ESTATE TAX RETURN (36 M.R.S.A. §§ 4101 - 4118)

For FAQs and other estate tax information, see www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/estate.

### New for 2013:

The Maine estate tax has undergone significant changes beginning with 2013 estates. The Maine exclusion amount has doubled from \$1 million to \$2 million. The tax rates have collapsed from twenty rates to three (8%, 10% and 12%). The tax is applied to the Maine taxable estate in excess of the \$2 million exclusion amount. For more information see 36 M.R.S.A., chapter 577, the guidance document Maine Estate Tax for Deaths Occurring after 2012 and MRS Rule 603. All items are available at *www. maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/estate.* 

**Certificates of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien** for real property and for tangible personal property may be submitted by email to Maine Revenue Services ("MRS") at: *estatetax* @maine.gov. The certificates may be formatted as either a pdf document or a Microsoft Word file. An emailed certificate is acceptable only if sent from one of the email addresses included on page one of the return (personal representative or estate representative). An emailed certificate must also contain all of the information included on the official form. While a certificate may be submitted by mail or email, Form 706ME must be sent by mail.

- Step 1 Complete this section with information about the decedent and the personal representative. The personal representative, or executor, is the individual legally responsible for administration of the estate. If a personal representative has not been appointed, every person in possession of property of the decedent is considered a personal representative and must file a return or be listed on the single return that is filed for the estate. If the estate has more than one personal representative and a single return is filed, fill in the information for one personal representative and attach a schedule listing all other personal representatives. A personal representative, including a nonresident, may have to file a Maine income tax return for any estate fees or other income earned in Maine. For more information, see Maine Rule 806 (Nonresident Individual Income Tax) and the instructions for Form 1040ME, Schedule NR at www.maine.gov/revenue.
- **Step 2** This step must be completed if you choose to have copies of confidential tax information sent to anyone other than the personal representative, such as the preparer of Form 706ME. If a paid preparer completed the return, that preparer must also sign the return on page 3. The person in this section is referred to as the estate representative.
- Step 3 Check the appropriate box for the decedent's residency status. For additional information concerning residency status, see www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/guidance and select "Guidance to Residency Status."
- Step 4 Tax Computation. Complete this section based on the 2013 actual or pro forma federal Form 706. A completed Form 706ME is required if: 1) a federal tax return is required; 2) the federal gross estate plus taxable gifts made within one year of death plus Maine elective property exceeds the Maine exclusion amount, \$2,000,000; or 3) the estate contains a Maine QTIP election. Otherwise, a Statement of Value (700-SOV) may be used to request a discharge of the automatic property lien provided under 36 M.R.S.A. § 4112.

## Line 2: Value of federal total gross estate taxable by Maine.

**Estate of resident**: Enter the amount from line 1 less the value of real and tangible personal property located outside of Maine on the date of death of the decedent.

**Estate of nonresident:** Enter the value, included in line 1, of real and tangible personal property located in Maine. This includes real and tangible personal property in a trust, LLC or other pass-through entity, unless that property is acquired through a bona fide sale for full and adequate consideration, the ownership of the property in the entity is for a valid business purpose and the entity actively carries on a business for the purpose of profit and gain. See 36 M.R.S.A. § 4104 and MRS Rule 603.

- Line 4: Value of gifts included in federal Form 706, part 2, line 4 made within one year of death. Enter the value of taxable gifts completed within the 365-day period ending on the date of death of the decedent.
- Line 5: Value of gifts included in line 4 taxable by Maine. Attach copy of appropriate federal Form(s) 709.

**Estate of resident:** Enter the amount from line 4 less the value of real and tangible personal property located outside of Maine at the time of the gift.

**Estate of nonresident:** Enter the value, included in line 4, of real and tangible personal property located in Maine at the time of the gift. This includes real and tangible personal property in a trust, LLC or other pass-through entity, unless that property is acquired through a bona fide sale for full and adequate consideration, the ownership of the property in the entity is for a valid business purpose and the entity actively carries on a business for the purpose of profit and gain. See 36 M.R.S.A. § 4104 and MRS Rule 603.

Line 7: Gross value of Maine elective property. If the decedent had a predeceased spouse who made a Maine QTIP election, this line must include the current value of that Maine QTIP, regardless of the location or type of property (tangible or intangible). This amount is called Maine elective property. All holdings that constitute Maine elective property, including cash, securities, real estate and tangible personal property, must be included on this line. The property must be valued on the date of death of the decedent, unless the alternate valuation date is used for all assets.

### Line 8: Value of property included in line 7 taxable by Maine.

**Estate of resident:** Enter the amount from line 7 less the value of real and tangible personal property located outside of Maine on the date of death of the decedent.

**Estate of nonresident:** Enter the value, included in line 7, of all real and tangible personal property located in Maine. This includes real and tangible personal property in a trust, LLC or other pass-through entity. See 36 M.R.S.A. § 4104 and MRS Rule 603.

