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Bulletin 433 

Public Adjusters 
(Supersedes Bulletin 373) 

This Bulletin replaces Bulletin 373 and provides guidance regarding what activities public 
adjusters may engage in while remaining in compliance with the Maine Insurance Code.  
A recent Federal District Court decision found a portion of the Maine Insurance Code 
regarding the activities of public adjusters to be unconstitutional. 1  This Bulletin is issued 
to clarify the current state of the law applicable to public adjusters.  

“Public adjusters” are adjusters who represent the interests of insureds as opposed to 
those of the insurer.  Maine also licenses “independent adjusters,” who represent the 
interests of insurance companies, but are not employees of the insurer.  All adjusters must 
comply with Maine’s insurance laws.  This Bulletin addresses some provisions specific to 
public adjusters. 

36-Hour Rule 

The Insurance Code currently states: “An adjuster seeking to provide adjusting services to 
an insured for a fee to be paid by the insured [i.e., a public adjuster] may not solicit or offer 
an adjustment services contract to any person for at least 36 hours after an accident or 
occurrence as a result of which the person might have a potential claim.”2  However, in 
January 2019, the Maine U.S. District Court ruled that the prohibition on solicitation within 
the 36-hour period was unconstitutional.  Therefore, public adjusters are permitted to 
contact and explain their services to insureds following a loss, without regard to the 
36-hour time limit.  Adjusters must still wait at least 36 hours before offering an 
adjustment services contract. 

                                                        
1 National Fire Adjustment Co., Inc. v. Cioppa, No. 1:18-cv-00008, 2019 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4857 (D. Me. Jan. 8, 
2019). 

2 24-A M.R.S. § 1476(1).  The Bureau is introducing legislation to change the phrase “may not solicit or offer” 
to “may not offer,” consistent with the court’s decision, but this Bulletin is being issued in advance of any 
legislative action. 



 

 

Right to Rescind 

As mentioned above, the court’s ruling only struck down the 36-hour ban on solicitation.  
The other requirements of Section 1476 remain in full force and effect.  This includes the 
requirement that any adjusting contract to be executed by the client must contain a 
provision prominently printed on the first page of the contract, stating that the client has 
the option to rescind the contract within 2 business days after the contract is signed.  
Failure to include this provision violates Section 1476(2).  An adjuster who attempts to 
discourage a consumer from exercising this right to rescind may be subject to enforcement 
action under 24-A M.R.S. §§ 1417 & 1420(K)(1)(H) for using coercive practices. 

Fees and Services Rendered 

Although the Insurance Code does not contain a specific limitation as to the fee amount, any 
fee arrangement must be reasonable under the circumstances.  In addition, under section 
1472, adjusters must be “competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good 
personal and business reputation.”  Adjusters should take special care when dealing with 
total losses in circumstances indicating that there will likely be little controversy 
concerning the insurer’s need to pay the policy limits.  While the client may still decide to 
use a public adjuster in such a case to represent his or her interests, the adjuster’s fee 
effectively reduces the insured’s settlement, and the adjuster should be mindful that there 
must be a reasonable correlation between the fee and the value of the adjuster’s services to 
the client. 

Records 

Under 24-A M.R.S. § 1474, every adjuster, both public and independent, must keep a record 
of all transactions under the license, at the adjuster's business address.  The record must 
include a copy of all investigations or adjustments undertaken or consummated, and a 
statement of any fee, commission or other compensation received or requested.  Records 
must be available for examination by the Bureau of Insurance at all times, and the adjuster 
must retain the records for at least three years. 
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NOTE:  This Bulletin is intended solely for informational purposes.  It is not intended to set 
forth legal rights, duties, or privileges, nor is it intended to provide legal advice.  Readers should 
consult applicable statutes and rules and contact the Bureau of Insurance if additional information 
is needed. 


