

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

LICENSE APPLICATION

		۸		IEODMATION /r	ologoo print)		
				NFORMATION (p	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
	SAL NAME	FIRST	MIL	DDLE INITIAL	L	LAST	
		EVER USED:					
DATE OF		mm dd yyy	/	SOCIAL S	ECURITY NUM	BER	
	ADDRESS						
CITY			STATE	ZIP	COUN	NTY	
PHONE #	()		FAX# ()	E-MAIL		
NO	TE: Failure	to disclose discip		ARY ACTION DISCL y result in denial, fine		and/or revocation of a license.	
		on taken discipli plication for lice		ainst any profession one)	nal license you NO	hold or have held, YES	
		etailed explanationed from high scl		all documents. d a GED? (circle or	ne) NO	YES	
By submitti my license	ng this applica and that this i	ation, I affirm that th	e Office of Profes ul and factual. I a	ssional & Occupational Iso understand that sar	Regulation will rel	to the best of my knowledge and belief. y upon this information for issuance of posed including denial, fines,	
SIGNAT	URE			DATE			
X		TIFIED GENE		AISER (CG)	SER (CG) \$410	Office Use Only: 4695 1446—\$30 1421—\$380 (CG) Office Use Only Check # Amount: Cash # Lic. # Issue Date Exp. Date	
				MENT OPTIONS:) (
Make	e checks pay	able to "Maine S	tate Treasurer" ·	- If you wish to pay b	y Mastercard or	Visa, fill out the following:	
NAME OF	CARDHOLI	DER (please prin	:) FIRST	M	IDDLE INITIAL	LAST	
MAILING .	ADDRESS (OF CARDHOLDE	R (please print)				
I authorize charge my	VISA		STERCARD	the following amou		& Occupational Regulation to	
Card num	ber: XX	(XX-XXXX-XXXX	-XXXX	Expira	tion Date mm	Туууу	
SIGNATURE				DATE			

Revised March 9, 2022

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE AN APPLICATION TO SIT FOR THE CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER EXAM

- 1. Complete the appraiser exam application (one page)
- 2. Complete the 3000 hours (1500 of which must be non-residential) and 18 month minimum of experience requirement. If you have not submitted your monthly experience reports you should attach them with this license application.
- 3. Complete educational experience form and attach certificates of completion and transcripts as indicated below:
 - Must have bachelors degree (no equivalencies)
 - Must document successful completion of the following 300 hours of core curriculum appraisal courses:

30 hours Basic Appraisal Principles

30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures

15 hours The 15-hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent

30 QE General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use

15 QE Statistics, Modeling and Finance

30 QE General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach

30 QE General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach

60 QE General Appraiser Income Approach

30 QE General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies

30 Appraisal Subject matter Electives

300

www.appraisalfoundation.org

under the education program tab, "AQB Approved Real Property Courses"

- 4. Complete and submit with your application the "Fingerprint Authorization Form".
- 5. Register with the Board's fingerprinting processor, Identogo, and have your fingerprints done.

<u>Fingerprinting instructions for Maine applicants</u>
<u>Fingerprinting instructions for out-of-state applicants</u>
REGISTER FOR FINGERPRINTING

6. After your application has been reviewed, you will be requested to submit 4 commercial appraisal samples that have been signed by you and a certified general appraiser. The board will randomly select appraisals from your experience reports. **Do not** submit samples with your license application.

continued	

Revised March 9, 2022 2

^{*}All core curriculum courses must have been approved by the Appraisal Foundation's Course Approval Program. A copy of the approved course list is available at:

7. Enclose check or money order payable to "Treasurer State of Maine" for \$410.00 and mail to the address noted below. Alternatively you may fill out the credit card portion of the application and fax or email it to the board. The Board also has on-line applications on the web site which is your fastest option.

FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637 EMAIL: rlestateappr.board@maine.gov

Our mailing address for U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express mail services is:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA ME 04333-0035

(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical location)

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS. Please use our physical location:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 76 NORTHERN AVENUE GARDINER, ME 04345

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE A LICENSE APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER VIA RECIPROCITY WITH ANOTHER STATE

- Complete appraiser license application
- The Board will verify your licensure on the National Appraiser Registry
- Fingerprints are required for all license applications except for temporary licenses.
- Complete and submit with your application the "Fingerprint Authorization Form"
- Register with the Board's fingerprinting processor, Identogo.

