

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC LICENSURE

Chiropractor Reinstatement

For licenses that have expired 91 days up to 2 years from the date of expiration

<u>Do not</u> return the 4 following informational pages with your application; it is for your information only

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (Mailing address) 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 (Office location) Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

Office Direct Line (207) 624-8620 or Main Receptionist (207) 624-8603 TTY users call Maine relay 711 FAX (207) 624-8637

Web address: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
<a href="mailto:Ema

FAQ's

Have a question? Please visit our list of Frequently Asked Questions.

Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?

No, the Gardiner Annex is closed to the public until further notice due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Please mail your paper application to our mailing address 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333.

<u>APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS</u> CHIROPRACTOR REINSTATEMENT

Information checklist for documents to be submitted to the Board in <u>one package at time of application</u>. (This is an abbreviated checklist and does not replace the requirements outlined in the Chiropractic Laws and Rules. Please review them carefully for more detailed and clarifying information.)

☐ Completed Application Complete and sign the application and submit with the appropriate fees and documentation.
☐ Proof of age A copy of your official birth certificate or other official legal document is acceptable.
□ Proof of Education Submit a copy of your Chiropractic Diploma; Submit Official Pre-Chiropractic Transcripts (must include English and Biology); and Submit Official Chiropractic Transcripts.
\square Proof of National Board Examination Scores – Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and Physiotherapy
☐ Any other supporting documentation such as: Good Moral Character forms or Verification of licensure
Submit verification from every state in which you currently hold or have ever held any type of professional license (except Maine).

CONTINUING EDUCATION:

As a Chiropractor you will be required to satisfy the Continuing Education requirements identified in Chapter 6 of the Board's Rules. Please be sure to review this chapter carefully.

The Board of Chiropractic Licensure requires that all supporting documents and fees be submitted with the filing of your application. <u>Your application will be considered incomplete</u> <u>and will be returned if supporting documents and/or fees are omitted.</u> Documents that have been modified or altered in any way will not be accepted.

PROCESSING TIME:

Your application has a greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all supporting documents are attached. Action on this application is posted to the web in real time. Please visit our website if you wish to monitor progress. If the status appears as Pending, this means that your application was received by this office and it is pending or under review. Once reviewed and if everything about your application is complete and complies with requirements, the license will be issued and the status will show as ACTIVE.

Please refrain from calling our office to "check" on your application as these calls only serve to slow our ability to review and process applications. Information regarding the status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation's website www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request.

Important Information Regarding Your License: The Office no longer prints licenses. Upon issuance of your license, you will be notified by email using the email address you provide in this application from noreply@maine.gov that your license has been issued with your license attached to the email (a paper license will not be sent by regular mail). The email with your license will contain the access code that is required to renew your license online when the time comes. You may also update your contact information and email address using this access code, go online to www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.

Approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of your license a courtesy renewal reminder will be sent to you by email. It is important that you maintain a current email on file or risk not receiving the renewal reminder. You do not need to wait for a renewal reminder to renew your license. The online renewal opens sixty (60) days prior to the license expiring and you may renew online anytime.

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

* * A copy of your license is not considered a license verification * *

If you hold or have held a professional license in another state or jurisdiction, you must submit evidence from the State of licensure in the form of a License Verification.

You must contact the State Licensing Board or Jurisdiction that you currently hold a valid license to obtain a license verification. At a minimum, the license verification must include:

- Initial date of issuance
- Expiration date
- Current status, i.e. active, inactive, lapsed, probation, restricted, suspended, or revoked.
- Indication of discipline-yes/no, a checkbox, (no) files attached, etc.—if the State requires a separate search, such as New York State, submit the page where your name would be listed if you had discipline, but do not submit all the search results (could be 20-30 pages).

Please direct the licensing jurisdiction to send the License Verification report to you directly and in turn you must submit this verification with your completed Maine application.

A sample license verification is available on the Board's website in the applications and forms section.

IMPORTANT: Applications submitted without <u>all of the Verifications of Licensure</u> from the licensing jurisdiction(s) will not be accepted and your application returned as incomplete.

