

MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY

Pharmacist Reinstatement

(91 days up to 2 years from Expiration)
(Reference Board Law 32 MRS §13734 (1))

Do not return the following informational pages with your application; it is for your information only

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
(Mailing address) 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
(Office location) Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Office Direct Line (207) 624-8620 or Main Receptionist (207) 624-8603
TTY users call Maine relay 711
FAX (207) 624-8637

Web address: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
Email: pharmacv.lic@maine.gov

FAQ's

Have a question? Please visit our list of Frequently Asked Questions.

Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?

No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address

35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333.

<u>APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS</u> PHARMACIST REINSTATEMENT

The following is a guideline to assist in your application process. It does not, however, replace the requirements outlined in the Maine Board of Pharmacy Laws and Rules. Please review them carefully for more detailed and clarifying information.

The Board may waive the Naplex and the Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam. Below is the information in the event you are required to re-test for either examination.

- If you are hold a current active licensed in another state you are NOT required to re-take the examinations.
- If you are <u>NOT currently licensed in another state</u> you are required to re-take the MPJE.
 Effective May 1, 2017 the Maine Board will no longer be qualifying candidates for the MPJE.
 Prior to submitting this application you must have obtained a passing score on the Maine MPJE examination.

To be submitted with your application:

- You must demonstrate that you are at least 21 years of age. A photocopy of your official birth certificate or other official legal document is acceptable.
- Official transcripts of your pharmacy degree must accompany your application.
 - All Foreign pharmacy graduates must submit the FPGEC issued by NABP. You must submit the appropriate certification evidence issued by NABP with this application. Please visit the NABP website for information on the FPGEE process and to contact NABP www.nabp.pharmacy. We cannot assist you on this matter.
- You must provide evidence of having completed a minimum of 1,500 internship hours from a college or state licensing body. If a form is required, they accessible online at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
- If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.
- 15 Hours of Continuing Education completed during the calendar year preceding this application

For Specialty Authorization:

In Maine, you must be authorized to Administer Drugs and Vaccines and/or Collaborative Drug
Therapy Management by virtue of additional license(s). Applications to apply for an initial
Administration of Drugs and Vaccines or Collaborative Drug Therapy Management are
available online at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Continuing Education:

As a Pharmacist you will be required to satisfy the Continuing Education requirements pursuant to 32 MRSA § 13735 and Board Rules Chapter 5. Please be sure to review this information carefully.

Laws and Rules:

Maine Board of Pharmacy Laws and Rules

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/pharmacy/laws.html All relevant laws and rules are accessible from this web page.

Title 5 Administrative Procedures and Services Chapter 341

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html

Title 10 Department of Business Regulation Law §§8001-8011

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules 02 041

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041

Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees

Chapter 11, Late Renewals

Chapter 13, Uniform Rule for the Substantiation of Continuing Education Requirements

This office cannot provide you with a hard copy of laws and rules. However, all of these documents are available online at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. Please visit the websites listed above to access these documents electronically. These documents may be subject to change without notice and it is strongly advised that you periodically revisit these sites for any updates.

Processing Time:

Your application has a greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all supporting documents are attached. Please visit our website at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing to monitor your application's progress in real time. If the status appears as "PENDING", this means that your application was received by this office, and is pending or under review. Once reviewed, and if everything about your application is complete and complies with requirements, the permit will be issued. The status online will show as "ACTIVE". If your application is incomplete, a letter will be mailed to you.

Please refrain from calling our office to "check" on your application as these calls only serve to slow our ability to review and process applications.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR LICENSE:

The Office no longer prints licenses. You will be notified by email from noreply@maine.gov using the email address you provide on this application. A copy of your license will be attached to that email. (a paper license will not be sent by regular mail). The email with your license will contain the access code that is required to renew your license online when the time comes. You may also update your contact information and email address on our website www.maine.gov/professionallicensing using your access code.

Approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of your license a courtesy renewal reminder will be sent to you by email. It is important that you maintain a current email on file, or you risk not being able to receive the renewal reminder. You do not need to wait for a renewal reminder to renew your license. The online renewal opens sixty (60) days prior to the license expiring and you may renew online anytime. Failure to receive a courtesy renewal reminder notice does not waive your responsibility to renew your license in a timely manner.

