## <u>PPA Carriers</u>: Initial Registration, Annual Renewal and Reporting and Material Change or Addition

In order to offer a Preferred Provider Arrangement in Maine, an entity meeting the definition of a "carrier" for purposes of the Preferred Provider Arrangement Act must obtain a registration as a Preferred Provider Arrangement Administrator by filing certain information about the proposed arrangement for approval. The definition is available at 24-A M.R.S. § 2671.

## Once a Preferred Provider Arrangement is approved, the carrier must also perform the following when due:

<u>Annual Renewal Registration</u>: Preferred Provider Arrangement Carriers must annually renew their registration by March 1st each year. Carriers are exempt from paying an initial fee or annual fee.

Maine's Preferred Provider Arrangement carrier registrations are continuous, meaning the registration renews annually every March 1st. New registration certificates are not issued again at renewal as there is no expiration date. Please refer to <a href="ALMSOnline">ALMSOnline</a> to confirm/view the entities issue and expiration dates.

Renewal notices go out prior to March 1st asking if the Preferred Provider Arrangement carrier wishes to renew its registration in Maine for the coming year. The renewal notices for carriers are issued with a \$0 amount due. The Preferred Provider Arrangement Carrier must submit their renewal electronically to continue its registration for another year.

If the Preferred Provider Arrangement Carrier wishes to terminate their Maine license, please respond to the notice, and request termination.

Annual Experience Reporting: Pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §2678, carriers must also file an **Annual Experience Report** of their activities for the preceding year on or by April 1st each year.

<u>Material Changes or Additions</u>: Bureau of Insurance Rule Chapter 360 § 4(F) requires administrators and carriers to keep current the information required to be disclosed in this initial registration by reporting any material change or addition within 30 days after the end of the month during which the material event occurs. Please refer to the initial registration application to determine what information requires supporting documentation.

If material changes or additions are made to information disclosed in the initial registration form that required supporting documentation, please go online to

<u>ALMSOnline</u> to make the necessary material change(s) and/or addition(s) to the information required to be disclosed in the Preferred Provider Arrangement's initial registration.

Please label all attachments with the section and item number to which they correspond. Please include the effective date(s) of the material change(s) and/or addition(s).