

Paul R. LePage Governor MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation

35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 Physical Location: Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, ME 04345 Web Address: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing Direct Line (207) 624-8689 - Fax (207) 624-8666 - TTY users:call Maine Relay 711

To: Maine Licensed Veterinarians

From: the Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine

On July 29, 2016, Public Law Chapter 488 (LD 1646 An Act to Prevent Opiate Abuse by Strengthening the Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Program) took effect and directly affects Maine licensed Veterinarians. The Board strongly encourages you to carefully read this new law

 $\underline{http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0671\&item=4\&snum=127$

Implementation discussions are underway by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP), including rule development. There are several facets about this bill, including limits on opioid prescribing, electronic prescribing and checking the PMP prior to prescribing and dispensing opiates. The specific purpose of this communication is to call your attention to a section of the law relating to a continuing education (CE) requirement:

32 MRSA §4878, Section 3, states the following:

"Continuing education. By December 31, 2017, a veterinarian who prescribes opioid medication must successfully complete 3 hours of continuing education every 2 years on the prescription of opioid medication as a condition of prescribing opioid medication. The board shall adopt rules to implement this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A."

Please take note that in addition to the required 24 hours of continuing education specified in Board Rules Chapter 4, by December 31, 2017, you must also complete 3 hours of continuing education on opioid medication and continually thereafter every two years. The Board is working on rules for purposes of implementing this continuing education requirement. However, recognizing that the rulemaking process takes times and in an effort to guide licensees attempting to complete the new CE requirement prior to the Board adopting rules, be advised that the Board will accept, for purposes of complying with the new continuing education requirement mentioned above, all opiate CE course offerings that are pre-approved by any of the currently recognized sponsors identified in Board Rules Chapter 4, Section 3(1)(A-F).

Notice of proposed rules will be posted on the Board's web page. At this time, we do not have an estimated timeline; however, we encourage you to periodically check the website <u>www.maine.gov/professionallicensing</u> or, another method to keep abreast of board activities is to register for GovDelivery to receive the latest news and board meeting information. It takes only a couple minutes of your time to register for an automatic notice to be delivered directly to your email box. Go to <u>http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/veterinarians/index.html</u> look for the envelope *"Ge Notified!"* in the upper left hand corner of your computer screen.

Geraldine L. Betts, Board Administrator - 207-624-8625