LM - Licensed Master Social Worker

"Licensed Master Social Worker" (LMSW) is a person who has received a license as a Master Social Worker from the board and only performs non-clinical functions. A LMSW may perform all of the functions of the LSW License, engage in administration, research, consultation, social planning and teaching related to the functions of social work; engage in non-clinical private practice; and provide consultation required by the LSW and LSW Conditional Licenses.

 

How to apply

Fees
  • Application Fee of $25
  • Licensure Fee of $70
  • Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21
Please make your checks payable to: "Maine State Treasurer".
Term
  • Biennial
Requirements

If applying, you must submit:

  • A completed Application for Licensure;
  • Official transcript of an earned MSW degree from a CSWE accredited institution; and
  • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination (Intermediate/Masters).

Note: You must apply for LMSW Conditional Clinical licensure in order to begin your clinical consultation toward LCSW licensure.

FOR APPLICANTS CURRENTLY LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE

If you are currently licensed in another state and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) as well as the items listed below:

  • A copy of the state or county licensure act under which the applicant is licensed;
  • A copy of the applicant's social work license; and
  • A completed verification of licensure form.

Apply Now

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

 

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • $70
Requirements
  • A late fee of $50 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
  • Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee's access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
  • A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with an original license application, documentation and fees.
  • Continuing Education: 25 hours of continuing education pursuant to board rules.
Renew Now

 

Do you have questions? Email the Board.

 

Last Updated: May 30, 2018