

## State of Maine Department of Professional & Financial Regulation Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation

# INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

ALAIN S.											
APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)											
FULL L	EGAL NAMI	∃:									
FIRS	T	MIDDLE INITIAL		LAST							
ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED:											
DATE O	F BIRTH		SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER								
mm / dd / yyyy											
MAILING ADDRESS											
CITY			STATE		ZIP (	COUNTY					
PHONE	HONE # FAX #		ŧ		E-MAIL						
( )		(	)								
Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing											
	LICENSE TYPE:				Office Use Only:	Office Use Only:					
☐ Audiologist (Change of status from temporary to pern licensure)(\$50.00)( <i>AP1421</i> ) <i>Temp lic</i> #				ermanent	1421 - \$50.00 2619 - \$21.00	Check #					
Required fees: \$71.00 (includes criminal history record check fee)					2019 - \$21.00	Amount:					
						Cash #					
		hway 1-3)(\$71.00) <i>(A</i> <b>\$71.00 (includes cri</b>									
	eck fee)	,, 1100 (meruues err		Lic. #							
						REV. 02062023					
PAYMENT OPTIONS:											
Make checks payable to "Maine State Treasurer" – if you wish to pay by credit or debit card, fill out the following:											
NAME O.	F CARDHOLI	DER (please print)									
ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print)											
					n, Office of Professio	nal & Occupational					
Regulation to charge my card the following amount: \$  I understand that fees are non-refundable											
Card number:					Expiration Date						
SIGNATURE					DATE						

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION - OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

Phone: (207)624-8603 (TTY users call Maine relay 711) Fax: (207) 624-8637 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

#### **Frequently Asked Questions:**

- Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
- Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
- What hours are you open? Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and until further notice, the Gardiner Annex that houses the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation and other agencies is closed to the public. OPOR staff members work remotely from 8 am to 5 pm to review and process license applications. We advise you to mail paper applications to 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
- Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address-35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
- Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be emailed to you.

What if I have other questions? Visit our website at: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-speech-audiology-hearing or contact the office at Tel. 207-624-8603 or e-mail: slpaudhad.board@maine.gov

#### **NOTICES**

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant's criminal history record. The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191.

#### Before you seal the envelope, did you:

- Complete every item on the application
- Sign and date your application
- Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) *or* credit card information (plus signature)
- Include any required transcripts or exam results
- Make a copy of your application to keep for your records
- DO NOT SEND CASH.

Credentialing History												
Have you ever held other state/country?	[ ]YES [ ]NO											
Has any jurisdiction you hold or have he	[ ]YES [ ]NO											
If yes:												
Profession	License #	State/ Country	Date Issued	Expiration Da	Has this license been the subject of discipline or been denied? Yes or No							
		Backgro	ound Check Notice									
Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301-5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant's criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants.												
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.												
SIGNATURE												

# Please read the laws governing the licensure and practice of audiology prior to submitting your application. These are available at the following website:

https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-speech-audiology-hearing/home/laws-rules

### Licensure as an Audiologist

There are four (4) pathways to licensure as an Audiologist

#### **Change of status from Temporary to Permanent licensure:**

- Completed Application;
- Payment of \$50.00 license fee;
- Payment of \$21.00 criminal history records fee;
- A valid Certificate of Clinical Competency in Audiology from ASHA that is current at time of application;
- Office documentation demonstrating a passing score on the PRAXIS Examination in Audiology that was obtained no more than five (5) years prior to the application; and
- Verification of licensure for each license you hold or have held (see verification of license instructions on page 5)

#### Pathway 1 - Transcript Analysis, Examination:

- Completed Application;
- Payment of \$50.00 license fee;
- Payment of \$21.00 criminal history records check fee;
- Official Transcript documenting proof of a master's degree\*\*, doctoral degree, or equivalent degree\*\* for accredited institution (see Board Rules Chapter 3, Section 2 for more information);\*\*An application whose qualifying academic degree did not include the 1820-hour supervised clinical practicum described in Chapter 3, Section 2(1)(A)(2) of the Board's Rules
- Official documentation demonstrating a passing score on the PRAXIS Examination that was obtained no more than five (5) years prior to application; and
- Verification of licensure for each license you hold or have held (see verification of license instruction on page 5)

#### Pathway 2 - Certificate of Clinical Competency:

- Completed Application;
- Payment of \$50.00 license fee;
- Payment of \$21.00 criminal history records check fee;
- Official Transcript documenting proof of a master's degree, doctoral degree, or equivalent degree from accredited institution (see Board Rules Chapter 3, Section 2 for more information);
- A valid Certificate of Clinical Competency in Audiology from ASHA that is current at time of application; and
- Verification of licensure for each license you hold or have held (see verification of license instructions on page 5)

## Pathway 3 - Licensure in another jurisdiction:

- Completed Application;
- Payment of \$50.00 license fee;
- Payment of \$21.00 criminal history records check fee;
- Verification of licensure for each license you hold or have held (see verification of license instructions on page 5
- Proof of licensure in another jurisdiction that maintains professional standards determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to those set forth in Board Rules Chapter 3, Section 2(1) or (2) Copy of laws and/or rules from sending state acceptable

4 REV02062023

#### VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.

Please contact the state of licensure to request an official License Verification. At a minimum, the license verification must contain:

Name of State providing the License Verification

Your name

License number and expiration date

Status of your license i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended, revoked

Type of license issued to you

Date your license was issued

Disciplinary action(s) against your license, if any

Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly and in turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application.

You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State Board website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web-address, date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history, e.g. no discipline or discipline. If discipline is indicated, please submit a copy of the discipline imposed such as the Board Order or Agreement.

A copy of your license is not acceptable as a license verification.

5 REV02062023