

State of Maine

BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY LICENSING PROGRAM

The information in this application packet is to assist you in completing your application. It is recommended that you review applicable laws and rules for further guidance.

LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT FOR APPLICANTS LICENSED FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY OUTSIDE THE UNITIED STATES

AESTHETICIAN, BARBER HAIR STYLIST, COSMETOLOGIST, HAIR DESIGNER, OR NAIL TECHNICIAN

YOU MUST HOLD A VALID LICENSE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES

Do not return the informational pages with your application; they are for your information only

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (Mailing address) 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 (Office location) Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

> Office Direct Line (207) 624-8579 TTY users call Maine relay 711 FAX (207) 624-8637 Web address: <u>www.maine.gov/professionallicensing</u> Email: <u>barbercosm.lic@maine.gov</u>

> > FAQ's

Have a question? Please visit our list of Frequently Asked Questions.

Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?

No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR ENDORSEMENT / LICENSE TRANSFER

If you hold a valid license in another Country outside the United States or it's Jurisdiction and meet ONE of the following requirements you may qualify for licensure in Maine.

AESTHETIC Education Requirements:

- A. Satisfactorily completed 600 hours of aesthetics instruction in a licensed school in not less than 5 months; or
- B. Satisfactorily completed a course of study in aesthetics in a licensed school plus work experience as an aesthetician totaling at least 1,000 hours; or
- C. Satisfactorily completed a 1,000-hour aesthetic trainee/apprenticeship program.

BARBERING HAIR STYLIST Education Requirements:

- A. Satisfactorily completed 800 hours of barber hair styling instruction in a licensed school in not less than 5 months; <u>or</u>
- B. Satisfactorily completed a course of study in barber hair styling in a licensed school plus show proof of work experience as a barber totaling at least 1600 hours; or
- C. Satisfactorily completed 1,600-hours of barber hair styling trainee/apprenticeship program.

COSMETOLOGY Education Requirements:

- A. Satisfactorily completed 1,500 hours of barbering or cosmetology instruction in a licensed school in not less than 9 months; <u>or</u>
- B. Satisfactorily completed a course of study in barbering or cosmetology in a licensed school plus show proof of work experience as a barber or cosmetologist totaling at least 2,500 hours; or
- C. Satisfactorily completed a 2,500-hours of barbering or cosmetology trainee/apprenticeship program.

HAIR DESIGNER Education Requirements:

- A. Satisfactorily completed 1,200 hours of hair design instruction in a licensed school in not less than 7 months; <u>or</u>
- B. Satisfactorily completed a course of study in hair design in a licensed school plus show proof of work experience as a nail technologist totaling at least 400 hours; or
- C. Satisfactorily completed a 2,000 hour hair designer trainee/apprenticeship program distributed over a period of at least 12 months.

NAIL TECHNOLOGY Education Requirements:

- A. Satisfactorily completed 200 hours of nail technology instruction in a licensed school in not less than 5 weeks; or
- B. Satisfactorily completed a course of study in nail technology in a licensed school plus show proof of work experience as a nail technologist totaling at least 400 hours; or
- C. Satisfactorily completed a 400 hour nail technologist trainee/apprenticeship program.

Complete and submit this application and supporting documents to the Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program. <u>The following must be submitted with your application</u>:

1. Fee;

2. An original verification of licensure from the state licensing board or jurisdiction that you currently hold a valid license. (Please see page 7 of the application packet for what the license verification must include),

3. Transcript or affidavit demonstrating that you have satisfactorily completed your course of study; and

4. Evidence of having passed a Written and Practical examinations.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR LICENSE:

The Office no longer prints licenses. Your license will be sent to you at the email address you provide to us on your application. The license will arrive to your email box under this email address: <u>noreply@maine.gov</u>. The attachment with this email is your license where you may open it and print your license. A paper license <u>will not</u> be sent to you, your license is the document attached to the noreply@maine.gov email.

IMPORTANT TO RETAIN FOR FUTURE RENEWALS:

The noreply@maine.gov email with your license <u>will contain the password that is required to</u> <u>renew your license online when the time comes</u>. Do not lose your password. You may also update your contact information and email address on our website <u>www.maine.gov/</u> <u>professionallicensing</u> using your password. Please remember, that if you change your email address at any time, you must by law, update your email address online within 10 days of the change. Failing to maintain a current email will jeopardize any notices sent to you by this Office.

Approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of your license a <u>courtesy renewal reminder</u> may be sent to you by email, which is the opening period you may begin to renew your license. Failure to receive a courtesy renewal reminder notice does not waive your responsibility to renew your license in a timely manner or to practice without a valid license in violation of laws.

PROCESSING TIME:

Your application has a greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all supporting documents are attached. Please visit our website at <u>www.maine.govprofessionallicensing</u> to monitor your application's progress in real time. If the status appears as "PENDING", this means that your application was received by this office, and is pending or under review. Once reviewed, and if everything about your application is complete and complies with requirements, the license will be issued. The status online will show as "ACTIVE". If your application is incomplete a letter will be mailed to you.

