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STATE OF MAINE

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION

BUREAU OF INSURANCE

In re:

Sandra Fowler

LICENSE REVOCATION
NOTICE, ORDER,

and
National Producer No. 17325078 OPPORTUNITY FOR
Maine License No. PRIN238217 HEARING

Docket No. INS-15-213

NOTICE TO SANDRA FOWLER:

Effective as of July 9, 2015, your Maine non-resident insurance producer license will be
REVOKED without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as specified

below.

The reasons for license revocation are as follows:

1.

N

On November 20, 1993, you were convicted of misdemeanor Public Assistance
Fraud in Cleveland County, North Carolina. You were given 36 months’
probation and ordered to pay $1,284 in restitution and costs.

On October 6, 2004, you were convicted of misdemeanor Simple Worthless
Check in Gaston County, North Carolina. You were given 24 months’® probation,
and ordered to pay §170.25 in restitution and costs.

On September 29, 2011, you were convicted of misdemeanor Simple Worthless
Check in New Hanover County, North Carolina. You were ordered 12 months’
probation and ordered to pay § 227.98 in restitution and costs.

On September 11, 2014, your application for a Maine non-resident insurance
producer license was received by the Maine Bureau of Insurance Staff (“BOI”),
and your license was issued. You failed to disclose on your application your three
misdemeanor convictions, each of which failure constitutes grounds for
revocation of your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(A), for
providing incorrect, misleading, incomplete or materially untrue information in
the license application.

On October 31, 2014, the State of Florida denied your application for a non-
resident insurance producer license because you failed to disclose your criminal
history on the application. The Florida denial constitutes grounds for revocation
of your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance
laws, and § 1420-K(1)(I), for having an insurance producer license, or its



equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked in any other state, province, district, or
territory.

6. On February 4, 2015, the State of California denied your application for a non-
resident insurance producer license based on your criminal history and the Florida
denial. The California denial constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine
license under 24-A ML.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(I), for having an insurance producer
license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked in any other state,
province, district, or territory.

7. On April 23, 2015, the Commonwealth of Virginia revoked your non-resident
insurance producer license because you provided materially incorrect information
in your license application. The Virginia revocation constitutes grounds for
revocation of your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(I), for having
an insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked in
any other state, province, district, or territory.

8. You failed to timely report the California denial as required by 24-A M.R.S. §
1420-P(1), which also constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine license
under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws.

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is
revoked as of July 9, 2015, pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§1417 and 1420-K, subject to
your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A M.R.S. §1417 and §1420-K, you
have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request
a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your
defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving
cach violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearing, you will receive further communication regarding
scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether
you committed one or more of the violations listed above, and if so, the appropriate
sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing can include
any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil
penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notify the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later
than July 9, 2015. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30 days
from the time you knew or reasonably should have known of the revocation of your
license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a hearing
on this license revocation Notice and Order.

Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice,
Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Burecau Licensing Attorney
Kristina M. Balbo, Bureau of Insurance, #34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-
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0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries) or 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
(for private carrier deliveries, such as FedEx or UPS). You may also reach Attorney
Balbo by e-mail at kristina.m.balbo@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

June 2, 2015 ; ﬂ

Eric A. C 1opp
Supenntend of Insurance



