

### State of Maine

### **BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY**

The information in this application packet is to assist you in completing your application. It is recommended that you review applicable laws and rules for further guidance.

# LICENSE REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR:

### **CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT**

for individuals previously licensed with the Maine Board of Accountancy who submit an application more than 90 days after the expiration of their Maine CPA license

Do not return the informational pages with your application; they are for your information only. Return the license application and documents listed on the checklist only

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
(Mailing address) 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
(Office location) Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Office Direct Line (207) 624-8672
TTY users call Maine relay 711

Web address: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/accountancy Email: accountancy.board@maine.gov

Revised 06/2020

### GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

### **10 DAY NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:**

Pursuant to 10 M.R.S §8003-G, any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be reported to the Maine Board of Accountancy within 10 days.

### IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING LICENSE DELIVERY:

The Maine Board of Accountancy does not print licenses. Your license will be sent to you at the email address you provide to us on your application. The license will arrive from email sender address: noreply@maine.gov. The attachment with this email is your license where you may open it and print your license. If you do not locate your license in your inbox, please check your junk/spam folders for this email. Please either save our email address (noreply@maine.gov) in your contacts or as a safe sender to prevent your license from being directed to your junk/spam folders.

### LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION:

Approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of your license a courtesy renewal reminder will be sent to you by email. It is important that you maintain a current email on file, or you risk not being able to receive the renewal reminder. You do not need to wait for a renewal reminder to renew your license. The online renewal opens sixty days prior to the license expiring and you may renew online. Failure to receive a courtesy renewal reminder notice does not impact your responsibility to renew your license in a timely manner.

### MAINE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY LAWS AND RULES:

The Maine Board of Accountancy cannot provide you with a hard copy of laws and rules. However, all applicable laws and rules are available online, and may be accessed via the websites listed below. You are responsible for knowing and complying with all board laws and rules throughout your licensure. Please note, all laws and rules may be subject to change without notice and it is strongly advised to periodically check for updates.

### **Board of Accountancy Laws:**

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch113sec0.html

### **Board of Accountancy Rules**:

https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/accountancy/home/laws-rules

### <u>Title 5, Chapter 375: Maine Administrative Procedure Act</u>:

https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/5/title5ch375sec0.html

### Title 10, Chapter 901: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation:

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

### **APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME:**

Accountancy Rules.

Your application has a greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all supporting documents are included. To ensure that the Maine Board of Accountancy received your application please visit our website at

https://www.pfr.maine.gov/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx?board=4110. After your application has been received your name will appear when you complete a "licensee search" on your name as you entered it on your application. The status will appear as "Pending." This is not an actual license approval at this point; it is simply a verification that an application has been received and is in the queue for review. When a license is issued the status will change from pending to active.

Please refrain from calling our office to "check" on your application as these calls only serve to slow our ability to review and process applications.

### LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND CHECKLIST

# THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE MAINE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY FOR LICENSURE CONSIDERATION: License Reinstatement Application - completed, signed and dated; and Application Fees - make checks payable to "Maine State Treasurer" or if you are paying by debit/credit card please complete the bottom "Payment Options" portion of the license application completely and legibly; and Summary of Continuing Professional Education - Fully completed the Summary of Continuing Professional Education: You must have completed at least 80 hours of continuing education in the preceding 24 months, including at least 4 hours of professional ethics. The continuing professional

education must meet the requirements set forth in Section 8 of the Maine Board of

State of Maine, Department of Professional & Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

Phone: (207) 624-8603 Email: accountancy.board@maine.gov Maine Relay 711 (TTY)

### **Frequently Asked Questions:**

- Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
- Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
- What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays
- Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.
- Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be emailed to you.
- How long does it take to process an application? You can check our website: <a href="https://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing">www.maine.gov/professionallicensing</a>. Your application will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as your request is approved the status of your application will show up as ACTIVE.

### **NOTICES**

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant's criminal history record. The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security Number is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRS §175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRS §191.

### Before you seal the envelope, did you:

- Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)
- Sign and date your application
- Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
- Make a copy of your application to keep for your records DO NOT SEND CASH.



# State of Maine Department of Professional & Financial Regulation Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation

### **INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION**

	APPL	ICANT INFOR	RMATION (please	print)	
FULL LEGAL NAME	FIRST	MIDDLE	INITIAL	LAST	
ANY OTHER NAMES EVE	R USED:				
DATE OF BIRTH:		SOCIAL SE	CURITY NUMBER:		
MAILING ADDRESS					
CITY		STATE		ZIP	
PHONE #		E-M	AIL		
		DISC	LOSURE		
Has any jurisdiction take application for licensure			professional licenses, enclose a detailed e		•
By my signature, I hereby cer By submitting this application my license and that this inform suspension or revocation of n	, I affirm that the Office mation is truthful and	ce of Professional factual. I also und	& Occupational Regulation derstand that sanctions managed	on will rely upon this	information for issuance of
SIGNATURE			DATE		
BOARD OF A	ACCOUNT	ANCY F	REINSTATEM	1ENT	Office Use Only:
APPLICATION					Check #
(91 days after license expiration)					Amount: Cash # Lic. #
	Required		1421-\$35.00 2619-\$21.00		
(in	cludes crimina	al records c	heck fee)		
Make checks paya	able to " <b>Maine Stat</b>	te Treasurer" - I	f you wish to pay by cr	edit or debit card, f	ill out the following:
AME OF CARDHOLDER (p	lease print)	FIRST	MIDDLE INITIAL	LAST	-
DDRESS OF CARDHOLDE	R (please print)				
uthorize the Department of )VISA ( ) MASTERCARD		-		•	I Regulation to charge my
Card number:	XXX-XXXX-XX	XX-XXXX		Card Expiration	Date mm / yyyy
GNATURE	check here ( )	I understar DA	nd that fees are no	on-refundable.	

Rev. (06/2020) CPA License Reinstatement App Pg. 1 of 2

### **SUMMARY OF CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION**

## 80 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION IN THE LAST 24 MONTHS TO INCLUDE AT LEAST 4 HOURS OF PROFESSIONAL ETHICS

Sponsor	Program Title/Description	Date	Location	Hours
Credit as an Instructor, Dis	scussion Leader or Speaker (See Cha	apter 5 of the Rules	for Limitations)	
Sponsor	Program Title/Description	Date	Location	Hours
Four-Hours of Ethics				
	The ID account on	I D-13	T 1	T 112
Sponsor	Program Title/Description	Date	Location	Hours