
  

STATE OF MAINE 

Bureau of Insurance 
34 State House Station 

Augusta, ME 04333-0034 

 

Last updated 3/21/2024                                                                                                  

HMO APPLICATION 
INFORMATION SHEET 

 

Health Maintenance Organizations are governed by Title 24-A, MRSA, Chapter 56.  
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/24-A/title24-Ach56sec0.html 

 
QUESTIONS/POINT OF CONTACT 
Domestic HMO Applications -  Vanessa Sullivan, Director  
     (207) 624-8452 
     vanessa.j.sullivan@maine.gov 
 

Foreign HMO Applications -  Audrey Wade, Examiner-in-Charge 
     (207) 624-8406 
     audrey.l.wade@maine.gov 

 
All applications to be sent to:   via USPS:   OVERNIGHT DELIVERY: 

Bureau of Insurance  Bureau of Insurance 
34 State House Station 76 Northern Ave. 

     Augusta ME  04333-0034 Gardiner ME  04345 
     (mailing address)  (physical address)  
 
APPLICATION FEE   There is a $500 filing fee, per §4220, that should accompany the application, 
payable to Treasurer, State of Maine. 
 
SURPLUS REQUIREMENTS    
The initial minimum surplus requirement is $1,500,000.  § 4204-A (1) 
Surplus is required to be maintained at the greater of:    § 4204-A (2) 

➢ $1,000,000; 

• 2% of annual premium revenues from the previous year on the first $150,000,000 and 1% of annual 
premium in excess of $150,000,000; 

• The sum of 3 months of uncovered health care expenses in the previous year;  

• 8% of annual health care expenses, except those paid on a capitated basis in the previous year; OR 

• Company action level RBC. 

 
SECURITY DEPOSIT  Fair market value of an amount equal to the greater of $100,000 or 120% of the 
Company’s uncovered expense liability at the end of each calendar quarter, per §4204(4).  Subsection E 
further allows the Superintendent to accept a security deposit that exists in the domestic state, in lieu of 
placing a deposit in Maine, if said deposit meets our requirements.  
 

****************IMPORTANT**************PLEASE NOTE************** 
 

➢ For Companies applying to write solely Medicare Advantage and/or PDP with limited authority….. 
ONLY Checklist Part A of Form H-2 is required.   

➢ For all other applicants seeking full HMO authority… both Parts A and B of Checklist Form H-2 
are required.... 

➢ Two copies of the application should be filed…. and a Certificate of Need application should be 
filed concurrently with the DHHS, per §4204. 
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