Fingerprinting instructions for Maine applicants
Fingerprinting instructions for out-of-state applicants
REGISTER FOR FINGERPRINTING

Enclose check or money order payable to "Treasurer State of Maine" for \$410.00 and mail to the address noted below. Alternatively you may fill out the credit card portion of the application and fax or email it to the board. The Board also has on-line applications on the web site which is your fastest option.

FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637 EMAIL: rlestateappr.board@maine.gov

Our mailing address for U.S. Postal Service via, regular, priority, or express mail services is:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA ME 04333-0035

(Please note that the USPS will only deliver to the address above and will NOT deliver to our physical location)

If you wish to use an overnight mail service such as FedEx or UPS. Please use our physical location:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 76 NORTHERN AVENUE GARDINER, ME 04345

FINGERPRINT AUTHORIZATION FORM

This form is required to be included with any real estate appraiser license application and must be completed for an AMC controlling person and any AMC owners of more than 10%.

The Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Law at 32 M.R.S. § 14021 requires license applicants to submit a set of the applicant's fingerprints and any other necessary information for a statewide and nationwide criminal history record check to be completed by the Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Identification.

The background checks will include criminal history information on file with the Maine State Bureau of Identification's criminal history system and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Board of Real Estate Appraisers will use the state and federal criminal history record information for the purpose of evaluating whether an applicant possess a background that would call into question public trust.

An individual has the right to access or review his or her State of Maine and federal record response, as provided in Maine law at Title 16, Section 620 of the Maine Revised Statutes, and in federal law in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 28, Sections 16.32 and 16.33. These laws are available on the Internet or by calling the Maine State Bureau of Identification or the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library. For more information on challenging the results of the information contained in the report, you may also contact the State Bureau of Identification at 624-7240.

I understand that any criminal record information obtained through the fingerprint-based background investigation process will be used consistently with the guidelines outlined above, and that I have the right to review and appeal the record response if I disagree with the information or claim that the record does not belong to me at all. I agree to have my fingerprints taken by a qualified agent and to participate in the fingerprint-based criminal background investigation.

Signed:		Date:
Printed Name:		
Date of birth:		
Company Name:		
**************	*********	******
(For REA Office Use Only)		
Viewed @ MapNet:		
Record Not Found:		
Record Found:	Director Reviewed:	
License #:		
License Issue Date:		
Processed By:		

MAINE BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333 (207) 624-8522

EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE

APPLICANT'S NAME:	
THE CURRENT AC	OR APPROVED COURSE LIST IS AVAILABLE ON THE WEB SITE LINDER. THE

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009

EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, "AQB APPROVED REAL PROPERTY COURSES"

COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES MUST ACCOMPANY THIS ATTACHMENT

			•	1
COURSE TITLE	COURSE SPONSOR	DATES TAKEN	NO. HOURS	FOR OFFICE USE

6

Revised March 9, 2022

Frequently Asked Questions

CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER

- I currently hold a trainee license. Do I need a college degree to upgrade my license to the Certified General level? Yes
- I don't have a college degree, are there any exceptions to the degree requirement? No
- What is the core curriculum requirement for the certified general real property appraiser?
 - 30 hours basic appraisal principles
 - 30 hours basic appraisal procedures
 - 15 hours the 15-hour national USPAP course or its equivalent
 - 30 hours general appraiser market analysis and highest and best use
 - 15 hours statistics, modeling and finance
 - 30 hours general appraiser sales comparison approach
 - 30 hours general appraiser site valuation and cost approach
 - 60 hours general appraiser income approach
 - 30 hours general appraiser report writing and case studies

Appraisal subject matter electives 30 hours

(may include hours over minimum shown above in other modules)

300 hours

More core curriculum information may be found at: www.appraisalfoundation.org, under the "Standards and Qualifications" tab in the "Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria" document.

• Where can I find a list of AQB approved courses and providers? The approved course list may be found on the Appraisal Foundation's web site: www.appraisalfoundation.org under the Education Program tab, "AQB Approved Real Property Courses"

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 Phone: (207) 624-8603 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Fax: (207) 624-8637 www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

- Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
- Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
- What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays.
- Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
- Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.
- How long does it take to process an application? You can check our website:
 <u>www.maine.gov/professionallicensing</u>. Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as your status is ACTIVE, you are authorized to practice.
- How far back do I go answering the disciplinary action question? Any disciplin, ever.

NOTICES

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

- Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)
- Answer the disciplinary action question
- Sign and date your application
- Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
- Include any required transcripts or exam results
- Make a copy of your application to keep for your records
- DO NOT SEND CASH.