You may also obtain an electronically produced License Verification directly from the State Board website. For electronic License Verifications please be sure that it contains the State web-address and date the License Verification was printed, and any indication of disciplinary history.



SIGNATURE

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

	APPLICAN1	Γ INFORMATION	(please print)	
FULL LEGAL NAME			(
IRST	MIDDLE INITIAL	LAST		
ANY OTHER NAME				
DATE OF BIRTH		SOCIA	L SECURITY NUMI	BER
CONTACT ADDRE	SS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP	COUN	ITY
PHONE # ()	FAX # ()	E-MAIL (Your I	icense will be emailed)
consideration an ap	IECK NOTICE: Pursuant to 5 M plicant's criminal history record. ords check as part of the applica	The Office of Profes	sional and Occupat	ranted the authority to take into tional Regulation requires a
FOR	Required I	ractic License Reins Fees: \$221.00 (Non- e, late fee and criminal 9 91 DAYS UP TO 2 YE	Refundable) records check fee)	TE OF EXPIRATION.
License Number: _ Date License Expir		Office Use CR 1427 - \$1 2090 - \$1 2619 - \$2	00.00 00.00	Office Use Only: Check # Amount: Cash # Lic. #
Make ch	ecks payable to "Maine State Tr	PAYMENT OPTION reasurer" - If you wish		rd, fill out the following:
NAME OF CARDHO	DLDER (please print) FIRST	Т	MIDDLE INITIAL	LAST
MAILING ADDRESS	S OF CARDHOLDER (please p	rint)		
I authorize the Depa	urtment of Professional and Fina	ancial Regulation, Off	ice of Professional a	and Occupational Regulation to
•	☐ MASTERCARD ☐ DISC	<u>-</u>		,
•	☐ I understand that fees are r	non-refundable		
Card number:		Fv	piration Date mm	Ιγγγγ

DATE

SECTION 1: EDUCATION

Pre Chiropractic Degree:					
☐ Associate's Degree ☐ Bachelor's Degree ☐ Master's Degree ☐ Other describe: :					
Name of Educational Provider			Date of Graduation		
Contact Address:	Street or P.O. Box				
City	State	Zip Cod	de		
Semester English course was acq	uired:				
Semester Biology course was acq	uired:				
Official Transcripts demonstrating	your education must be submitted	with you	r application		
Chiropractic Degree:					
☐ Doctorate Degree					
Name of Educational Provider			Date of Graduation		
Contact Address:	Street or P.O. Box				
City	State	Zip Cod	de		
Official Transcripts demonstrating	Official Transcripts demonstrating your education must be submitted with your application				

<u>SECTION 2: LICENSE VERIFICATION</u> Provide evidence of licensure. Accepted forms of evidence are: 1) A copy of the State's or Jurisdiction's primary source online verification services or 2) report produced by the Licensing Board or Jurisdiction is acceptable.						
		mposed on any license te or Jurisdiction of lice		f the Consent	Agreement, Order	
If you do not h	iold or have not l	held a professional lic	cense please ch	eck here □		
State or Jurisdiction	License Type	License Number	Date Issued	Expiration Date	Was Discipline Ever Imposed - Answer (Yes or No)	
1.						
2.						
3						
SECTION 3: Check appropriate response to the question below. Any YES response must be fully explained by a written statement on a separate sheet of paper, signed and dated, and submitted with your application.						
Have you even	Have you ever received a sanction from Medicare or from a state Medicaid program?					
1. □ Medica 2. Submit a d	 □ Medicare OR □ Medicaid Program (State) □ Yes Submit a copy of the official action by the entity. Provide a detailed explanation in your own words on a separate sheet of paper. 					
SECTION 4: Continuing Education Requirement						

☐ Yes

□ No

Have you met the continuing education requirements of Board Rule Chapter 6?

