## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION BUREAU OF INSURANCE

In re:

Sherika L. Brantley

National Producer No. 17728095 Maine License No. PRN 258743 Docket No. INS-18-209 LICENSE REVOCATION NOTICE, ORDER, and OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING

## NOTICE TO SHERIKA L. BRANTLEY:

Effective as of **June 25, 2018**, your Maine nonresident insurance producer license will be **REVOKED** without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as specified below.

The reasons for your license revocation are as follows:

- 1. By order dated October 17, 2016, the state of North Dakota revoked your producer license. The revocation was based on your failure to respond to department inquiries regarding your termination for cause from Amica Mutual Insurance Company. According to the North Dakota order, you were terminated for knowingly and purposefully manipulating customer transactions in order to avoid losing a sales credit toward a monthly bonus.
- 2. On November 22, 2016, the state of Louisiana revoked your producer license for the conduct described in paragraph one and for having an insurance producer license revoked in another state.
- 3. On March 31, 2017, the state of South Dakota revoked your producer license for violating the insurance laws of another jurisdiction, failing to report the associated action, and for failing to respond to department inquiries.
- 4. On March 31, 2017, the Commonwealth of Virginia revoked your producer license for failing to report the North Dakota revocation.
- 5. On June 4, 2017, the state of California revoked your license for the conduct alleged in the North Dakota revocation, for failing to report the North Dakota revocation, and for failing to respond to Insurance Department inquiries.
- 6. On August 29, 2017, the state of Delaware revoked your producer license for failing to report an adverse administrative action within 30 days of the disposition of the matter.
- 7. On November 1, 2017, the state of Minnesota revoked your producer license for demonstrating fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices or demonstrating

incompetence, untrustworthiness, or financial irresponsibility and for failing to respond to department inquiries.

- 8. On December 6, 2017, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts revoked your producer license and fined you \$1,000 for failing to report the administrative actions taken by the states of North Dakota and Louisiana.
- 9. The actions identified in paragraphs one through eight were not reported to the Maine Bureau of Insurance as required by 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-P(1). This is grounds for the revocation of your license pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B).
- 10. The actions identified in paragraphs one through eight constitute grounds for the revocation of your Maine insurance producer license for having an insurance producer license revoked in another state. See 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(I).

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is **revoked** as of **June 25, 2018**, pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§ 1417 and 1420-K, subject to your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A M.R.S. §1417 and §1420-K, you have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving each violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearing, you will receive further communication regarding scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether you committed one or more of the violations listed above, and if so, the appropriate sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing can include any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notify the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later than June 25, 2018. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the time you knew or reasonably should have known of the revocation of your license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a hearing on this license revocation Notice and Order.

Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice, Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Bureau Licensing Attorney Lindsay J. Laxon, Bureau of Insurance, #34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries) or 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 (for private carrier deliveries, such as FedEx or UPS). You may also reach Ms. Laxon by e-mail at Lindsay.J.Laxon@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

May 21, 2018

Éric A. Cioppa Superintendent of Insurance