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The State of Maine welcomes active duty service members, and their spouses/domestic 
partners, and recent veterans, and their spouses/domestic partners, to apply for a Maine 
professional or occupational license.  We thank you and your families for your service to our 
country. 
 

Pursuant to Public Law 2021, ch. 106 (“PL2021, c.106”) the Maine Office of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (“OPOR”) will issue a temporary Maine license to active duty service 
members, recently separated military, and their spouses/domestic partners, if that person has a 
comparable and unrestricted license in another jurisdiction and completes the required 
application and affidavit.  Once the completed application and notarized affidavit is mailed to 
the address below, and staff determines that the applicant meets the requirements of PL2021, 
c.106 for a license issued by OPOR1, the applicant will be issued a temporary license effective 
immediately2. The temporary license is effective for 180 days, during which time the temporary 
license holder must apply for full licensure.  OPOR staff will also send you information about 
how to apply for full license application when they issue the temporary license.  
 

If you can affirm the two statements below, you may apply for a temporary license by 
completing both the Application and Affidavit. 

I affirm I am: 

 An active duty service member, or a spouse or domestic partner of an active duty 
service member. 

OR 

   A recently separated veteran, or a spouse or domestic partner of a recently separated 
veteran.  A “recently separated veteran” means a veteran of the Armed Forces of the 
United States during the 3-year period beginning on the date of the veteran’s 
honorable discharge or release from active duty.  

AND 

  I have a comparable and unrestricted license in another state or territory of the 
United States. This license must be in good standing and may not be temporary, 
conditional, probationary, or otherwise restricted. In addition, all other comparable 
licenses that I held or formerly held in any other jurisdiction are, or have been, in 
good standing, not restricted and not the subject of any outstanding complaint or 
open investigation. 

If you affirmed both statements, please complete and mail the following Application, Affidavit, 
and photocopy of your current comparable license to:  

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
35 State House Station 

Augusta, ME 04333 
  

If you have questions, please contact Shawn.C.Brooks@maine.gov or 207-624-8511. 
1  A list of occupations and professions regulated by OPOR is available at 10 M.R.S. § 8001 (38). 
2  Certain license types have requirements for active practice such as, for example, employment, bonding, or 

supervision.  You will be contacted prior to the issuance of the temporary license if there are additional 

requirements.  

   
  

Janet T. Mills 
                Governor 

STATE OF MAINE 
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL 

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION 
  
  
  

  
 
  
  
  
  
  
  

   
 

Anne L. Head 
Commissioner 
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DISCLOSURES 
 

 
PUBLIC RECORD:  This application and any supporting documentation are public records pursuant to the Maine 
Freedom of Access Act (“FOAA”), 1 M.R.S. § 402(3), and, with the exception of portions identified as confidential by 
statute (e.g., social security numbers, credit card information), must be made available to any person upon request.  
Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the 
public and may be posted on our website. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, § 7(b): 
Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory.  Solicitation of your social security number is solely for tax 
administration purposes pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1976 (42 U.S.C. § 405(c)
(2)(C)(i)) and for child support enforcement purposes pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13)(A) and 19-A M.R.S. §§ 2104, 
2201. Your social security number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in 
determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes and/or to the 
Department of Health and Human Services Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery for use in child support 
enforcement procedures.   
 
For health care practitioners, health care entities, or health care suppliers only:  Disclosure of your social security 
number will occur in accordance with National Practitioner Data Bank reporting requirements pursuant to 45 C.F.R. §§ 
60.3, 60.9.  
 

No further use will be made of your social security number without your consent.  It will be treated as confidential tax 
information pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 191 and confidential support enforcement information pursuant to 19-A M.R.S. § 
2152. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION - OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 
Phone:  (207)624-8511 (TTY users call Maine relay 711)     Fax:  (207) 624-8637   web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

• Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333-0035 
 

• Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

• What hours are you open? Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and until further notice, the Gardiner Annex that 
houses the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation and other agencies is closed to the public. OPOR 
staff members work remotely from 8 am to 5 pm to review and process license applications. We advise you to mail 
paper applications to 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 
 

• Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further 
notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address-35 State House 
Station, Augusta, ME 04333  

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be emailed to you. 

 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

• Complete every item on the application  
• Sign and date your application 
• Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 



 

4 

 

State of Maine 
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

 

 
APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR TEMPORARY  

LICENSE FOR VETERANS, ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS AND 
THEIR SPOUSES/DOMESTIC PARTNERS PURSUANT TO  

PUBLIC LAW 2021, CH. 106  

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME:     
 

     FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST  

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

DATE OF BIRTH                                                                                                         SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

mm /  dd  / yyyy                                                                                        -                - 

MAILING ADDRESS  
 

CITY                                                          STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
 

PHONE #                                         FAX #                                                  E-MAIL 
 

(         )                                              (         ) 
 

                           
LICENSE TYPE:    

 

TEMPORARY LICENSE (MILITARY) 
Required fees: $21.00 criminal history records check fee                          

Office Use Only: 
2619 - $21.00 

Office Use Only: 
 

 
Check #_____________ 
 
Amount:_____________ 
 
Cash #______________ 
 
Lic.  #_______________ 

 PAYMENT OPTIONS: 

Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by credit card, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

MAILING ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print) 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to 

charge my  □ VISA    □ MASTERCARD   □ DISCOVER □ AMERICAN EXPRESS  The following amount:  $____________ 

                          □ I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:                                                                                         Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

           SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 
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For which Maine license are you applying ?  You must have a comparable license from another U.S. state or 
territory. Your current license may not be temporary, conditional, probationary, or otherwise restricted and must be 
reasonably equivalent to the license sought. You must include a photocopy of your current license. 