SECTION 5: EXAMINATIONS

Have you ever taken an NBCE national examinations?					☐ Yes	
					□ No	
li C	f yes, list the jurisdic late of examination a	tion(s) where you t and score:	ook the examin	ation, type of examination,		
_						
	Examination Type	Jurisdiction	Date	Score		
	Part I					
	Part II					
	Part III					
	Part IV					
	Physiotherapy					
	Acupuncture					

SECTION 6: NOTICES

Please Note:

Pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G - any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be reported to the Office within 10 days.

You can access this Law for your review at:

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

SECTION 7: Laws and rules; attestation statement in lieu of jurisprudence examination.

Disclosure: On March 24, 2011, the Board of Chiropractic Licensure voted to discontinue the jurisprudence examination and in its place require the applicant to attest that s/he will obtain, read and abide by all Maine laws and rules related to the practice of chiropractic as part of the application process. This change will streamline the licensing process to the benefit of prospective licensees while still maintaining the mission of the Board to license qualified individuals. The holder of an active license has an obligation and responsibility of keeping abreast of all laws and rules and maintaining current and up to date practice standards.

Maine Chiropractic Laws and Rules

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/chiropractors/laws.html Access to all relevant laws and rules are accessible from this web page.

Title 10 Department of Business Regulation Law §§8001 – 8009

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/chiropractors/laws.html

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules 02 041

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041

Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees

Chapter 11, Late Renewals

Chapter 13, Uniform Rule for the Substantiation of Continuing Education Requirements

Title 38 §1319-O, Subsection 3, Handling and disposal of biomedical waste

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/38/title38sec1319-O.html

This office cannot provide you with a hardcopy of laws and rules. However, all of these documents are available online at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. Please visit the website(s) listed to access these documents electronically. These documents may be subject to change without notice and it is strongly advised that you periodically revisit these sites for any updates.

SECTION 8: APPLICANT'S CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided on this application. Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), defaced, or compromised will not be accepted and will be returned. This includes, but is not limited to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing required supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee.

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application I understand that the Maine Board of Chiropractic Licensure will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. I further understand that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be false.

Printed Name of Applicant	Title
Signature of Applicant	Date

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 TTY users call Maine relay 711 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

This form must be completed by the person attesting to the applicant's good moral, ethical and professional

CERTIFICATE OF MORAL CHARACTER

character.

The person attesting to the applicant's good moral character must be personally known to him/her and be prepared to furnish additional information concerning the applicant's character, education, and standing as may be requested by the Board of Chiropractic Licensure.

I, the undersigned, hereby confer that I am personally acquainted with the applicant named below and know him/her to be of good moral character.

Please write legibly.

Applicant's Name (Please Print)				
Name of person attesting to the Applicant's Charac-	Name			
ter	Street			
	City/State/Zip			
	Telephone #	Email Addr	ess:	
	Occupation		Date	
	Signature			
Briefly describe how the applicant is known to you.				
(e.g. fellow colleague, neighbor, long time friend, etc.)				

submitting this application and supporting documents I understand that the Board of Chiropractic Licensure will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual and that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

Ву

DATE

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 TTY users call Maine relay 711 web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

CERTIFICATE OF MORAL CHARACTER

This form must be completed by the person attesting to the applicant's good moral, ethical and professional character.

The person attesting to the applicant's good moral character must be personally known to him/her and be prepared to furnish additional information concerning the applicant's character, education, and standing as may be requested by the Board of Chiropractic Licensure.

I, the undersigned, hereby confer that I am personally acquainted with the applicant named below and know him/her to be of good moral character.

Please write legibly.

<u> </u>	_			
Applicant's Name				
(Please Print)	 			
Name of person attesting	Name			
to the Applicant's Charac-				
ter	Street			
	City/State/Zip			
	Telephone #	Email Addr	ess:	
	Occupation		Date	
	Signature			
Briefly describe how the				
applicant is known to you.				
(e.g. fellow colleague,				
neighbor, long time friend, etc.)				
610.)				
				'

submitting this application and supporting documents I understand that the Board of Chiropractic Licensure will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual and that sanctions may be imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

DATE