

MAINE BUREAU OF INSURANCE

Small Business Health Insurance Premium Support Program Information Sheet

Updated March 2023

1. How does the program work?

The program provides premium payment relief to Maine small businesses who are enrolled in a fully-insured, community-rated small group comprehensive health insurance plan. A small group plan is a plan that covers 50 or fewer employees. Insurance companies will show the premium credit amounts in the monthly invoice provided to the employer.

2. How are the premium credits paid for?

The program is part of Governor Janet Mills' Maine Jobs and Recovery Plan. It is paid for by \$39 million in federal funding from the Federal American Rescue Plan Act. In the supplemental state budget, enacted in February 2023, an additional \$6.5 million in funding was allocated to the program, which will allow the program to be extended through July 2023.

3. Have the monthly credit amounts been determined for employees and dependents? The initial credit amounts are expected to be \$50 per adult + \$30 for plans that include coverage for a child, based upon the following subscriber types:

Employee \$50
Two adults \$100
One adult + child \$80
Two adults + child \$130

(Note: Adult + child plans provide the same credit per plan, regardless of number of children. Child includes a dependent on the employee's plan up to age 26.)

4. How long will the program last?

• The program will run from November 1, 2021 through July 31, 2023.

5. Does the business owner (policyholder) keep the credit amounts, or is the credit provided to employees?

Employers are required to pass the credit amounts on to their employees in the same proportion as the current premium contributions made by the employer and employee. Here is an example:

- Monthly employee premium = \$500
- The employer contributes \$250 and the employee pays \$250 of the monthly amount.
- The employer should split the \$50 credit equally between the employer and the employee, for \$25 each. (Note: The employer may also pass along a larger amount or the total amount to the employee if the employer wishes.)

6. Does the credit apply to new employees who are hired during the time period of the program?

Yes, the credit is available for any employees on the employer-sponsored plan during the time period of the program.

7. Is this credit available for other types of group insurance, such as self-insured plans, vision plans, or dental plans?

No. The intent of the program is to provide relief to small businesses who provide coverage to their employees with community-rated, ACA-compliant major medical small group plans. It does not apply to multiple-employer welfare arrangements (MEWAs) and to associations that have requested and received exemptions from participating in their carrier's statewide small group rating pool.

8. Do employers need to do anything to enroll in the program?

No, employers with qualifying health plans do not need to do anything to participate in the program. Insurance carriers will identify those small group plans to which the credit applies. An information letter will be sent from the carriers to small group plans explaining the program.

9. What do employers need to do to comply with the terms of the program?

Business owners must provide the information letter they receive from their carrier to their employees and post information about the program in their workplace. Business owners must also apply the credit as explained above to their employees, based upon the employee's contribution to their premium.

10. Are all health insurance carriers in Maine participating in the program?

All insurance carriers in Maine offering fully-insured small group plans in Maine are participating in this program. The insurers participating are Aetna, Anthem, CHO (Community Health Options), Harvard Pilgrim, and United Healthcare. Taro Health began participating on January 1, 2023.

11. Who should business owners contact if they have questions about the program or the credit amounts shown on their premium invoices?

Business owners should first contact their insurance carrier with any questions about the credit or their monthly invoices.

They may also contact the Bureau of Insurance at 1-800-300-5000 or by email: Insurance.PFR@Maine.gov, if they seek additional information.

For further information, definitions and requirements see <u>Rule 857 – Small Business Health</u> Insurance Premium Support Program (PDF)