LS - Licensed Social Worker

"Licensed Social Worker" (LSW) is a person who has received a license as a Social Worker from the board. A LSW may: Conduct basic data gathering of records and specific life issues of individuals, groups, couples and families; assess the above data, formulate and implement a plan to achieve specific goals related to specific life issues; serve as an advocate for clients or groups of clients for the purpose of achieving specific goals relating to specific life issues; refer clients to other professional services; plan, manage, direct or coordinate social services; participate in training and education of social work students; and supervise other LSWs, other professionals practicing related professions and paraprofessionals engaged in related activities. A LSW with a BSW who has been licensed for at least two years may provide consultation required by the LSW Conditional licenses to those licensees.

How to apply

Fees
  • Application Fee of $25
  • License Fee of $70
  • Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21
Please make your checks payable to: "Maine State Treasurer".
Term
  • Biennial
Requirements
  • A completed Application for Licensure;
  • Official transcript of an earned Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degree from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program (transcript); and
  • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination (Basic/Bachelors).
FOR APPLICANTS CURRENTLY LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE

If you are currently licensed in another state and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) as well as the items listed below:

  • A copy of the state or county licensure act under which the applicant is licensed;
  • A copy of the applicant's social work license;
  • A completed verification of licensure form.
Apply Now

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

 

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • $70
Please make your checks payable to: "Maine State Treasurer".
Requirements
  • A late fee of $50 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
  • A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with an original license application, documentation and fees.
  • Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee’s access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
  • Continuing Education 25 hours of continuing education pursuant to board rules.
Renew Now

 

Do you have questions? Email the Board.

 

Last Updated: May 30, 2018