
State of Maine 
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

 
INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME: 
FIRST MIDDLE INITIAL LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

mm / dd / yyyy - - 
MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY 

PHONE # FAX # E-MAIL 
( ) ( ) 

 

Massage Therapy 
 

LICENSE TYPE: Office Use Only: Office Use Only: 

1421 - $40.00 Check #  
 Massage Therapist (MT1421) 2619 - $21.00 

Amount:  
Required fees: $61.00 (includes criminal history 
records check fee) Cash #  

Lic. #  
 

REV. 05/02/2023 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by credit or debit card, fill out the following: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print) 

ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print) 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational 
Regulation to charge my card the following amount: $  
 I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:  Expiration Date 

SIGNATURE DATE  
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What if I have other questions? Visit our website at: 
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage-therapy-licensure or contact the office at Tel. 
207-624-8603 or e-mail: massage.therapy@maine.gov 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 

• Complete every item on the application 
• Sign and date your application 
• Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus 

signature) 
• Include any required transcripts or exam results 
• Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 
• DO NOT SEND CASH. 

 
 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
• Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333- 

0035 
 

• Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

• What hours are you open? Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and until further notice, the Gardiner Annex that 
houses the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation and other agencies is closed to the public. OPOR 
staff members work remotely from 8 am to 5 pm to review and process license applications. We advise you to 
mail paper applications to 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until 

further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address-35 State 
House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 

 
• Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be emailed to you. 

 
NOTICES 

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take 
into consideration an applicant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants. 

 
PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 
MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for 
licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number 
and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be 
transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). 
Disclosure of your Social Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for 
tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC 
§405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent 
for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No 
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information 
pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION - OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 
Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 

Phone: (207)624-8603 (TTY users call Maine relay 711) Fax: (207) 624-8637 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

mailto:massage.therapy@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing


3 REV. 05022023  

Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301-5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an appli- 
cant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal his- 
tory records check as part of the application process for all applicants. 

Background Check Notice 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the 
best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is 
truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, suspension or rev- 
ocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

 
SIGNATURE:   DATE:   

Affirmation 

Credentialing History 

Have you ever held a professional license/certification/registration in this or any 
other state/country? 
Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license 
you hold or have held, or denied your application for licensure? 

[  ] YES [  ] NO 
 
[  ] YES [  ] NO 

If yes: 

 

 

Profession License # State/ 
Country 

Date Issued Expiration Date Has this license been 
the subject of discipline 
or been denied? Yes or 
No 
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Please read the laws governing the licensure and practice of massage therapy prior to 
submitting your application. These are available at the following website: 

 
            https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage-therapy-licensure/home/laws-rules 
 

Please include the following with your application: 

• Payment of $40.00 license fee; 
• Payment of $21.00 criminal history records check fee; 
• Proof of completion of high school or its equivalent (copy of diploma, GED or 

transcript sent by mail or courier accepted); 
• Proof of current CPR certification (copy of certification card sent by mail or courier 

accepted); 
• Proof of current First Aid certification (copy of certification card sent by mail or courier 

accepted); 
• Verification of licensure for each license you hold or have held (see verification of 

license instructions on page 5); and 
• Documented proof of one of the following: 

• Official transcript indicating graduation/completion from a Department approved 
Massage Therapy school; or 

• Official transcript indicating graduation/completion from an unapproved school 
and a fully completed Core Curriculum Forms (see pages 6-7) with course 
descriptions and/or syllabi; or 

• Official score report documenting passage of the certification examination issued 
directly to this office from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic 
Massage and Bodywork (contact NCBTMB directly: www.ncbtmb.org ~ 
info@ncbtmb.org ~ (800)296-0664); or 

• Official score report documenting passage of the MBLEx issued directly to this 
office from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (contact the 
Federation directly: www.fsmtb.org ~ mblex@fsmtb.org ~ (866)962-3926); or 

• Proof of current licensure in another jurisdiction that maintains professional 
standards determined to be substantially equivalent to those set forth in Board 
Rules, Chapter 300 - Copy of laws and/or rules   
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage-therapy-      
licensure/home/laws-rules from sending state acceptable 
 

 
 
 

http://www.ncbtmb.org/
mailto:info@ncbtmb.org
http://www.fsmtb.org/
mailto:mblex@fsmtb.org
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage-therapy-
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit 
evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification. 

 
Please contact the state of licensure to request an official License Verification. At a minimum, 
the license verification must contain: 

 
Name of State providing the License Verification 
Your name 
License number and expiration date 
Status of your license i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended, revoked 
Type of license issued to you 
Date your license was issued 
Disciplinary action(s) against your license, if any 

 
Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly 
and in turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application. 

 
You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State 
Board website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web 
-address, date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history, 
e.g. no discipline or discipline. If discipline is indicated, please submit a copy of the discipline 
imposed such as the Board Order or Agreement. 

 
A copy of your license is not acceptable as a license verification. 
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Applicant’s Name:    

Applicant’s School:   

 
 
 

CORE CURRICULUM REQUIREMENTS 
 

Applicants seeking licensure via a schooling pathway whose school was not approved at the time of 
matriculation must complete this form and mail it to the Office for processing. The educational program must 
have included at least five hundred (500) hours of classroom and clinical instruction as well as the content 
areas outlined per the Rules of the Massage Therapy Program. 

 
In order to expedite review of your application, you are encouraged to submit descriptive information 
(e.g. course syllabus or excerpt from the student catalogue current at the time that you attended the 
school) pertaining to the content of the courses listed on your student transcript. This will assist us in 
determining whether or not the courses you have taken meet these requirements. 

 
 

1. Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Pathology (120 hours 
minimum). 

 
Course #: 
Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

 
2. Massage Therapy Theory, Technique, and Practice which includes, but is not limited 

to the following: Gliding Strokes; Kneading; Direct Pressure; Deep Friction; 
Superficial Warming Techniques; Percussion; Compression (pumping); Vibration; 
Jostling; Shaking; Rocking. 

 
Course #: 

 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   
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Applicant’s Name:    

Applicant’s School:   

 
 
 
 
 

3. Contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, body mechanics, business, history, ethics, 
and legalities of massage and professional standards regarding draping and modesty. 

 
Course #: 

 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

4. A minimum of 100 hours of supervised hands-on practice. 

Course #: 
Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
 

Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Course #: 
Course Name: 
Number of Hours:   

Total Hours of Supervised Hands-on Practice:   

TOTAL CURRICULUM HOURS:   
(Must be at least 500) 
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