HOW TO APPLY

for the

Maine Laws and Rule Examination

(Maine LR)



Prepared for The Maine State Board of Funeral Service by



1885 SHELBY LANE
FAYETTEVILLE, AR 72704
TEL 479-442-7076 & FAX 479-442-7090
E-MAIL: EXAMS@THECONFERENCEONLINE.ORG
WWW.THECONFERENCEONLINE.ORG
EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 2010

Part I About the Maine Law and Rule Examination

Purpose

The purpose of the Maine LR is to provide the Maine State Board of Funeral Service with a valid evaluation of an applicant for licensure in the diverse areas of competency required for the fields of funeral directing and/or embalming.

Test Format

The Maine LR is a computer-based exam.

The test consists of **50** multiple-choice questions.

Scores are calculated based on all **50** of those questions.

The Maine LR is a timed examination.

You are allowed 3 minutes for the Non-Disclosure Agreement.

You are allowed **57minutes** to complete the test.

Where Is the Test Given?

The examination is given at Pearson Professional Testing Centers located across the U.S. For a complete list of testing locations, please visit :www.pearsonvue.com/icfseb

Eligibility

The Maine State Board of Funeral Service determines eligibility of candidates to sit for the Maine LR. Upon determination of eligibility, the Maine State Board of Funeral Service submits eligibility to The Conference office. NO CANDIDATE WILL BE SCHEDULED TO SIT FOR THE Maine LR UNTIL THIS ELIGIBILITY IS ON FILE WITH THE CONFERENCE OFFICE.

Verification of eligibility is necessary only for the FIRST TIME you register for the exam. However, you DO have to submit an APPLICATION AND PAYMENT EACH TIME you take the exam.

Applicants for the Maine LR will register for the examination and pay the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc. directly. The Maine State Board of Funeral Service will collect any other applicable fees involved in the licensure process from the candidates.

Exam Schedule

You may submit your Maine LR application at any time. The test is offered year-round and you schedule your own appointment for the time and test center of your choice. There is no required waiting period between scheduling and taking the exam. Waiting time will depend on seating availability only.

Reschedule or Cancel

If you need to cancel or reschedule your examination appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 24 HOURS prior to your examination date. <u>THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS TO THIS POLICY!!!</u>

Exam Fee

The fee for the Maine LR is \$120.00 (each time)

All registration fees are non-refundable.

Your payment will be held on account for up to 12 months. After 12 months, all fees are forfeited.

NOTE: The fee must accompany your application and must be in the form of a money order, cashier's check, or **major credit/debit card** only.

No personal or company checks are accepted.

If you attempt to pay with a personal or company check, it will be returned to you and your application will not be processed.

Part 2 How to Register (Apply) for the Maine LR Exam

STEP 1.

Submit Application and Payment to The Conference

You may **submit application and payment ONLINE** at www.theconferenceonline.org **OR MAIL** your completed application and a money order, bank cashier's check, or major credit/debit card authorization to:

The Conference, 1885 Shelby Lane, Fayetteville, AR 72704

OR FAX the completed application with major credit/debit card authorization to The Conference Office at (479) 442-7090

STEP 2.

Wait! ... Please allow 2 to 3 business days for processing.

STEP 3.

Schedule your exam with Pearson VUE LOCATE the test center of your choice

Please visit <u>www.pearsonvue.com/icfseb</u>

for a complete listing of testing centers

THEN CALL the Pearson Schedule Center at 1-800-709-0180

OR GO ON LINE to www.pearsonvue.com/icfseb

NOTE: Your "ICFSEB or Conference ID number" is your Social Security Number.

Part 3 Taking the Maine Law and Rule Examination

Applicants for the Maine LR must be acutely aware of the importance of being prepared in advance for the examination. Make sure you know the testing site location, room, and reporting time in advance and have all required items (including identification) before you leave for the exam site. Please be on time for the exam as candidates who show up late will not be admitted to the exam site and fees will not be refunded.

What do I need to bring to the exam?

1. Official Picture Identification with Signature

Issued by a government agency, such as a valid (permanent, current, unexpired, legible) driver's license; U.S. passport; or Federal, State, County, or City Employee I.D. card.

NOTE: A student I.D. card is not considered official identification.

2. Secondary Identification

A second form of identification with your **signature** on it. This can be a credit card with signature, social security card with signature, a student I.D. card with signature, a membership card (i.e., Sam's Card, PACE Card) or a notarized photograph with signature.

The name on both of your IDs MUST MATCH the name on your application!

3. Registration Confirmation

You will receive a letter from Pearson VUE confirming your test appointment.

You may want to bring this letter with you in case any questions arise as to your scheduled location and time.

Official Photograph

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> The photograph taken on the day of your examination will be included on your Maine LR Exam Certified scores sent to The Maine State Board of Funeral Service for licensure. As these pictures are intended for professional identification purposes, it is of the utmost importance that you pose in a professional manner. Inappropriate photos will not be accepted -- Your scores will be held until an appropriate notarized photo is received in The Conference office.

Part 4 After Taking the Maine Law and Rule Examination

Notification of Results

Results of the Maine LR will be provided to you and to the Maine State Board of Funeral Service. You will receive your scores immediately following your exam. You will be notified *in writing* within 2 weeks by The Conference if there is any change in your initial score.

Scores will not be given out over the telephone to anyone.

Please keep deadlines with the Maine State Board of Funeral Service in mind when determining a timeline for registering for the Maine LR, as your scores must be sent via mail and cannot be faxed under any circumstances.

Passing the Maine Law and Rule Examination

Once you have passed your Maine LR Examination, you will receive an 8"x11" certificate suitable for framing. The certificate will be mailed directly to you from The Conference office and should arrive within approximately 6 weeks from the date you sat for the examination.

Failure of the Maine Law and Rule Examination

- A minimum score of 75% is required to pass the Maine LR.
- You are required to wait a period of 30 days before retaking the Maine LR.
- The re-examination fee for the Maine LR is \$120.00.
- You must repeat the registration process in order to retake the exam.