
Uninsured Motorists Coverage in Maine 

Below, you will find a brief explanation of Uninsured Motorist coverage. Please remember that this 
explanation is only an overview, and it does not replace or supplement any of the provis ions of your 
policy. Please see your policy for details because the policy controls all issues of coverage. 

The decisions you make regarding the amount of coverage will affect your insurance premium. If you 
have questions, please call Policy Service at 1-800-531-USAA (8722). You may complete this 
form online at usaa.com. 

Coverage Description 

Uninsured Motorists (UM) Coverage: 

• Protects you and your family if injured in a motor vehicle accident caused by an uninsured or 
hit-and-run motorist who is at-fault. 

• Pays if you are injured by an at-fault motorist whose Bodily Injury (Bil Liability limits are less than 
your UM Coverage limits and less than the amount of damages you are legal ly entitled to recover 
from the at-fault motorist. The at-fault motorist's policy pays its Bl Liability limits first, then your 
UM Coverage pays the lesser of: 

• any remaining loss, or 

• the difference between the driver's Bl Liability limits and your UM Coverage limits. 

• Must be issued with UM Coverage limits equal to your Bl Liability limits unless you select UM 
Coverage in lower limits by completing, signing and returning the Selection Form by mail or at 
usaa.com. 

• Your selection of lower UM Coverage limits will remain in effect on this policy and on future 
renewals until you request otherwise in writing. 
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Selection Form 

If you do not wish to make any changes to your current policy. no action is required. TO 
MAKE CHANGES TO YOUR POLICY, PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM, SIGN, AND RETURN IT TO US The 
premiums below reflect the total premium for this coverage for all vehicles on this Policy. 

Uninsured Motorists IUM) Coverage 

To make a change to your current policy, you must check one of the following boxes: 

Limits Premium Limits Premium 
Per person/per accident Per person/per accident 

• $ 50,000 /$ 100,000 $ • $ 500,000/$ 500,000 $ 

• $ 100,000/S 200,000 $ • $ 500,000 /$ 1,000,000 $ 

• $ 100,000/$ 300,000 $ • S 1,000,000 /$ 1,000,000 $ 

• $ 300,000/$ 500,000 $ 

D understand that Maine law requires uninsured motor vehicle coverage limits to equal the 
limits I have selected for liability coverage for bodily injury or death in this policy unless I 
expressly reject such an amount of coverage. Pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes Title 
24-A, section 2902, subsection 2 , I have elected to purchase uninsured motor vehicle 
coverage with lesser limits. 

DO NOT SIGN UNTIL YOU READ 

USAA Number Signature of Named Insured 

Home Phone Alternative Phone Date 

Please complete this form and fax it to 1- 800- 531 - 8877 or mail it to USAA, 9800 Fredericksburg 
Road, San Antonio, Texas 78288; or complete this form on usaa.com. 

If this form is sent by facsimile machine (fax), the sender adopts the document USAA receives as a 
duplicate original and adopts the signature the receiving fax machine produces as the sender's original 
signature. 
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