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Application Checklist and Information 
□ Completed Application 
 

□ License Fee of $65.00 
 

□ SBI Fee of $21.00 
 Fees can be made in one payment 
 

□ License Verification 
 An Official Verification of Licensure Form from the jurisdiction(s) in which the applicant was ever 

licensed (online verifications are acceptable) 
 

□ Written confirmation of NBRC credentials.   
You can reach the NBRC by Telephone: Toll-Free: 888 – 341 – 4811 or  
913 – 895 – 4900 or via the internet at www.nbrc.org 
 

□ Transcript  (If you do not hold credentials with NBRC) An official academic transcript 
demonstrating completion of an educational program for respiratory therapists which is accredited 
by COARC or its predecessor accrediting body; and 

 □ Must pass NBRC Examination.   
 
The Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners requires that all supporting documents and fees be 
submitted with the filing of your application.  Your application will be considered incomplete and 
will be cancelled if supporting documents and/or fees are omitted.  Documents that have been 
modified or altered (including the use of any white out substance) in any way will not be accepted.  
 

 
PROCESSING TIME:   

 

Your application has greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all 
supporting documents are attached.  Action on this application is posted to the web in real time.  
Please visit our website if you wish to monitor progress.  If the status appears as Pending, this 
means that your application was received by this office and it is pending or under review.  Once 
reviewed and if everything about your application is complete and complies with requirements, the 
license will be issued and the status will show as ACTIVE. 
 

Please refrain from calling our office to “check” on your application as these calls only serve to slow 
our ability to review and process applications. Information regarding the status of applications may 
be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s website www.maine.gov/
professionallicensing.  We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request. 
 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR LICENSE: The Office no longer prints 
licenses. Upon issuance of your license, you will be notified by email using the email address you 
provide in this application from noreply@maine.gov that your license has been issued with your 
license attached to the email (a paper license will not be sent by regular mail).  The email with your 
license will contain the access code that is required to renew your license online when the time 
comes.  You may also update your contact information and email address using this access code, 
go online to www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.   

APPLICATION INSTRUCTION  
RESPIRATORY CARE TECHNICIAN  or RESPIRATORY CARE THERAPIST  
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NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check 
as part of the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRS §401 et seq).  
Public records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information 
supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing 
records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing 
addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social 

Security Number is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 

MRS §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to 

the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine 

Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information 

pursuant to 36 MRS §191. 

STATE OF MAINE   DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION  
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 
Phone:  (207) 624-8603    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine relay 711  web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

• Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 

• Sign and date your application 

• Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 

• Include any required transcripts or exam results 

• Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 

• DO NOT SEND CASH. 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

• Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine   
04333-0035. 
 

• Where are you located?  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

• What hours are you open?  Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and until further notice, the Gardiner An-
nex that houses the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation and other agencies is closed to 
the public. OPOR staff members work remotely from 8 am to 5 pm to review and process license appli-
cations. We advise you to mail paper applications to 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333  

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?  No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public 

until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing ad-
dress-35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333.  

 

• Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be emailed to you. 
 
• How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website:  
       http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx. 
 
• Can I fax my application? No. 

http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx


 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION  

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION  

Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners  
Respiratory Care Technician or Respiratory Care Therapist  

Required Fees: $86.00 (Non-Refundable) 

(includes criminal records check fees) 
 
 

 Respiratory Care Technician (TC) 

 Respiratory Care Therapist  (TH) 

  

Office Use Only: 
(TC/TH)   1421-  $ 65.00 
                2619 - $ 21.00    

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME         FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

DATE OF BIRTH            mm /  dd  / yyyy                                        SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER                -            - 

CONTACT ADDRESS  

 
CITY                                                     STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 

PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                            E-MAIL (Your license will be emailed) 
 

Rev 8/2022 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by Mastercard, Visa, Discover or American 

Express fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                LAST 

CREDIT CARD BILLING ADDRESS  (please print) 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
to charge my   VISA   MASTERCARD   DISCOVER   AMERICAN EXPRESS the following amount:  $_______ 

     I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 



SECTION 1: EDUCATION 

SECTION 2:  LICENSE VERIFICATION 
 
Please list all licenses that you hold or have ever held.  Use a separate sheet of paper if necessary.  
 

 
Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license  
you hold or have held,  or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                  NO            YES 
 

     If yes, enclose a signed detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 

Please check one: 

□ NBRC Credentialed; or 

□ Graduate of an COARC accredited respiratory care educational program 

College of Respiratory Care Date of Graduation 

    

Contact Address:    Street or P.O. Box 

  
 

City State Zip Code 

      

  

Note:  If you are applying for licensure based on 32 MRS § 9708 (3)(B)(2) an Official transcript 
demonstrating your degree must be submitted with your application. 
  

1. State, Territory, Country License Number/Type Date Issued Expiration Date 

        

2. State, Territory, Country License Number/Type Date Issued Expiration Date 

  
  

      

3. State, Territory, Country License Number/Type Date Issued Expiration Date 
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SECTION 3:  Check appropriate response to the questions below.  Any YES response must 
be fully explained by written statement on a separate sheet of paper, signed and dated, and 
submitted with your application.   

Have hospital or similar health care institution privileges ever been denied or which had 
previously been granted to you suspended, restricted or withdrawn involuntarily; or 
have you ever voluntarily surrendered privileges or resigned from staff membership 
while under peer review? 

□  Yes 
□  No 
  

 Have you ever received a sanction from Medicare or from a state Medicaid program? 

  

1.   □  Medicare  OR   □  Medicaid Program (State)       

2. Submit a copy of the official action by the entity. 
3. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of paper. 
 
Clarification on programs: 
• Medicare – Health program administered by the United States government for 

people that are (1) ages 65 or older, (2) under the age of 65 with certain disabilities, 
and/or (3) all ages with end-stage renal disease. 

 
• Medicaid – Health program administered by the United States government for 

people with limited incomes. 
 
• MaineCare – Health program administered by the State of Maine with similar 

eligibility requirements as Medicaid.  

 

□  Yes 
□  No 
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SECTION 4:  APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE 
 
Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided 
on this application.  Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), 
defaced, or compromised will not be accepted and will be returned.  This includes, but is not limited 
to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing required 
supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee. 
 
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and 

accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application I understand that the 

Maine Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners will rely upon this information for issuance of my 

license and that this information is truthful and factual. I further understand that sanctions may be 

imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be 

false. 

  Printed Name of Applicant   Title 

    

  Signature of Applicant   Date 

    

http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

