Charitable Organization

"Charitable Organization" means any person or entity licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation that is, or holds itself out to be, organized or operated for any charitable purpose and solicits, accepts, or obtains contributions from the public for any charitable purpose. A chapter, branch, area office, or similar affiliate, or any person soliciting contributions for any charitable purpose within the State for a charitable organization, and having its principal place of business outside the State is considered a Charitable Organization for the purposes of this Act. Unless specifically exempted, an entity is required to become licensed in order to solicit contributions in the State of Maine (reference 9 MRSA, Chapter 385, §5006 "Exemptions from license requirements" and §5003[1] "Definitions."

How to apply

Fees
  • Licensure fee of $20.00
Term
  • Annual - expires November 30th
Requirements
  • Completed and signed application for licensure with all fees and required documentation.

Apply Now

 

 

 

 

Charitable Organizations must submit the Maine-specific application. The State of Maine does not accept the Unified Registration Statement (“URS”). 

Apply on line; or

Download an application form (PDF)

Get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader 4.0 or higher to access PDF files.

Renewal fees and information

Fees
  • Annual renewal fee is $20.00
Terms
  • Annual - Expires November 30
Requirements

You can expect to receive an email renewal reminder approximately 60 days prior to expiration. A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date. (December 1 - March 1).

Renew Online

Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the expiration date shall be subject to all requirements governing new applicants. You will need to reapply.

 

Last Updated: January 8, 2020