

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATION REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

LICENSE APPLICATION

		APP	LICANT INFO	DRMATION (please	print)	
FULL	LEGAL NAME	FIRST		E INITIAL	•	LAS	ST
ANY C	THER NAMES	EVER USED:					
DATE	OF BIRTH	mm / dd / yyyy		SOCIAL S	SECURIT	Y NUMBER	₹
MAILII	NG ADDRESS						
CITY		5	STATE	ZIP		COUNTY	,
PHON	E#()	F	AX # ()		E-MAIL		
	NOTE: Failure		_	' ACTION DISCI sult in denial, fin			or revocation of a license.
or	denied your ap	ion taken disciplina oplication for licens	ure? (circle or	ie)	onal lice	nse you ho NO	old or have held, YES
If y	es, enclose a de	etailed explanation a	nd copies of all	documents.			
2. Ha	ave you gradua	ted from high school	ol or received a	GED? (circle	one)	NO	YES
By sub my lice	mitting this applications and that this i	ation, I affirm that the O	ffice of Profession nd factual. I also i	nal & Occupational understand that sa	l Regulation	on will rely up	e best of my knowledge and belief oon this information for issuance of ed including denial, fines,
SIGN	ATURE			DATE			
	Γ	R	EGISTERED	FOR LICENS APPRAISER	TRAIN		Office Use Only:
	Х	REGISTERE	LICENSE		(RA)	\$410	4695 1446—\$30 1421—\$380 (RA)
							Office Use Only Check # Amount: Cash # Lic. # Issue Date Exp. Date
	Make checks p	payable to "Maine Sta		ENT OPTIONS: If you wish to pay		tercard or \	/isa, fill out the following:
NAME	OF CARDHOL	DER (please print)	FIRST	Λ	AIDDLE I	NITIAL	LAST
MAILI	NG ADDRESS	OF CARDHOLDER (please print)				
I auth charg	e my VIS		ERCARD t	he following amo			occupational Regulation to
Card	number: X	XXX-XXXX-XXXX-X	XXX	Ехрії	ration Da	te mm/y	ууу
SIGN	IATURE					DA ⁻	TE

REVISED 6/20/2023

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FOR A REGISTERED APPRAISER TRAINEE

- 1. Complete the one page registered appraiser trainee application form
- Complete educational experience form and attach certificates of completion for 75 hours of Board approved qualifying education. To become a trainee you must take:
 - 30 hours Basic Appraisal Principles
 - 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures
 - 15 hours Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)
 - 4+ hour Must complete a "Trainee/Supervisor" course meeting AQB Guidelines.

Only courses that have AQB approval are acceptable. Courses noted above must be less than 5 years old at time of application. The approved course list is available at the following web site: www.appraisalfoundation.org.

GO TO THE EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, AND THEN CLICK ON "AQB Approved Real Property Courses"

- 3. Complete Supervisor / Training form
- 4. Fingerprinting Review the links below to fulfill the fingerprint requirement for licensure.

Fingerprinting instructions for Maine applicants

Fingerprinting instructions for out-of-state applicants

REGISTER FOR FINGERPRINTING

Submit a "Fingerprint Authorization Form" with your application

*Please Note: Fingerprinting is required for every license application except Temporary Licenses (TL)

5. Enclose check or money order payable to "Treasurer State of Maine" for \$410.00 and mail to the address noted below. Alternatively you may fill out the credit card portion of the application and fax or email it to the board. The Board also has on-line applications on the web site which is your fastest option.

FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637 EMAIL: rlestateappr.board@maine.gov

Our mailing address for U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express mail services is:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 35 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA ME 04333-0035

(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical location)

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS. Please use our physical location:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 76 NORTHERN AVENUE GARDINER, ME 04345

MAINE BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333 (207) 624-8522

EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE

A	APPLICANT'S NAME:						
	ALL COURSES MUST	BE APPRAISER	QUAIFICATION	NS BOARD (AQ	(B) APPROVED.	THE CURRENT A	AQB
	APPROVED COURSE	LIST IS AVAILA	ABLE ON THE	APPRAISAL FO	DÚNDATION WEB	SITE UNDER	THE
	RESOURCES TAB AND	THEN CHOOSE	"COURSE APPI	ROVAL PROGRA	M" AND CLICK OI	N THE LINK FOR A	AQB
	APPROVED REAL PRO	PERTY COURSE	S			=	

COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES MUST ACCOMPANY THIS ATTACHMENT

			T	,
COURSE TITLE	COURSE SPONSOR	DATES TAKEN	NO. HOURS	FOR OFFICE USE

MAINE BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333 (207) 624-8522

SUPERVISOR / TRAINING FORM

Trainee's Name	
Trainee Signature	Date:
\Box Check here if you have a change of add	RESS:NEW ADDRESS
\Box Check here if this is a change of your f	PRIMARY SUPERVISOR.
CHECK HERE IF THIS IS AN ADDITIONAL SUPER (I.E., WORKING PART-TIME AT TWO DIFFEREN	
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SUPERVISOR—PLI	EASE INITIAL EACH STATEMENT AND SIGN BELOW.
THE TRAINEE NAMED ABOVE AND I HAVE TAKE VISORS	EN THE AQB REQUIRED COURSE FOR TRAINEES AND SUPER
	BLE FOR THE TRAINING FOR THE APPLICANT MENTIONED ON THE WORK UNDER MY SUPERVISION AND CANNOT AT ANY TIMI
RELATED ACTIVITIES DONE BY THE TRAINER	N ACCURATE, UP-TO-DATE RECORDS OF ALL APPRAISAL E. HOURS SHALL BE REPORTED MONTHLY TO THE MAINI ORM PRESCRIBED BY THE BOARD NO LATER THAN THE 10TI
(FORMS FOR REPORTING WORK EXPERIENCE LICENSE.)	WILL BE SENT OUT UPON APPROVAL OF THE TRAINEE
SUPERVISOR'S COMPLETE NAME	MAINE LICENSE # & EXPIRATION DATE
SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR:	Date:
ALTERNATE'S COMPLETE NAME	MAINE LICENSE # & EXPIRATION DATE
SIGNATURE OF ALTERNATE SUREPVISOR	Date:

