## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION BUREAU OF INSURANCE

In re:

Eric C. Griffey

National Producer No. 16651095 Maine License No. PRR203198 Docket No. INS-17-207 LICENSE REVOCATION
NOTICE, ORDER,
and
OPPORTUNITY FOR
HEARING

## NOTICE TO ERIC C. GRIFFEY:

Effective as of **July 26, 2017**, your Maine resident insurance producer license will be **REVOKED** without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as specified below.

The reasons for your license revocation are as follows:

- 1. On March 2, 2017, you were convicted of Class B aggravated assault, Class C domestic violence criminal threatening, and Class D domestic violence assault related to an incident that occurred on July 19, 2016 (Docket Number ANDCD-CR-2016-02348). You were sentenced on May 31, 2017, to eight years' imprisonment, all but four years suspended and four years of probation on the Class B conviction. You received a concurrent four year sentence on the Class C charge and a concurrent 364 day sentence on the Class B and D convictions.
- 2. This conviction is grounds for revocation pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(F) for having been convicted of a criminal offense as provided in Title 5, section 5301. This conviction was not reported to the Bureau as required by 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-P(1), which is an additional ground for revocation of your insurance license pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B) for violating insurance laws.

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is **revoked** as of **July 26, 2017**, pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§ 1417 and 1420-K, subject to your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A M.R.S. §1417 and §1420-K, you have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving each violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearing, you will receive further communication regarding scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether you committed one or more of the violations listed above, and if so, the appropriate sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing

can include any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notify the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later than July 26, 2017. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the time you knew or reasonably should have known of the revocation of your license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a hearing on this license revocation Notice and Order.

Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice, Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Bureau Licensing Attorney Lindsay J. Laxon, Bureau of Insurance, #34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries) or 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 (for private carrier deliveries, such as FedEx or UPS). You may also reach Ms. Laxon by e-mail at Lindsay, J. Laxon@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

June 13, 2017

Superintendent of Insurance