# **RESOURCES TO HELP YOU**

The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation administers the inspections, licensing and audit functions for the Elevator and Tramway Safety Program.

# For Technical and Code related questions, contact:

- State Elevator Inspectors (207)624-8675
- E-mail: <u>elevatorsafety.code@maine.gov</u>

# For Administrative Questions, contact:

- Office (207)624-8672
- E-mail: <u>elevatorsafety.lic@maine.gov</u>

# To Report an Accident, 24-hours a day 7 days a week, call:

• 1-888-580-5754 immediately

#### **MAILING ADDRESS:**

35 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0035

### **PHYSICAL ADDRESS:**

Gardiner Annex 76 Northern Avenue Gardiner, ME

**FAX:** (207) 624-8636

**HEARING IMPAIRED:** Maine Relay 711

**WEBSITE:** 

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

G:\trade\elevator Revised: 01/27/16



# YOU OWN AN ELEVATOR

# Critical Information for Owners of Elevators in Maine

Owners of Elevators have Important Duties. It is essential that you know What they are.

# Read this brochure carefully

It alerts you to many of the legal requirements so that you can comply with Maine law and avoid serious penalties for non-compliance.

Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation
Elevator & Tramway Safety Program

# **ELEVATOR OWNER DUTIES**

Responsibility for design, construction, installation, operation, maintenance, inspection, and certification of your elevator rests with you. To comply with Maine law, you must:

- Annually, ensure that your elevator is <u>inspected</u> by a licensed private elevator inspector;
- Annually renew certificate;

# To renew, submit the following:

- 1. annual inspection report
- 2. annual certificate application, and
- 3. inspection certificate fee

You will be mailed the annual certificate application 90 days prior to your certificate expiring.

Suspend operation of the elevator if the inspection certificate has expired.

# **POSTING CERTIFICATE**

You must display a current valid inspection certificate in the elevator at all times.

### **REPAIR AND MAINTENANCE**

- You must ensure that all required repair work is done by the time specified and ensure your elevator company notifies the State, in writing, when it is completed;
- Engage only registered elevator contractors to service, maintain or inspect the elevator; and

Submit plans and specifications to the State *before* altering an existing elevator.

## **ACCIDENTS**

Each elevator accident caused by equipment failure resulting in injury to a person or in substantial damage to equipment, must be reported by the owner or lessee to the Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation at 1-888-580-5754 immediately. This telephone number is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

# **GENERAL**

- <u>Notify the State</u> when your elevator is removed, placed out of service, or when ownership is transferred
- <u>Suspend operation</u> of an elevator when required to do so by law, rule or an order from the Chief Elevator Inspector
- Comply with all rules adopted by the Elevator and Tramway Safety Program, including the standards of any national elevator codes adopted by the Board.

# **PENALTIES & SANCTIONS**

Owners of elevators may be subject to one or more of the following for failure to comply with Maine law or rules governing elevators.

#### **CRIMINAL PENALTIES**

 Operation without a current and valid certificate is a Class E crime

#### **CIVIL PENALTIES & SANCTIONS**

- Fines of up to \$3,000 per violation
- Loss of your ability to operate your elevator

# OWNER DO AND DO NOT'S

**YOU**, the elevator owner, are responsible for complying with the law and will be held accountable if the requirements are not met.

- **DO** post a current and valid certificate in the elevator.
- DO NOT rely on someone else to submit to the State the annual inspection report and application for the inspection certificate. YOU must submit them.
- **DO NOT** operate the elevator unless you have a current, valid certificate.
- DO NOT use a prior Owner's certificate if you become the new owner of an elevator. Certificates are NOT transferable. YOU must apply for a new inspection certificate.

YOU MAY LOSE THE
ABILITY TO OPERATE YOUR
ELEVATOR IF YOU
FAIL TO COMPLY