
 

State of Maine 
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

COMPANY LICENSE APPLICATION  

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME (DBA NAME): 

FEIN OR SSN: 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 

MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY 

PHONE # FAX #          E-MAIL
 

(         ) (         ) 

OWNER OF ESTABLISHMENT: 

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by credit or debit card, fill out the following: 

ADRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        
    L    

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational 
Regulation to charge my card the following amount:  $____________ 
 I understand that fees are non-refundable

Expiration Date    Card number:          
/ 

SIGNATURE  DATE 

Board of Funeral Service 
Required Fee:  $230.00    

    

LICENSE TYPE:    

 New Funeral Establishment (HO1421)
 Change of Ownership (HO1421)
 New Funeral Establishment Branch (HO1421)

Office Use Only: 
 1421 - $230.00 

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 

Amount:_____________ 

Cash #______________ 

Lic.  #_______________ 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

REV 03282022
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NOTICES 
BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take 
into consideration an applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants. 
 
PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 
MRSA §401 et seq).  Public records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for 
licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number 
and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this information may later be 
transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  
Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for 
tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC 
§405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent 
for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes.  No 
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information 
pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION - OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 
Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 

Phone:  (207)624-8603 (TTY users call Maine relay 711)     Fax:  (207) 624-8637   web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333-
0035 
 

 Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.   
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be emailed to you. 
 

 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  your status 
is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice. 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application  
 Sign and date your application 
 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus 

signature) 
 Include any required transcripts or exam results 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 
 DO NOT SEND CASH. 

What if I have other questions?  Visit our website at: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/
funeral/ or contact the office at Tel. 207/624-8603 or e-mail: funeral.board@maine.gov 
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Establishment Information 
 

 

Printed name of Licensee in Charge: 
 
 
  

 

License Number: 
  
  

 

Is this a Name Change or Change in Ownership?                                                           [   ] Yes  [   ] No 
  
If yes:  Name & License Number of Previous Establishment: 
 
 
  

 

Funeral Branch Information 
 

Printed name of Licensee in Charge: 
 
 
 

License Number: 
  
  

Name of Main Establishment: 
  
 
 

License Number: 
  
  

Street Address of Main Establishment: 
 
 
  
City: 
  
 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Physical Location of Main Establishment (if different than above mailing address): 
 
 
  
Is this a Name Change or Change in Ownership?                                                          [   ] Yes  [   ] No 
 
  
If yes:  Name & License Number of Previous Establishment: 
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Licensed Personnel 
Please list the names and license numbers of persons employed at the establishment or branch 

  
Name  

  
License Number 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

Affirmation 
  
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the 
best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is 
truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, suspension or 
revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 
  
SIGNATURE (LICENSEE IN CHARGE): _______________________________________    
 
DATE: ______________________ 
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Please read the laws governing the licensure and practice of funeral service prior to 
submitting the application. These are available at the following website: 
 
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/funeral/laws.htm 
 
 
Please include the following with your application: 
 
New Funeral Establishment or Branch: 
 
 Payment of $230.00 license fee; 
 
 Completed self-inspection Form, see pages 6-8.  
 
 
Change of Ownership - Funeral Establishment or Branch 
 
 Payment of $230.00 license fee; 
 
 Documented proof that the funeral establishment has given the notices as required by 

Chapter 16, Section 9 of the Board’s Rules; and  
 
 Completed self-inspection Form, see pages 6-8.  
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ඌඍൺඍൾ ඈൿ ආൺංඇൾ 
Dൾඉൺඋඍආൾඇඍ ඈൿ Pඋඈൿൾඌඌංඈඇൺඅ 
ൺඇൽ Fංඇൺඇർංൺඅ Rൾ඀ඎඅൺඍංඈඇ 

Board of Funeral Service 
35 ඌඍൺඍൾ ඁඈඎඌൾ ඌඍൺඍංඈඇ 

ൺඎ඀ඎඌඍൺ, ආൺංඇൾ 
04333-0035 

  

  
Janet T Mills     

Anne L. Head 

Governor   Director 

New Funeral Establishment/Branch Self Inspection 
Please refer to the Board rules for more information 

 
Every funeral establishment and every branch thereof must be licensed with the Board of Funeral Service by a 
licensee in charge.  A funeral establishment or branch thereof may not operate unless the funeral establishment 
or branch is licensed with the board.  The licensee in charge is responsible for the establishment’s or branch’s 
compliance with the funeral laws and rules of the Board.  A funeral establishment or branch thereof my not oper-
ate without a licensee in charge. 
 
