

## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGU

Office Of Professional and Occupational Regulation State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 35 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0035

> Anne L. Head, Esq. Commissioner

## **Domestic Violence Training Requirements**

## Additional Requirement for Initial Licensure - Pursuant to 32 MRS § 3831

**Beginning January 1, 2020** - an applicant for initial licensure in Maine shall demonstrate a minimum of 3 hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence. The course work shall include:

- Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies;
- Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics.

The coursework may be fulfilled through course work taken in fulfillment of educational requirements for licensure or course work provided through contact hours, internet hours or distance learning programs, as evidenced by certification from an accredited educational institution.

An applicant for initial licensure that cannot demonstrate completion of the required 3 hours of course work at the time the application is submitted shall submit documentation that the requirement has been met upon the applicant's first application for renewal.

## Additional Renewal Requirement Pursuant to 32 MRS § 3835

**Beginning January 1, 2020** - an applicant for license renewal in Maine shall demonstrate a one-time successful completion of a minimum of 3 contact hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence. The course work shall include:

- Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies;
- Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics.

The coursework may be fulfilled through course work provided through contact hours, internet hours or distance learning programs, as evidenced by certification from an accredited educational institution or equivalent teaching or practice experience. The board may accept equivalent courses in family or intimate partner violence screening and referral and intervention strategies or equivalent teaching or practice experience completed prior to January 1, 2020.

Continuing education courses taken to meet the requirement will be applied to continuing education requirements for that renewal.

To access the full statute, please go to the website for the Board of Examiners of Psychologists via the following link:

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/psychologists/laws.html