

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION Board of Funeral Service 35 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035

Anne L. Head Commissioner

BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

May 23, 2022

Notice to all licensees of the Maine Board of Funeral Service:

In 2019 the Maine legislature updated the Board of Funeral Service's statute regarding continuing education. (32 M.R.S. § 1506(2)). The law now requires twelve (12) hours of continuing education over a two-year period of which no more than six (6) hours can be completed through online or distance learning. Because of the way the law is drafted, the six hours of required in person training can only be satisfied by physically attending live, in-person continuing education programs. The remaining six hours may be earned through interactive zoom, or any other online or distance learning program.

Chapter 11 of Board rules is now outdated and does not reflect the 2019 statutory change. The Board will be working on amending that rule accordingly and will not be enforcing the existing rule to the extent it conflicts with the law.

Therefore, for the licensing cycle beginning March 2021 - March 2023 all licensees must complete 12 hours of continuing education of which no more 6 of the 12 hours may be completed through online or distance learning programs.

OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE, GARDINER, MAINE