#### Line 9: Maine qualified terminable interest property ("QTIP"). Maine allows a deduction for assets that are eligible for the

QTIP election under IRC section 2056(b)(7), when a QTIP election is not made on that property for federal estate tax purposes. Entering an amount on this line constitutes a

Maine QTIP election for eligible property. The maximum allowable Maine QTIP election is the difference between the decedent's federal exclusion amount, net of any deceased spousal unused exclusion from a predeceased spouse, and the Maine exclusion amount. For 2013 decedents, this maximum election is \$3,250,000 (\$5,250,000 -\$2,000,000). If the Maine QTIP is a portion of a trust or other property included in the federal taxable estate, the personal representative is considered to have made an election equal to a fraction of that trust or property. The numerator of the fraction is the amount of the Maine QTIP entered on this line and the denominator is the total value of the trust or other property. Attach a description of the assets in the Maine QTIP. A Maine QTIP cannot contain items that are includible as taxable gifts on the federal return. The Maine QTIP election defers taxation of the transfer of that property to the death of the decedent's spouse (subsequent decedent spouse). The Maine estate tax return for the subsequent decedent spouse must include the remaining value of the Maine QTIP, which is referred to as Maine elective property. See MRS Rule 603.

- Line 17: Maine estate tax. Multiply line 15 by line 16. This amount may be reduced by the credit for tax paid to another jurisdiction. If the estate of a resident decedent pays estate tax to another jurisdiction on real or tangible personal property included in a trust, LLC or other pass-through entity, Maine will allow a credit for that tax paid. The other jurisdiction must look through the entity to the underlying assets and tax any real or tangible personal property located in that state as if directly owned by the decedent. See Worksheet D -- Credit for Estate Tax paid to Other Jurisdictions By Resident Estates.
- Line 20: Payments. Enter the total amount of Maine estimated and extension payments made for this estate. If this is an amended return, include on this line the amount of Maine estate tax paid with the original return.
- Line 21: Interest and penalty amounts. Interest and penalties may apply if the return is filed, or the tax is paid, after the due date. Contact Maine Revenue Services, Income/Estate Tax Division at 207-626-8480 for specific information necessary to complete this line. The annual interest rate for 2013 is 7%, compounded monthly.

**Late filing and late payment penalties.** If a past due return is filed before the receipt, or within 60 days of the receipt, of a demand notice, the penalty for failure to file

is the greater of \$25 or 10% of the amount of tax due. If the return is filed more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice, the failure-to-file penalty is the greater of \$25 or 25% of the amount of tax due. For failure to pay a tax liability, the penalty is 1% of the tax liability for each month the payment is delinquent, up to a maximum of 25%.

**Other penalties.** The law also provides penalties for substantial understatement of tax, negligence, fraud, willful understatement of liability by a preparer and for payment of tax by check that is returned for insufficient funds.

- Line 22: Amount due. Enter the total amount due with this return. Make check payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, and send to Maine Revenue Services, PO Box 1065, Augusta, Maine 04332-1065. Please write the decedent's name/ social security number and "Form 706ME" on the check to ensure proper credit.
- Line 23: Refund due. Enter the refund due. Allow 4-6 weeks to process the refund. Mail return to Maine Revenue Services, PO Box 1064, Augusta, Maine 04332-1064.
- Step 5. File the Maine estate tax return with supporting documentation in the order listed. Other supporting documents include trust documents and appraisals to support the claims on the return. Proper documentation will allow Maine Revenue Services to process the return without having to contact the preparer for additional information.

**Extension.** An extension to pay the tax must be requested in writing. Maine, however, allows an automatic extension to file equal to any federal extension or 6 months, whichever is longer. An extension to file is not an extension to pay the tax.

Amended returns. If an orginal return has already been filed, an amended Maine estate tax return must be filed within 180 days of receipt of property or entitlement to property, or a change by the Internal Revenue Service that increases the Maine estate tax liability.

**Final federal determination.** If a final federal determination has been made, the assessor can make a separate determination regarding an estate tax issue. For estates of deaths occurring on or after July 1, 2010, but before July 1, 2011, the assessor's determination must be made within the later of two years from the due date, or two years from the filing date, of the return. For estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2011, the assessor's determination must be made within one year from the filing date of the return.

Audit adjustments. MRS is required to notify the IRS of any audit adjustments that affect the federal liability of the estate.

Table A			
If Form 706ME, line 14 is:	The tax for line 15 is:		
\$2,000,000 or less	\$0		
more than \$2,000,000 but not more than \$5,000,000	8% of the excess over \$2,000,000		
more than \$5,000,000 but not more than \$8,000,000	\$240,000 plus 10% of the excess over \$5,000,000		
more than \$8,000,000	\$540,000 plus 12% of the excess over \$8,000,000		