 
This form must be completed by the Funeral Practitioner in charge (Licensee in charge) and who must affirm 
that the funeral establishment or branch named on this form is in compliance with Board Laws & Rules regard-
ing the requirements for funeral establishments.  
 
 
Please complete the following self-inspection check list:  
 
 
    FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT 
 
    FUNERAL BRANCH 
 
 
Name of Establishment:            
 
Responsible Practitioner/Licensee in charge:        
 
Responsible Owner/Location of Manager:         
 
Contact/mailing address:           
 
Physical location:             
 
Telephone number:            
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1. Preparation or Embalming Room – must include, but not limited to, the following: 
Operating Table(s); 
 
Morgue table which is covered with an impervious material; 

 
Hot and cold running water; 

 
Flush or slop sink connected to a public sewerage system or a septic tank; 

 
Covered waste container; 

 
First aid emergency kit; 

 
Heavy latex (or hypo-allergenic) gloves; 

 
Necessary instruments and apparatus for the embalming process; 

 
Instrument sterilizer; 

 
Walls constructed of, or covered with, impervious material which extend from floor to ceiling; 

 
Floor of cement, tile, or composition and which extends from wall to wall; 

 
Necessary antiseptics and disinfectants; 

 
Clean gowns or aprons; 

 
Ventilation system; 

 
Protection of Potable Water system(Backflow or Backsiphonage systems); 

 
Signage – including but not limited to restrictions on entry into preparation room. 

 
2.  Biomedical Wastes  

This Funeral Establishment complies with Chapter 900 of the rules of the Department of Environ-
mental Protection, 06-096, entitled “Biomedical Waste Management Rules”. 

 
3.  Administrative Disclosures 

At-Need-Disclosure statement 
 
General Price List 

 
Casket Price List 

 
Outer Burial Container Price List 

 
Mortuary Trust Agreement 

 
Statement of Funeral Goods & Services selected 
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4.  Mortuary Trusts 
Mortuary Trust Agreements (Credit for Service/Guaranteed Price/Life Insurance); 
 
Substantial Conformance to Forms; 

 
Minimum Type Set (12 point size); 

 
Fee Disclosure; 

 
Inspection of records (Financial Reports/Contracts/Copies of checks)   

 
Fee Disclosure; 

 
Inspection of records (Financial Reports/Contracts/Copies of checks)   

 
 
 
 
By signing this self inspection checklist I, the licensee in charge, certify I have completed and 
verified all items checked on this checklist and affirm that the funeral establishment or 
branch is in compliance with applicable State Laws and Rules, and Federal Laws and Rules, 
governing the practice of funeral service and is suitable for operation as a funeral establish-
ment or branch. By submitting this completed form, I understand that the Maine Board of 
Funeral Service will rely upon this information for issuance of the funeral establishment or 
branch license and that this information is truthful and factual and that sanctions may be im-
posed, including denial, suspension or revocation of the funeral establishment or branch li-
cense and/or my license, if this information is found to be false. 
 
 
              
Signature of Licensee in Charge      Date 
 
 
I accept full responsibility for the operation of this establishment in accordance with Board 
Law and Rules, and I understand that until the Office of Professional and Occupational Reg-
ulation conducts an inspection, I will be individually responsible for the lawful activity of this 
establishment.  I understand that this establishment will remain conditionally licensed until 
this Office has had the opportunity to conduct its inspection. 
 
 
              
Signature of Licensee in Charge      Date 


