

# State of Maine Department of Professional & Financial Regulation Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation

# **COMPANY LICENSE APPLICATION**

	APPLICANT INFORMA	ATION (please print)	
COMPANY NAME:			
DOING BUSINESS AS:	G BUSINESS AS: NAME OF OWNER:		
DATE OF BIRTH	SC	OCIAL SECURITY NUM	BER/FEIN
mm / dd / yyyy MAILING ADDRESS			
WAILING ADDICESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP	COUNTY
Door	-to-Door Home Re	enair Seller Proc	ıram
5001	to Bool Home IX	Office Use Only:	Office Use Only:
LICENSE		1421 - \$30.00 (DD)	Check #
☐ Door to Door Home Repa Required fees: \$51.00 (in	ir Seller (DD1421) cludes criminal history	2619 - \$21.00	Amount:
records check fee)	·		Cash #
			Lic. #
Make checks payable to "Main	PAYMENT (		it cord fill out the following.
NAME OF CARDHOLDER (p	olease print)	isir to pay by credit of debi	t card, im out the following:
ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDE	R (please print)	***************************************	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
I authorize the Department of F	rofessional and Financial Re	gulation, Office of Profess	ional & Occupational
Regulation to charge my card t  I understand that fees a	he following amount: \$		-
Card number:		Expi	ration Date
SIGNATURE		DATE	

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION - OFFICE OF LICENSING & REGISTRATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 Hearing Impaired: (888) 577-6690 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

## **Frequently Asked Questions:**

- Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333- 0035
- Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
- What hours are you open? Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and until further notice, the Gardiner Annex that houses the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation and other agencies is closed to the public. OPOR staff members work remotely from 8 am to 5 pm to review and process license applications. We advise you to mail paper applications to 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
- Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address-35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333

What if I have other questions? Visit our website at: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/door-to-door-home-repair-sellers or contact the office at Tel. 207-624-8603, e-mail: trans.sellers@Maine.gov

#### **NOTICES**

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant's criminal history record. The Office of Licensing and Registration requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191.

### Before you seal the envelope, did you:

- Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)
- Answer the criminal background disclosure questions
- Sign and date your application
- Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
- Include any required transcripts or exam results
- Make a copy of your application to keep for your records
- DO NOT SEND CASH.

# **ADDITIONAL INFORMATION**

Residential Address:		
Street:		
City:		
State::	Zip Code:	
E-mail:	@	
Phone:		
Permanent Place of Busin	ness Address:	
Street:		
City:		
State::	Zip Code:	
E-mail:	<u>@</u>	
Pnone:		
Any other company name	es you have conducted business under:	
Towns where you have co	onducted business:	
		<u></u>
Description of Business:		
		<u>—</u>
All Employees:		
Name:		
Address:		
Date of Birth:	Social Security #:	
Name:		
Address.		
Date of Birth:	Social Security #:	
Name:		
Date of Birth:	Social Security #:	

# **CONVICTIONS AND LAWSUITS**

Describe all civil judgments or criminal <u>convictions</u> secured or outstanding against you or your business that arose out of home repair services during the past four years:
Describe all criminal and civil <u>suits</u> pending against you or your business that arose out of home repair services, ever.
Describe all criminal <u>convictions</u> and criminal <u>suits</u> pending against you or your business for theft, ever.

Note: You are required to promptly notify our office of all changes in, or additions to, the information requested in this section.

Please read the laws governing the licensure and practice of Door-to-Door Home Repair Sellers prior to submitting your application. These are available at the following website: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/door-to-door-home-repair-sellers/home/laws-rules

#### SCOPE

"Door-to-door sales" means the solicitation or sale of home repair services by a home repair seller or the seller's employees to a consumer as a result of, or in connection with, the seller's or the employee's direct contact accomplished by means of a personal visit to the consumer, other than at the seller's place of business, without the consumer soliciting the initial contact. An "employee" means an independent contractor and/or person working for a salary or commission and who is affiliated with the home repair seller company.

The law pertaining to "Door-to-Door Home Repair Transient Sellers" (32 M.R.S.A. Sections 14501 through 14513) regulates transient sellers of home repair services who solicit door-to-door or by phone, and who do not have a permanent place of business in the municipality in which the customer resides. Transient home repair sellers include, but are not limited to, persons who pave or seal driveways, repair chimneys or roofs, trim trees, or perform other home repairs or improvements. A contract permitting the consumer to withdraw from the agreement within three days from the date of sale is required (32 M.R.S.A. Section 4664). The content of contracts involving home construction work is additionally governed by another law (10 M.R.S.A. Section 1487), whose requirements would be met through the use of the sample contract included in this packet: "Door-to-Door Transient Seller of Home Repair Services Contract."

### **EXEMPTIONS**

Exemptions to this statute include:

**New homes.** This regulation does not apply to the original construction of a single-family or multifamily residence.

**Sales amount.** This regulation does not apply to home repair services for which the gross sales price, including any interest or carrying charges, is less than \$25.

## **CONTRACTS**

All contracts must adhere to the following:

- the laws governing consumer sales;
- transient sales statutes (transient vendor);
- statutes governing home solicitation sales; and
- laws governing home construction contracts.

## LICENSURE AND RENEWAL

Sellers of Door-to-Door Home Repair Services must be licensed with the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation in order to perform work in any municipality where they do not have a permanent place of business, and they must renew this license by **October 31 of each year.** The name of the company, name of the seller and license number should all appear on the contract to perform services. Failure to be licensed or to reveal the license number can be an unfair trade practice and a Class E crime (or Class D crime if the violation was intentional). Note: Those who solicit repair work from only municipal or state governments are exempt from the licensure requirement.

## **SAMPLE CONTRACTS**

Contracts meeting the statutory requirements are available for your use, and they can be downloaded at this website: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/door\_to\_door/publications.htm