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

* * A copy of your license is not considered a license verification * *

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.

You must contact the State Licensing Board or Jurisdiction that you currently hold a valid license to obtain a license verification. At a minimum, the license verification must include:

- Initial date of issuance
- Expiration date
- Current status, i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended, or revoked.
- Indication of discipline-yes/no, a checkbox, (no) files attached, etc.—if the State requires a separate search, such as New York State, submit the page where your name would be listed if you had discipline, but do not submit all the search results (could be 20-30 pages).

Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly and in turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application.

A sample license verification is available on the Board's website in the applications and forms section.

IMPORTANT: Applications submitted without <u>all of the Verifications of Licensure</u> from the licensing jurisdiction(s) will not be accepted and your application returned as incomplete.

You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State Board website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web-address and date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history.



SIGNATURE

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

MAINE				
	APPLICA	NT INFORMATION (p	lease print)	
FULL LEGAL NAME	FIRST	MIDDLE INITIAL	LAS	ST
ANY OTHER NAMES	EVER USED:			
DATE OF BIRTH	mm I dd I yyyy	SOCIAL S	ECURITY NUMBER	 २
CONTACT ADDRESS				<u>·</u>
CITY	STATE	ZIP	COUNTY	
PHONE # ()	FAX#	() E	E-MAIL	
consideration an applic		d. The Office of Profession		nted the authority to take into al Regulation requires a criminal
	Pharr	BOARD OF PH macist Reinstat s - \$196.00 (No	tement	able)
License Number: _ Date License Expir	red:	Office Use Only PR 1421 - \$75.00 2619 - \$21.00 2090 - \$100.0	Che Am Cas 00 Lic Iss	office Use Only: eck # nount: sh # ue Date p. Date
Make checks payable to		PAYMENT OPTIONS: If you wish to pay by credit	card, fill out the foll	lowing:
	CARDHOLDER (please p			
•		ancial Regulation, Office of COVER □ AMERICAN EXF		
-	stand that fees are non-refur		KESS THE IOHOWING	3 amount. φ
Card number:			on Date mm / yyy	
Jara Harribor.		=xp.r.a.i.	on Bate min , yyy	J.

DATE

SECTION 1: INTERNSHIP

You must submit evidence of having completed 1,500 hours of internship training.				
□ Evidence from the college wh	□ Evidence from the college where I completed a pharmacy degree program.			
☐ Signed affidavit(s) from Prece	eptor(s).			
□ Certification by a state pharm	acy licensing board where these h	nours were reported.		
SECTION 2: EDUCATION				
Please check all that apply:				
□ American Council on Pharma	ceutical Education (ACPE)			
□ Canadian Council for Accredi	tation of Pharmacy Programs (CC	CAP)		
□ Foreign Pharmacy Graduate - FPGEC				
College of Pharmacy Date of Graduation				
Contact Address	PO BOX or Street Address			
City	State	Zip		
Official transcripts demonstrating your degree must be submitted with your application.				
SECTION 3: CONTINUING EDUCATION				
Your license requires 15 hours of continuing education for reinstatement. After you have reviewed the continuing education requirement listed in title 32 §13735 and Board Rules Chapter 5, please indicate whether you have met the requirements. You must submit the certificates of completion and/or NABP CPE report demonstrating completion with this application.				

<u>SECTION 4:</u> LIST BELOW <u>EVERY</u> JURISDICTION IN WHICH YOU HOLD OR HAVE EVER HELD A PROFESSIONAL LICENSE. Includes pharmacy technician, pharmacy intern, pharmacist or any other professional license or registration. List each state in which you <u>hold or have ever held</u> a pharmacy technician, pharmacist or pharmacy intern license or registration.

1. State, Territory, Country	License Number/ Type	Date Issued	Expiration Date
2. State, Territory, Country	License Number/ Type	Date Issued	Expiration Date
3. State, Territory, Country	License Number/ Type	Date Issued	Expiration Date
4. State, Territory, Country	License Number/ Type	Date Issued	Expiration Date

Use a separate sheet of paper if additional space is needed.

