Apply/Renewal

 

Professional Land Surveyor means a person licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation to perform any service or work involving the application of special knowledge for the purpose of determining property boundaries, determining area and volume, platting of land and subdivisions and other services as defined by law [reference 32 MRSA Chapter 141 18201 "Definitions"].

 

How to apply

Fees
  • Examination fee: $ 150.00
  • License fee: $ 275.00
  • Criminal records check: $21.00
Term
  • Biennial (2 years)
  • Renews December 31st of each odd year
Requirements

Requirements to Become a Maine Professional Land Surveyor (PLS)

Non-Resident Applicants and Applicants Who Hold a License in Another State

In addition to meeting the requirements described above and filing the required applications and fees, non-residents and residents who hold a valid license in another state may seek licensure in Maine by:

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

 

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Biennial renewal fee is $275.00
  • Late fee of $50.00 assessed if license renewed after the expire date.
Terms
  • Renews biennially on December 31st of each odd year
Requirements
  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after December 31st.
  • Applicants who submit an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with original license application, documentation and fees, except that, at its discretion, the Board may waive examination.
  • Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee’s access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
  • Continuing Education - 8 hours of Board approved professional development education is required for renewal. See Chapter 70.
Renew Now
  • Fill out the online renewal application and submit.

    The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.

Last Updated: May 30, 2018