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Domestic Violence Training Requirements  

Additional Requirement for Initial Licensure - Pursuant to 32 MRS § 13858    

Beginning January 1, 2020 - an applicant for initial licensure in Maine shall demonstrate a 

minimum of 12 hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence.  The course work 

shall include: 

• Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies; 

• Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment 
and same-gender abuse dynamics. 

The coursework may be fulfilled through course work taken in fulfillment of educational 
requirements for licensure or course work provided through contact hours, internet hours or 
distance learning programs as evidenced by certification from an accredited educational 
institution. 

An applicant for initial licensure that cannot demonstrate completion of the required 12 hours of 
course work at the time the application is submitted shall submit documentation that the 
requirement has been met upon the applicant’s first application for renewal. 

Additional Renewal Requirement Pursuant to 32 MRS § 13860  

Beginning January 1, 2020 - an applicant for license renewal in Maine shall demonstrate a 
one-time successful completion of a minimum of 12 hours of coursework in family or intimate 
partner violence.  The course work shall include: 

• Spousal or partner abuse addressing screening, referral and intervention strategies; 

• Knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment 
and same-gender abuse dynamics. 

The coursework may be fulfilled through course work provided through contact hours, internet 
hours or distance learning programs as evidenced by certification from an accredited 
educational institution or equivalent teaching or practice experience.  The board may accept 
equivalent courses in family or intimate partner violence screening and referral and intervention 
strategies or equivalent teaching or practice experience completed prior to January 1, 2020. 

Continuing education courses taken to meet the requirement will be applied to continuing 
education requirements for that renewal. 

To access the complete statute, please go to the website for the Board of Counseling 
Professionals via the following link:  
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/counselors/laws.html  
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