NOTE: For each of the above, you must <u>submit with this application an official Verification of Licensure from each licensing jurisdiction</u>. **IMPORTANT:** Applications submitted without <u>all of the Verifications of Licensure</u> from the licensing jurisdiction(s) will not be accepted and your application returned as incomplete.

SECTION 5: Check appropriate response to the questions below. Any YES response must be fully explained by written statement on a separate sheet of paper, signed and dated, and submitted with your application.

Have you ever been denied registration by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) or have you ever had a DEA Registration modified, restricted, suspended or revoked? Has any state or province denied, restricted, modified, suspended or revoked your state permit to prescribe or dispense controlled substances? If yes: 1. □ DEA action □ Other State of Province (Name) 2. Submit a copy of the official action by the entity. 3. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of paper.	□ Yes □ No
Have you ever received a sanction from Medicare or from a state Medicaid program? 1. □ Medicare OR □ Medicaid Program (State) 2. Submit a copy of the official action by the entity. 3. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of paper. Clarification on programs: • Medicare – Health program administered by the United States government for people that are (1) ages 65 or older, (2) under the age of 65 with certain disabilities, and/or (3) all ages with end-stage renal disease. • Medicaid – Health program administered by the United States government for people with limited incomes. • MaineCare – Health program administered by the State of Maine with similar eligibility requirements as Medicaid.	□ Yes □ No

SECTION 6: NOTICES

Please Note:

Pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G - any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be reported to the Office within 10 days.

You can access this Law for your review at: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

<u>SECTION 7</u>: APPLICANT'S CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided on this application. Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), defaced, or compromised will not be accepted and will be returned. This includes, but is not limited to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing required supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee.

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application I understand that the Maine Board of Pharmacy will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. I further understand that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be false.

The Applicant certifies by his/her signature that the management of the pharmacy will be vested with the licensed pharmacist in all matters directly or indirectly related to the practice of pharmacy or in any matters related to health, welfare, and safety of the public, as required by 32 MRS Section 13752(4).

Applications that are incomplete, altered (including the use of any white out substance), defaced, or compromised will not be accepted and will be returned. This includes, but not limited to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee.

Printed Name of Applicant	Title
Signature of Applicant	Date



STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION

MAINE BOARD OF PHARMACY

35 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035 TEL:(207)624-8620 - FAX:(207)624-8637

AFFIDAVIT OF INTERNSHIP HOURS

This form is only to be used if your state does not certify intern hours obtained
Hours worked at this site (give only exact dates that this report covers – not entire work history)

		•			<u> </u>	
Last Name	First N	First Name		Middle Name		
Contact Address (Street or F	PO Box)			•		
City		State			Zip Code	
Intern License Number		State Issue	State Issued Expiration		tion Date	
Place of Internship - Name of Faci	ility		License Number			
·						
Physical Address						
City		State			Zip Code	
Telephone Number						
()						
Preceptor Name			License Number			
The above information was taken f	rom payroll or ot	ther records wh	ich are kept	at the f	following location(s) and	
Beginning Date of this Report	Beginning Date of this Report		Total number of hours worked at this site during the period stated.			
						
may be examined by an agent of the	ne Board (Give S	Street Address	City and St	ate)·		
	ic Board (Give c	or cer madress,	Oity, and Oit			
I hereby state that the intern name and practiced in accordance with the for certifying the practical experience on the progress and aptitude of the the Maine Board of Pharmacy will and that sanctions may be imposed information is found to be false.	ne Board's Laws ce affidavits reque intern when rec rely upon this inf d, including deni	s and Rules. I fu uired by the Ma quested. By su ormation and t al, suspension	urther unders iine Board of bmitting this hat this inforr or revocation	tand the Pharm application application of my	nat I shall be responsible nacy and submit reports ation I understand that is truthful and factual license, if this	
Affirmation and Signature of Prece	ptor	Date	Stat	e and L	_icense #	