REVISED 6/20/2023

The following chart illustrates the current education, examination and experience requirements for real estate appraiser licensing as of 09/19/2019

Appraiser Trainee (RA)	Education: 75 hours of appraisal specific course work Must be supervised by CR or CG who has been certified in Maine for a minimum of three years and has not had any discipline by any board for three years.
Licensed Residential Appraiser (AP)	Education: 150 hours of appraisal specific course work Experience: 1,000 hours in no fewer than 6 months Examination: Education and experience must be completed and approved by the Board before being authorized to take the exam
Certified Residential Appraiser (CR)	Education: 200 hours of appraisal specific course work AND Bachelor's Degree (or equivalent - see AQB Criteria for more information) Experience: 1,500 hours in no fewer than 12 months Examination Education and experience must be completed and approved by the Board before being authorized to take the exam
Certified General Appraiser (CG)	Education: 300 hours of appraisal specific course work AND Bachelor's Degree Experience: 3,000 hours in no fewer than 18 months; 1500 of which must be residential appraisal work Examination Education and experience must be completed and approved by the Board before being authorized to take exam

For more detailed information regarding the qualification criteria requirements for licensure please go to www.appraisalfoundation.org

Frequently Asked Questions

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER TRAINEE

- Is a high school diploma or GED required? Yes
- Hold old do I need to be to obtain a license? You must be at least 18 years old.
- How do I become a real estate appraiser trainee? First, you need to take the following 75 hours of Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) approved qualification education.

\Rightarrow	30 hours	Basic Appraisal Principles
\Rightarrow	30 hours	Basic Appraisal Procedures
\Rightarrow	15 hours	Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)
\Rightarrow	4+ hours	AQB Approved Supervisor/Trainee Course

)

Next, you need to find a certified appraiser to sign on as your supervisor who must have been certified in Maine for a minimum of three years and have had no discipline by any Board for three years.

Lastly, complete a license application and submit it to the board with the appropriate documentation. Be sure to include:

- 1. \$410 payable to Maine State Treasurer;
- 2. Original course completion certificates;
- 3. Supervisor / Training Form
- 4. Fingerprint Authorization Form
- Can I take on-line courses? Yes, as long as they are AQB approved.
- Where can I find the list of AQB approved courses and providers?

The approved course list may be found on the Appraisal Foundation's web site under the "RESOURCES" tab and then choose "COURSE APPROVAL PROGRAM", then click on the link for "AQB APPROVED REAL PROPERTY COURSES".

More core curriculum information may be found in the "Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria" On the Appraisal Foundation web site: **www.appraisalfoundation.org**

- How long is my trainee license good for? Trainee licenses are issued annually from date of issue and may be renewed five times. If you do not complete the requirements for licensure by the end of the sixth year, you must re-apply for another trainee license.
- Am I required to complete CE to renew my trainee license? You are required to complete 14 CE hours at the time of renewal.

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 Phone: (207) 624-8603 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Fax: (207) 624-8637 www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

- Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
- Where are you physically located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
- What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays.
- Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
- Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.
- **How long does it take to process an application?** You can check the status of your license by doing a search on your name via the licensee search part of our website:

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as your status is ACTIVE, you are authorized to practice.

• How far back do I go answering the disciplinary action question? Any discipline, ever.

NOTICES

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

- Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)
- Answer the disciplinary action disclosure question
- Sign and date your application
- Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
- Include any required transcripts or exam results
- Make a copy of your application to keep for your records
- DO NOT SEND CASH.

FINGERPRINT AUTHORIZATION FORM

This form is required to be included with any real estate appraiser license application and must be completed for an AMC controlling person and any AMC owners of more than 10%.

The Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Law at 32 M.R.S. § 14021 requires license applicants to submit a set of the applicant's fingerprints and any other necessary information for a statewide and nationwide criminal history record check to be completed by the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification.

The background checks will include criminal history information on file with the Maine State Bureau of Identification's criminal history system and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Board of Real Estate Appraisers will use the state and federal criminal history record information for the purpose of evaluating whether an applicant possess a background that would call into question public trust.

An individual has the right to access or review his or her State of Maine and federal record response, as provided in Maine law at Title 16, Section 620 of the Maine Revised Statutes, and in federal law in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 28, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. These laws are available on the Internet or by calling the Maine State Bureau of Identification or the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library. For more information on challenging the results of the information contained in the report, you may also contact the State Bureau of Identification at 624-7240.

I understand that any criminal record information obtained through the fingerprint-based background investigation process will be used consistently with the guidelines outlined above, and that I have the right to review and appeal the record response if I disagree with the information or claim that the record does not belong to me at all. I agree to have my fingerprints taken by a qualified agent and to participate in the fingerprint-based criminal background investigation.

Signed:		Date:
Printed Name:		
Date of birth:		
Company Name:		
**************	************	******
(For REA Office Use Only)		
Viewed @ MapNet:	-	
Record Not Found:		
Record Found:	Director Reviewed:	
License #:		
License Issue Date:	_	
Processed By:		