 Accountant 
 Acupuncturist 
 Aesthetician/Barber Stylist/Cosmetologist/Hair 

Designer/Nail Technician  
 Instructor of Aesthetician/Barber Stylist/

Cosmetologist/Hair Designer/Nail Technician  
 Alcohol & Drug Counselor 
 American Sign Language Interpreter/American Sign 

Language Deaf Interpreter 
 Architect 
 Athletic Trainer 
 Auctioneer 
 Audiologist 
 Boiler Inspector/Operator 
 Certified Professional Midwife/Professional 

Midwife 

 Chiropractor 
 Counselor(Clinical/Marriage & Family Therapist/

Pastoral) 
 Dietitian/Dietetic Technician 

 Electrician 

 Elevator Inspector/Mechanic 

 Forester 
 Funeral Practitioner 
 Geologist 

 Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter 
 Interior Designer 
 Land Surveyor 
 Landscape Architect 
 Manufactured Housing Professional 
 Massage Therapist 
 Naturopathic Acupuncturist  
 Naturopathic Doctor 
 Nursing Home Administrator 
 Occupational Therapist/Occupational Therapy Asst. 
 Oil & Solid Fuel Technician 
 Pharmacist/Pharmacy Intern/Pharmacy Tech 
 Physical Therapist/Physical Therapy Asst 
 Plumber 
 Podiatrist 
 Propane & Natural Gas Tech 

 Psychologist 
 Radiologic Technologist 
 Real Estate Appraiser/Broker 
 Respiratory Care Therapist/Respiratory Care Tech 

 Social Worker 
 Soil Scientist  
 Speech-Language Pathologist 
 Tramway Inspector 

 Branch of service of active duty service member or recently separated veteran 
 
         Army        Navy        Air Force       Coast Guard         Marines        National Guard         Space Force         

Please check the boxes below that apply to you: 

    I am active military       

    I am recently separated from military service. Date of separation  mm / dd / yy 

My spouse/domestic partner is: 

    Active military      

    Recently separated from military service. Date of separation  mm / dd / yy 
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Credentialing History 

List all active & formerly held professional/occupational licenses 

 

Profession License # State/
Country 

Date Issued Expiration 
Date 

Has this license been the subject of 
discipline or been denied?  
Yes or No 
(If yes, please explain and attach copies 
of disciplinary documents) 

  
  

         

  
  

         

  
 

   

      

      

      

 

  
Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301-5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an  

applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a  

criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants. 
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Affidavit 

  
By my signature, I hereby attest that I am the person described and identified in this application, that all state-

ments made on the application are true and correct and complete, that I have read and understand the require-

ments for licensure, that I meet those requirements, and that I am in good standing in all jurisdictions in which 

I hold or have held a professional or occupational license.  

 

By submitting this application and affidavit, I understand that the Office of Professional and Occupational  

Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of a Temporary License. I also understand that this 

Temporary License will only remain valid for 180 days, during which time I must apply for full licensure.  I 

further understand that, at least 15 days prior to my temporary license expiration date, I may request a one-time 

180-day extension, if necessary, to complete the licensing requirements for a full license.  

  

Signature (must be signed in front of a Notary Public)  Printed Name 

 

 

____________________________________________ ______________________________ 

 

 

 

To be completed by a Notary Public 

 

STATE OF ________ 

________________, ss.  
(County) 
  

Personally appeared before me the above-named ________________________________ and sworn to 

the truth of the foregoing based upon their own personal knowledge, or upon information and belief, and so far 

as upon information and belief, they believe it to be true. 

  
Dated:_______________________    ______________________________ 
        Notary Public  
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
 

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit 
evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification. 
 
Please contact the state of licensure to request an official License Verification. At a minimum, 
the license verification must contain: 

 
Name of State providing the License Verification 
Your name 
License number and expiration date 
Status of your license i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended, revoked 
Type of license issued to you 
Date your license was issued 
Disciplinary action(s) against your license, if any 

 
Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly 
and in turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application. 
 
You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State 
Board website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web
-address, date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history, 
e.g. no discipline or discipline. If discipline is indicated, please submit a copy of the discipline 
imposed such as the Board Order or Agreement. 
 

A copy of your license is not acceptable as a license verification. 


