

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION **MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD** 35 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0035 TTY/HEARING IMPAIRED (888) 577-6690

Janet T. Mills GOVERNOR Anne L. Head DIRECTOR Peter T. Holmes EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

## August 13, 2024

## I. OPENING FORMALITIES

#### A. Call to Order by Peter Holmes at 9:01am. Attendance noted.

	Present	Absent	Zoom
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$		
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$		
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$		
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$		
Margaret Jones	$\boxtimes$		
Susan MacKay		$\boxtimes$	
Kimberly Nason		$\boxtimes$	
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$		
Harvey Wallingford		$\boxtimes$	

**Others Present:** 

Peter T. Holmes, Executive Director Elizabeth Stivers, Assistant Attorney General Helen Tutwiler, Secretary Specialist Ryan Chandler, Senior Manufactured Housing Inspector

#### **II. ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Patricia Banks made a motion to nominate Theresa Desfosses as Chair and Thatcher Butcher as Vice Chair. Enter Motion & Terms Seconded by Margaret Jones

OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8612



PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER PHYSICAL LOCATION: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE GARDINER, MAINE 04345 FAX: (207)624-8637

Vote: 6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				
Margaret Jones					
Susan MacKay					$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason					$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$				
Harvey Wallingford					$\boxtimes$

## III. MINUTES REVIEW AND APPROVAL

Review and Approval of June 17, 2024, Minutes

Patricia Banks made a motion to accept June meeting minutes second by Geoffrey Smith Vote: 6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				
Margaret Jones					
Susan MacKay					$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason					$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$				
Harvey Wallingford					$\boxtimes$

# IV. COMPLAINT PRESENTATION(S)

a. 2024-MFG-19872

Geoffrey Smith made a motion to dismiss second by Thatcher Butcher Vote:6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				

Margaret Jones			
Susan MacKay			$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason			$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$		
Harvey Wallingford			$\boxtimes$

## IV. COMPLAINT PRESENTATION(S) Continued

#### b. 2023-MFG-19540

Geoffrey Smith made a motion to dismiss second by Margaret Jones Vote:6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				
Margaret Jones					
Susan MacKay					$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason					$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$				
Harvey Wallingford					$\boxtimes$

#### V. HEARINGS

None

#### VI. DISCUSSIONS

1. Review of proposed changes to Ch 850 per Board's guidance

No motion needed board approves changes written in red as presented.

2. Discussion of experience requirements for licensing.

Much discussion on how to protect the buyers and 1 year warranty. Discussion to continue at next meeting in October  $9^{th}$ .

3. Review experience letter for applicant requesting Dealer License.

Austin Gregory made a motion to accept letter as part of equivalent work experience required second by Thatcher Butcher.

#### Vote:6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				
Margaret Jones					
Susan MacKay					$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason					$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$				
Harvey Wallingford					$\boxtimes$

## VII. SR. INSPECTOR'S REPORT

## VIII. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

## IX. PUBLIC OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT

## X. ADJOURN

Thatcher Butcher made a motion to adjourn second by Geoffrey Smith. Vote:6/0

	In Favor	Opposed	Recused	Zoom	Absent
Patricia Banks	$\boxtimes$				
Thatcher Butcher	$\boxtimes$				
Theresa Desfosses	$\boxtimes$				
Austin Gregory	$\boxtimes$				
Margaret Jones					
Susan MacKay					$\boxtimes$
Kimberly Nason					$\boxtimes$
Geoffrey Smith	$\boxtimes$				
Harvey Wallingford					$\boxtimes$

Meeting adjourned at 10:35am.

Respectfully submitted,

Helen M. Tutwiler Secretary Specialist