Please refrain from calling our office to "check" on your application as these calls only serve to slow our ability to review and process applications.

NOTICES:

10 Day Notification Requirement

Pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G - any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be reported to the Office within 10 days.

You can access this Law for your review at:

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

LAWS AND RULES:

Disclosure: Effective July 1, 2012, the Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program has discontinued the Maine Laws and Rules portion of the examination and in its place requires the applicant to attest that s/he will obtain, read and abide by all Maine laws and rules related to the practice of Barbering and Cosmetology as a part of the application process. Applicants for an initial practice license are required to take and pass the applicable written and practical examinations in order to qualify for licensure. The holder of an active license has an obligation and responsibility to keep abreast of laws and rules and maintaining current and up to date practice standards.

Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Laws and Rules

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/barbers/laws.html Access to all relevant laws and rules are accessible from this web page.

Title 5 Administrative Procedures and Services Chapter 341 <u>http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html</u>

Title 10 Department of Business Regulation Law §§8001-8011 http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules 02 041

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041 Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees Chapter 11, Late Renewals

This office cannot provide you with a hardcopy of laws and rules. However, all of these documents are available online at <u>www.maine.gov/professionallicensing</u>. Please visit the websites listed above to access these documents electronically. These documents may be subject to change without notice and it is strongly advised that you periodically revisit these sites for any updates.



STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)						
FULL LEGAL NAME	FIRST	h	AIDDLE II	VITIAL	LAST	
ANY OTHER NAMES	EVER USED:					
DATE OF BIRTH	DATE OF BIRTH mm / dd / yyyy SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER					
MAILING ADDRESS						
CITY		STATE		ZIP	COUNTY	
PHONE # ()		FAX #()		E-MAIL (Your license will be emailed)	
BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an applicant's criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of the application process for all applicants.						

Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program Licensure by Endorsement

Aesthetician, Barber Hair Sylists, Cosmetologist, Hair Designer or Nail Technician Required Fees: \$41.00(Non-Refundable)

LICENSE TYPE: YOU	Office Use Only: Check # Amount:	
□Aesthetician (AE1421) □Barber Hair Stylist (BH1421) □Hair Designer (HD1421)	□Cosmetologist (CO1421) □Nail Technician (MA1421)	Cash # Lic. # 1421 - \$20.00 2619 - \$21.00
Make checks payable to "Mai	PAYMENT OPTIONS: ne State Treasurer" - If you wish to pay by credit	card, fill out the following:

Make checks payable to "Main	ie State Treasurer	- If you wish to pay by credit c	ard, fill out the following:		
NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)	FIRST	MIDDLE INITIAL	LAST		
MAILING ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER	(please print)				
I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to					
charge my □ VISA □ MASTERCARD □ DISCOVER □ AMERICAN EXPRESS The following amount: \$					
□ I understand that fees are non-refundable					
Card number:		Expiration Date mm	Туууу		
		DATE			

SECTION 1: COURSE OF STUDY PRACTICE EDUCATION

Licensed School- If you completed your course of study in a licensed school, complete this section.

Name of School Attended		
School Address		
City	State	Zip Code
Telephone #		
Course Completed	Course Hours Completed	Graduation Date
 □ Aesthetics □ Barber Hair Stylist □ Cosmetologist □ Hair Designer □ Nail Technology 		тт/уууу

Complete this section if you completed your course of study as a trainee/apprentice in an establishment/shop.

Establishment Name Where Training Occurred			
Establishment Address	Phone		
		()	
City	State	Zip Code	
Supervisor Name	Supervisor License #		
Course Completed	Hours Completed	Date Began & Completion Date	
 Aesthetics Barber Hair Stylist Cosmetologist Hair Designer Nail Technology 		mm/yyyy-mm/yyyy	

<u>SECTION 2:</u> LICENSE VERIFICATION Provide evidence of licensure. Accepted forms of evidence are: 1) A copy of the State's or Jurisdiction's primary source online verification services or 2) report produced by the Licensing Board or Jurisdiction is acceptable.

State or Jurisdiction	License Type	License Number	Date Issued	Expiration Date	Was Discipline Ever Imposed - Answer (Yes or No)
1.					
2.					
3					

SECTION 3: EXAM INFORMATION

Have you taken and passed a license-level Written Examination?

□ Yes □ No

If yes, please complete the following: **If no**, you will need to take and pass the Maine NIC Written Examination prior to full licensure.

Jurisdiction	Date	Examination Type (NIC administered <u>or</u> State administered)

Have you taken and passed a license-level hands on Practical Examination?

□ Yes □ No

If yes, please complete the following:

If no, you will need to take and pass the Maine NIC Practical Examination prior to full licensure.

Jurisdiction	Date	Examination Type (NIC administered <u>or</u> State administered)

*NIC means: National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology

SECTION 4: APPLICANT'S CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided on this application.

Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), defaced, or compromised will not be accepted. This includes, but is not limited to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, illegible information, missing required supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee.

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application I understand that the Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing Program will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. I further understand that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be false.

Printed Name of Applicant				
Signature of Applicant	Date			